Old St. Andrews



The Algonquin - 1914 to 1959



April 16/1914
Algonquin Hotel burned to the Ground
Property Valued at Three Quarters of a Million Dollars. Made Spectacular Blaze at St. Andrews on Saturday
If it had not been for the concrete additions which were made in recent years there would be nothing left of the stately Algonquin Hotel today but a heap of smouldering ruins. Every atom of wood work about the great building, including the central section, the roofs of the concrete wings, the wooden stairways and partitions, etc., was completely destroyed in the fire which began at noon on Saturday and raged throughout the afternoon.
            The fire originated from a charcoal spark which had gone beneath the shingles on the northeast concrete wing, whilst some repairs were being made by workmen. Smouldering on the tarred paper it worked its way to the woodwork while the men were at dinner, and a great conflagration was the result.
            The water supply which had been turned off for the winter had not been restored, so that there was little to fight the fire with except buckets. In less than an hour after the fire started, fanned by a westerly gale, the flames had eaten through to the four story central section of wood. Being highly inflammable it burned with great fierceness, the sparks being carried miles away. Some of them even set fire to the grass alongside Sir William Van Horne's summer home on Minister's Island. George Chase's farm building a mile away were fired by these wind blown sparks, but the fire was speedily extinguished. Half an hour after the flames had taken hold of the wooden section it was completely destroyed together with the board verandas in front.
            Then the fire penetrated the western concrete wing which was built two years ago. Everything of an inflammable nature in its five storeys was burned. It was feared that the explosion of the ammonia tanks near the refrigerator would result in possible accident to human life, but happily this did not occur. The fire burned in this section like a great furnace for several hours. It was a spectacular conflagration, and had it occurred at night would have been seen for many miles.
            Construction men say that the concrete wings have suffered little damage, and that they can be used again when the hotel is being restored. There were many beautiful summer cottages within the fire zone, but with the exception of No. 1 Algonquin cottage, which stood immediately the north of the hotel, all the cottages were saved. The summer cottage of George B. Hopkins of New York, which was separated from the hotel by only the width of the street, was on fire several times, but the firemen by desperate efforts succeeded in saving it. Had it burned, the summer houses of Mr. Gill, of Ottawa, Mr. Southam, of Ottawa, Mr. Douglas Seeley, of Montreal, Prof. Smith, of Cambridge, and possibly the summer residence of Sir Thomas Shaughnessy would have been destroyed.
            Nearly all the interior furnishings on the lower floor of the hotel were taken out before the fire reached it and were safely removed to the casino, but with this exception little of the contents of the hotel were saved. Manager Allerton was away at the time having gone to Boston on Friday night to engage his help for the season. It is the prevailing belief that while the destruction of the hotel has been a great loss to the town, it will lead to the construction of a more modern and more beautiful hotel.
            The Algonquin hotel was opened in 1889 with Mr. F. A. Jones, of St. John, as its first manager. Since then it has been enlarged and improved, the C. P .R. having spent nearly a quarter of a million upon it in making additions and in supplying it with modern equipment. The entire value of the hotel and furnishings was about three quarters of a million. It had accommodations for over 400 guests. Many enquiries for rooms had been received this year and a successful season was anticipated. It is understood that the property was well insured.


St. Andrews, N.B. April 13
            The Algonquin, a large summer hotel here, owned by the Canadian Pacific Railway, was destroyed with contents by fore [sic] Saturday at a loss of $500,000. The structure had been renovated recently, and was nearly ready for the opening in June. It contained 275 rooms with elaborate fittings.
            Starting on the shingle roof of the old part of the building, from a spark from a charcoal fire used in repairing the roof, and flames were quickly fanned beyond control by a high wind. There was practically no firefighting apparatus available, and in a short time all that remained standing was the concrete walls. A nearby cottage, also owned by the railroad company, was burned.
            The portion of the building which represented the original hotel was composed entirely of wood. It was five storeys in height with a wooden tower and lookout in the centre. This section burned with great fierceness, the sparks being carried miles away. Some of them even set fire to the grass alongside Sir William Van Horne's summer home on Ministers Island.
            The hotel first opened in 1889, with Mr. F. A. Jones of St. John, as manager. A few years later it passed into the hands of the C. P. R., who have spent at least a quarter of a million dollars improving it.
            The two new concrete wings had been built within the last couple of years, and the furnishings throughout were unusually elaborate for a seaside hotel, and was a favorite resort from the New England States and New York. Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, president of the C. P. R., Sir William Van Horne, Mr. C. R. Hosmer and Mr. Percy Cowans, of Montreal, beside several others, have private summer cottages here.
            Manager Allerton was in Boston engaging help for the coming season when the fire occurred. Mr. N. S. Dunlop, head of the C. P. R. insurance department, has arrived here to look into the loss.


St. Croix Courier
April 23/1914
D. Will MacKay has taken photographs of the ruins of the “Algonquin hotel for Peter Lyall and sons, contractors, Montreal. (CPR Archives series?)


St. Croix Courier
April 30/1914
The debris from the Algonquin fire is being rapidly cleared away. About one hundred men are employed. then will follow the rebuilding of the hotel. The contract for rebuilding the Algonquin has been let to R. A. Clark. The new structure will be of concrete and will be ready for business in the summer of 1915.


July 9/1914
The two vital questions of the moment in St. Andrews are those of the present inadequate summer arrangement of the C. P. R. train service, and of the pressing necessity of a general system of water supply for the town.
            There are not two opinions in the whole community in regard to the C. P. R. train service, all citizens, indeed all persons who have any connexion whatever with the town, are unanimous in their condemnation of the treatment St. Andrews is receiving this summer at the hands of the C. P. R. Because, forsooth, the Algonquin Hotel was destroyed by fire, the citizens of this town are to be denied a right they have enjoyed for more than thirty years. Is the town regarded as an adjunct to the hotel? The destruction of the hotel was itself a great loss to the town, but it is not claimed that the fire was of incendiary origin. Then why punish the citizens doubly for what is no fault of theirs, and which they could do nothing to avert? Let us have our former summer train service restored at once; and let us see to it that the service next winter is greatly improved. Every citizen of this town, every visitor here, contributes something to the revenue of the C. P. R., and it is a short-sighted policy of this great national transportation company to do, or to neglect to do, anything to antagonize so many of its patrons. Two trains a day are as necessary to St. Andrews this summer as during any summer in the past. [cut back to one train per day, then, as in winter]
            The question of a system of water works for the town appears to be on a different basis, inasmuch as the desire for it is not unanimous, however incredible this may appear to those who wish to promote the best interests of . . . [get the rest of this]


St. Croix Courier
July 23/1914
The New Algonquin Bigger and Better
A Concrete Structure with Accommodation for over five hundred guests in course of construction
The plans for the new Algonquin hotel, as approved by the president of the CPR, have arrived at SA, the contract has been let, and all is now in readiness for the construction of the new building which will be pushed forward as rapidly as possible.
            The contract for the superstructure which it is estimated will cost within the vicinity of one hundred thousand dollars, has been awarded to the Peter Lyall and Sons Construction Company, Limited, of Montreal, and they are under contract to have their part of the work finished by the last of October.
            The building will be constructed entirely of reinforced concrete, all partitions to be of terra cotta, with fire proof doors between the wings, thus making it as nearly fireproof as possible. The new hotel, when completed, will be a handsome and imposing structure of six stories, with accommodation for five hundred and fifty guests and three hundred employees.
            On the ground floor there will be two main entrances, one to the large rotunda of the hotel, which is ninety feet long by twenty feet wide, with a fireplace at each end, and a ladies’ entrance to the drawing room, which room will be fifty feet by forty feet. In the center of the main building, as one enters will be found the general office, manager’s office, telephone exchange, news stand, etc. The large a spacious dining room, one hundred and nine feet by forty one feet, with seating capacity for five hounded guests, is situated on this floor, at the west end. Connected with the main dining hall are two private dining rooms, the officers’ dining room, and children’s dining rooms. There will also be ladies’ sitting room, and writing and reading rooms. The barber shop, billiard rooms, barroom and café, for the use of the guess will be situated directly under the main office. The remaining four stories will be composed of sleeping apartments. Spacious verandas and balconies will adorn the buildings.
            The men in charge of this tremendous undertaking, and upon whom the responsibility rests, are Manger A. A. Allerton of the Algonquin, who is keeping a watchful eye on all phases of the work; George Archer, superintendent of the Lyall Construction Company Limited; Robert A. Clark, local superintendent of the CPR. Mr. Clark has eighty five men employed, and is making splendid progress with his end of the work. Mr. Huch is inspector for the CPR on the new building, which work it is expected, will be completed early next week. Concrete mixtures and other necessary machinery, are now being et up to be in readiness and with the arrival of two hundred and fifty men during the next few days the work will be full swing and will be rushed forward with all possible speed as the hotel must be completed and ready for the reception of guests by the firs of June next.
            The CPR are sparing no trouble nor expanse in order to make this magnificent building one of the finest of its kind on the Atlantic coast and everything for the accommodation and comfort of the guests is being worked out to the smallest detail.
            The CPR Inn at Indian Point is now open and ready for the reception of guests with Mrs. Allerton in charge. During the past week about twenty guests have registered.


Beacon (f9822)
Nov 26/1914
Design and Construction of the New C. P. R. Hotel
Schematic of new section and wings.
In April this year the Algonquin Hotel, owned by the C. P. R., was almost entirely destroyed by fire. The main building, of frame construction, was completely burned, and only the shells of the wings were left standing. It was decided to rebuild, and Messrs. Barott, Blacader, and Webster, architects, Montreal, were instructed to draw up plans. The contract for the main building was let to P. Lyall and Sons Construction Company, Limited, Montreal, while the restoration of the wings was undertaken by the C. P. R. building construction department, of which Mr. D. F. Mapes is superintendent.
            As will be seen on the plans reproduced, it has been decided to adhere to the original plan of a main building with two wings. The hotel stands on a site covering 28,000 feet and will be constructed almost entirely of reinforced concrete, terra cotta partitions being utilized in the interior. In order to give an artistic appearance to the front of the main building, a quantity of lumber, embedded in concrete, is employed. The roof is of red slate.
            The building, consisting of four stories and two basements, will have accommodation for 200 [error—500 guests] guests. The basement and sub-basement are, owing to the sloping character of the ground constructed at a lower level than the greater part of the main building. These basements are partly situated in the front portion of the hotel, and are continued under what is known as the kitchen wing. They contain servants’ quarters, officers’ quarters, helps’ dining room, refrigerating plant, bakery, laundry, men’s lounge, common room, servery, etc. An open terrace is built over the front portion of the basement, and as higher ground is reached, a verandah is constructed right around one side of the building.
            The first floor, entered from the verandah, is arranged so that he lobby is place between the dining room 41 1/192 x 112 ft.)--the largest room in the hotel--and the lounge (2 1/192 feet x. 89 1/192 feet). These can also be entered from the terrace and verandah respectively. The drawing room (27 ft. x 38 1/192 feet) leads off the dining room. Behind these rooms and facing the rear portion of the hotel, are children’s dining room, private dining room, sitting room, office, news stand, ticket and telegraph booths, manager’s office, smoking room, etc.
            The first floor portion of the kitchen wing, which runs off the dining room and lobby, is devoted entirely to kitchen purposes. These include service, dish washing, cup, vegetable, meat and poultry, knife and glass departments, and officers’ dining room. The other wing, leading from a corridor at the side of the drawing room, contains a number of bedrooms. The entire second and third floors, including the wings, are given up to bedrooms; 97 of these have private baths and 22 have private lavatories. In the attic, bedroom accommodation is also provided, while here is also situated maids’ and male helps’ quarters, dormitory, and common room.
            A boiler house is constructed about 300 feet from the main building. This contains three boilers and two generators for the purpose of providing electric light, power, heat and hot water.
            The keynote of the furnishing is to be simplicity, as becomes a purely summer hotel. Most of the bedrooms and public rooms will have hardwood floors. With the object of minimizing the risk of fire, automatic fire doors have been provided, dividing each floor into five sections, which can be isolated in case of an outbreak. Thus on the first floor there are seven such doors, which can be very quickly brought into operation.
            The C. P. R. have in hand all the electrical work; the Garth Company, Montreal, the plumbing and heating; MacFarlane and Douglas, Ottawa, sheet metal and roofing; Murray and Gregory, St. John, a portion of the mill work; while the Otis-Fensom Elevator Company, Limited, Montreal, have the contact for two elevators--one passenger and one freight.


April 1/1915
New Algonquin Hotel Nearing Completion
The new Algonquin Hotel, which has been erected on the site of the building partially destroyed by the fire on April 11 last, is fast approaching completion, inside and outside.
            The new Hotel is a six-storied structure of reinforced concrete throughout, only two wings of the former building having been so constructed, and has terra partitions and a roof of red slates from quarries in Wales. A large veranda, which commands a magnificent view, extends along the entire office floor; and from the main entrance along the front to the northern wing is a second veranda to which access is gained from the second floor. The grounds at the rear of the building are to be terraced, but those at the front remain as before.
            The Hotel is fitted throughout with electric light, hot-water heating apparatus, electric elevators, and a telephone system connected with all the rooms.
            Each guest room, of which there are 220, is fitted with extra large clothes closets, running water, and bath and closet connexion arranged to serve two adjoining rooms. Besides the guest rooms there is sleeping accommodation for 250 employees, which is also provided with lavatories, baths, etc.
            On the office floor are situated the main office, news stand, telegraph office, telephone exchange, ticket and information bureau, manager’s office, ladies’ reception room, gentlemen’s smoking room, ladies’ drawing room of large size with a retiring room connected, manicure parlor, barber shop, and coat and chick room; and from the main lounge room, which adjoins the office, there are three stairways, besides the elevators.
            The main dining room, which is also situated on the office floor, is 112 1/192 feet by 49 1/192 feet, and has a magnificent view from every part of it. Besides this there is a private dining room, an officers’ dining room, and one for nurses and children.
            The kitchen, which is being finished in white enamel, is probably the most interesting feature of the Hotel. It is conveniently arranged, and is fitted with all those modern appliances which the present-day chef requires, and which only an expert could describe. It is stated that there is no better equipped hotel kitchen in Canada than this one.
            The gentlemen’s lounge room, which is on the floor below the office, and near the entrance, is a most attractive room, with tile floor, open fireplace, and all the fittings necessary for comfort.
            The basement contains the bakery, ice-cream freezing room, two main refrigerator plants, steward’s office, general storeroom, baggage room, wine room, coal bunkers, and the entrance to the tunnel leading to the laundry nearby.
            The finish of the entire Hotel is plain and bright. The carpeting on the office floor is to be green; on the second floor brown, on the third green, and on the fourth brown.
            Great care was taken in the reconstruction to render the Hotel fireproof, and the metal fire-doors which cut off the different wings and stairways are held by fusible links which, in the event of fire, would melt should the temperature be raised to 100 degrees or over, and thus close the doors automatically.
            The lavatories, bath-rooms and shower baths on each floor are fitted with the very latest equipments. The shower baths have an arrangement that prevents the water from becoming too hot.
            Mr. A. Allerton, the genial and accomplished Manager, who has been daily watching the work of rebuilding, is look forward to a very busy season, which opens on June 15 next; and already 200 guests are booked, who will occupy 144 of the rooms.
            With such a magnificent Hotel, the property of our great transportation Company, the Canadian Pacific Railway, which is undoubtedly the best summer hostelry in America, accommodation will be provided for a portion of the ever increasing number of people who are attracted to St. Andrews in the summer months by its healthful climate, its beautiful situation and magnificent scenery, its famous golf links, its unrivalled facilities for yachting (Passamaquoddy Bay being almost completely land-locked seaward, thereby excluding the heavy ocean swell), its bathing, its delightful drives and good roads, and its thousand-and-one charms which endear it to the natives of the town and surrounding country and to all who have ever visited it.
            The coming summer is likely to see even a larger influx of visitors to St. Andrews than usual in the past, in view of the war in Europe which will prevent from going there so many thousands of Americans and Canadians who must go somewhere for the summer. St. Andrews will welcome them all; and all who come will be delighted


June 10/1915
Opening of the Algonquin
Tuesday next, June 15, will be a “red letter” day for SA, for on that day the Algonquin Hotel, which has risen, Phoenix-like, from its ashes, opens its doors once more to receive its patrons. Not only does this Hotel mean much to the Town in bringing here a large number of well-to-do visitors, but during the months when it is open the Canadian Pacific Railway provides a service of two trains a day. When the Hotel shuts its doors in September, and until it reopens in June, the townspeople have to content themselves with one train a day. The whole community is treat by the C. P. R. as an adjunct to the Hotel, and the citizens,--willingly in some cases, most unwillingly for the most part,--acquiesce in the conditions forced upon them. But if a better train service throughout the year is to be obtained, the citizens must unite, and by their united efforts compel the C. P. R. to treat St. Andrews with at least as much consideration as it does St. Stephen.
            With a system of water works installed (which it must have before St. Andrews can make any progress whatever), and a good train service throughout the year, the old Shiretown would recover all its pristine activity and importance, the old cellars would be surmounted by flourishing places of business, and the vacant lots would have built thereon homes for a largely-increased population. To accomplish this it only necessary for the citizens to cooperate, and to display a spirit of enterprise which is now, unfortunately, dormant.


St. Andrews Beacon
Aug 5/1915
On Friday evening last the Bell Boys of the Algonquin Hotel have a dance in the Andraeleo Hall. A large number attended, and a most enjoyable time was spent by all. Music of a high class, rendered by the Algonquin Orchestra, was greatly appreciated. During intermission refreshments were served at Ira Stinson’s, after which dancing was resumed, and the “home Sweet Home Waltz” was not reached until two o’clock.


Sept 16/1915
The Algonquin Hotel—The Algonquin Hotel closed its doors t guest on Tuesday, after the most successful season in its history. Large as the hotel is, it has not been able to accommodate all the people who have mad application for rooms so it is not at all unlikely that an enlargement will have to be made in the near future.


Beacon (f9822)
June 10/1916
Recent alterations to Algonquin: extension of dining room.
The architect, Mr. Coffey, very kindly showed our representative the alterations which have been made in the construction of the Algonquin Hotel since the last summer season.
            Most noticeable of all is the glassed-in extension to the dining room. During the rush season in August this extension will be used as a dining room; when not needed for that purpose it will be converted into a lounge. A splendid view of the Passamaquoddy Bay and the St. Croix River is to be had from this extension. The sides are covered with green lattice work, which gives a pleasing summer-like effect; and the electric fittings, twelve large lanterns, are well in keeping. The concrete floor has been finished with Toch Bros. paint, making a smooth surface. The windows are fitted with the latest thing in hinges, the Giesey elevating hinge, by means of which they can be opened inwards without the possibility of rain leaking under them when closed.
            The Hotel Office was previously situated in the centre of the Lounge, and was found to be altogether inadequate and extremely inconvenient. It has now been moved to the corner of the building where the old Music Room and the Ladies’ Lounge formerly were. This change of position will enable newly arrived guests to register and be shown their rooms without having to pass through the public sitting rooms. The spacious proportions of the new Office will give far greater facilities for the rapid transaction of all business.
            The old Office, the Ladies’ Writing Room and the Smoking Room have been connected up and redecorated, and have been fitted with new electric fixtures to match the lounge and drawing rooms which they open into.
            The formal opening of the season 1916 at the Algonquin takes place on the 19th instant.


Beacon (f9822)
June 24/1916
A series of arc lights has recently been added to the streets approaching the Algonquin Hotel and is a very decided improvement. A walk through the town at night now gives a splendid object less on “Lights, Ancient and Modern.” There are the gasoline lights of our stores, the electric lights of the picture houses, the dazzling brilliance of the street oil lamps [sarcasm], and, last but not least, the Algonquin’s new arc lights. It is clearly shown how the darkness of discontent could be turned into glorious daylight.


Oct 7/1916
Algonquin closed for winter. This season 2 weeks longer than any previous one. Ideal summer weather helped. “A most popular and profitable year for the hotel.” Winter service of trains comes into place. Morning train arrives at 12:10 p. m. and leaves at 5:25 p. m.


Beacon (f9822)
Feb 10/1917
Improvements at the Algonquin
The work on the new building at the Algonquin Hotel, which will be known as the Dormitory for the male help, is now fairly under way. The foundation work has been sub-let by the contractors, Messrs. C. E. Dakin Construction Company, to Mr. Chas. Horsnell, who is now running the concrete into the forms.
            The plans call for a two-story building, size 126 x 30 feet, with a pitched roof and eight gables. The outside finish will be in stucco with half timbered finish on the gables, similar to those at the Hotel. On the front will be a veranda seventy feet long, facing Carleton Street.
            The interior will contain a large common room, and thirty-eight bedrooms. The officers’ quarters are to be situated in the south end of the building, on the main floor, and will consist of eight rooms, each with hot and cold water. The plumbing on each floor will be of the latest type, and include baths, and shower baths.
            The hot-water heating and electric lighting systems of the Hotel will be extended to the new building.
            The C. P. R. Construction Department, under the direction of D. H. Mapes, Engineer of Buildings, will install the plumbing, heating and lighting systems. Mr. R. D. Rigby is the local superintendent.
            The alterations to the rooms on the fourth floor of the west wing of the Hotel are progressing rapidly.
            The large amount of plumbing made necessary by the change is well advanced; and that part of it between the floors and partitions has been completed, and the first coat of plaster put on. It is expected that everything will be in shape to start the putting on of the finish in two or three weeks. This work is being done entirely by the Hotel Construction Department.
            Another interesting and important work going on at the Algonquin is the installation of a motor fan in the roof of the west wing for the purpose of ventilating the kitchen, with which it is connected by a direct passage. The fan is said to weigh nearly a ton and will be a useful addition to the already up-to-date kitchen.
            The prospects of the Hotel for the coming season look very promising, and the bookings up to now far exceed those of any previous year.


Sept 22/1917
The Algonquin Hotel closed on Thursday at the end of its 1917 season, which has been the most successful of any since the Hotel was first opened. . . . The total capacity of three hundred guests was maintained during August, and frequently 380 guests sat down to one meal in the dining room. Power house being enlarged; new boilers. Laundry enlarged--120 inch mangle, a machine washer, and large extractor for drying.


Beacon (f9823)
June 22/1918
Algonquin opened Thursday. “There had been only one large change in the Hotel this year, an American soda fountain has been set up in what was formerly the bar. [influence of prohibition?] At it the thirsty one may obtain any known soft drink.
            Allerton still manager.


Aug 24/1918
Description of Sunday concert at Algonquin.


Sept 14/1918
the Algonquin Hotel closed today after a fairly prosperous season considering the wartime conditions prevailing. It is to be hoped that the war will be over before the Hotel opens next summer. the weather in July left much to be desired, from the point of view of those seeking rest and recuperation at a seaside resort, but August as delightful nearly throughout.


June 28/1919
Staff of the Algonquin Hotel


  1. Allerton, Manager; C W. Stinson, Accountant; Spencer Farmer, Chief Clerk; Miss A. Meehan, ?Cashier; Mrs. E. Lemasnie, Cashier; Miss Edith Hewitt, Stenographer; Miss E. G. Hughes, Stenographer; Mrs. John McLean, Mail Clerk; Mrs. E. Revere, Housekeeper; Mrs. Tennant, Matron; Miss Glover, Linen Keeper; Mrs. E. Watson, Head Laundress; Miss MacDonald, Market and checker; B. E. Cartwright, Chief Steward; George Bailey, Assistant, Steward; J. P. Connor, Chef; R. Stevenson, Head Storekeeper; John A. McLean, Supt. of Service; George A McLean, Head Waiter
  2. Mechanical: A. W. Mason, Chief Engineer; E. May, Second Engineer; R. Purton, Third Engineer; G. Malpass, Water Works Engineer;
  3. F. N. Donald, Passenger Agent; Mrs. Elrick, News Clerk; Miss Levene, News Clerk; Miss Sheenan, Telephone Operator; Miss McCarroll, Telephone Operator; Miss McDowell, Telephone Operator; John Malloney, Gents Hair Dresser; Miss E Reeves, Manicurist and Lady Hair Dresser; Alphonso Cummings, Head Bellman; Lawrence Lace, Head Porter
  4. Golf: John Peacock, Golf Instructor; Mrs. M. McDonnell, Cashier, Miss Ella Baker, Matron
  5. Joseph Harrison, Head Gardener; Cleveland Mitchell, In charge of Casino;
  6. Orchestra: Miss Sarah Ames, Orchestra Leader; Percy Leveen, Violinist; Dan C. Tierney, Pianist; Irving Frankel, Contra Bass; s. Keene, Drummer

St. Croix Courier
July 1/1920
The Algonquin opened on Saturday with a goodly number of guests arriving by the noon train. On Monday the number was increased by the members of the underwriters from Toronto, Montreal and Winnipeg. Fifty guests arrived.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 16/1920
The Algonquin closed on Wednesday after a very successful season.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 16/1920
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Weycott, on the closing of the Algonquin Hotel, left for NY in their car.


St. Croix Courier
Dec 2/1920
While Andrew Allerton’s friends are pleased to hear of his well earned promotion to general superintendent of CPR hotels, they regret to lose him as manager of the Algonquin. Mr. Allerton will take up his duties in January.


St. Croix Courier
May 19/1921
George Malpass has rented apartments to Mrs. M. J. Brennan and family of Montreal, who are now occupying. Mr. Brennan, manager of the Algonquin, has already won many friends in town.


St. Croix Courier
July 14/1921
Henry Joseph et al. occupying Algonquin cottage number 2. Montreal.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 18/1921
The Algonquin is filled with guests to its utmost capacity.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 15/1921
The annual outing of the “One Hundred Thousand Dollar Club” of the North American Life Insurance Company of Toronto held here last week, the guests being entertained at the Algonquin. All were very loud in their praises of the beautiful surroundings and admit that there is not other spot equal to St. Andrews.


St. Croix Courier
Oct 6/1921
Judge George M. Byron, former bowling champion of Hudson County, blows them away on Algonquin lanes. Champion of “Ananias Club” at Casino. American 5-pin game. Silver cup to winner to be engraved and presented by Mayor Kennedy. Entertainment afterwards at Algonquin (still open). Other contestants Mayor Kennedy, H. P. O’Neill, Postmaster Albert Thompson, W. Inglis of Winnipeg, R. D. Rigby.


St. Croix Courier
June 22/1922
Summer people arriving in force.
CMA convention 300 strong.
Algonquin staff: Manager M. J. Brennan. Chief Accountant O. W. Stinson. Chief Clerk, S. Farmer. Cashers Miss Mehan, Miss Fox. Mail Clerk Miss W. McCurdy. Accountant’s Assistant Miss N. Grant. Golf Cashier Miss Varnum. Golf Matron Mrs. J. McFarlane. Housekeeper Mrs. P. Revers. Matron Mrs. R. Tennant. News Clerk Miss Ann McDermot and Miss Vines. House doctor J. D. L. Mason. Steward Mr. Webber. Rec. Clerk L. Worrell. Control Clerk G. Bailey. Head Bellman A. Cummings. Porter L. Luce. Golf Instructors J. Peacock and Mr. Pike. Bathing Beach Superintendent F. McCurdy. Casino Keeper B. McMullin. Head Waiter J. MacLean. Assistant Waiter Mr. Chidley. Chef Mr. Connor. Telephone Operators Miss M. Sheehan and Mrs. Anderson. Manicurist Miss Gertie Stickney. Chiropodist Miss Reeves, Mrs. Franks. Telegraphers Mr. Boyer, Mr. Emery. Engineer A. W. Mason.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 28/1922
Annual bowling match at casino. H. P. O’Neill wins silver ball. Wins again on Sat. Presented with silver cigarette case by Algonquin manager M. J. Brennan. Mrs. M. J. Brennan occupying cottage five for winter.


St. Croix Courier
June 7/1923
Mr. and Mrs. Devinish arrived from BC on Friday and are at Elm Corner [some kind of inn? many references to it over last few years] for the present. Mr. Devinish is the new manager of the Algonquin Hotel.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 13/1923
Algonquin closed Sept 8. Last to leave Mr. and Mrs. Tait


St. Croix Courier
Jan 10/1924
Mr. Devernish [sic] manager Algonquin returned home from England.


St. Croix Courier
March 6/1924
11th Annual Convention of Canadian Good Roads Assoc. to be held at Algonquin June 24 to 27; hotel to open a bit earlier as a result. First time in NB. Every year different province. Hon. J. L. Perron Minister Highways for Quebec will motor down from Montreal.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 11/1924
Algonquin closed Sept 9 after successful summer.


St. Croix Courier
July 2/1925
The Algonquin opened June 27. Taits among first to arrive. President Beatty of the CPR was in town on Saturday at the opening of the Algonquin Hotel.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 20/1925
They Will Speed In Algonquin Cars. Saturday’s Accident near St. Andrews Almost a Fatality. Fred Cowans, 17 year old son of Percy Cowans of McDougall and Cowans of Montreal, overturns his dad’s Chrysler and puts a passenger 14 year old Banning Richardson in critical condition. On way to New River Beach. One of the occupants Miss Williams an Algonquin guest.


St. Croix Courier
Jan 28/1926
Algonquin Manager to Winnipeg Post. Montreal Jan 19. The appointment of the Royal Alexandra Hotel, Winnipeg, to succeed S. F. Pierce, who has gone to the Vancouver Hotel was announced by the CP hotel dept yesterday. Mr. Devenish joined the CP hotel dept in 1912 and later was accountant and assistant manager at the Place Viger here. After spending some time at the Sicamous and Glacier, BC as manager, he was appointed manager at the Algonquin Hotel at SA, NB, which position he leaves to go to Winnipeg.


St. Croix Courier
March 4/1926
Mr. Parkins, manager at the Algonquin Hotel, in town for a short stay.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 19/1926
Lord Beaverbrook with his family on yacht “Miramichi” was in the harbour on Sat and Guests at the Algonquin hotel on Sunday. (Unable to cash cheque in SS: bank manager did not recognize him and mistook his signature for Beauregard. Miffed, Beaverbrook rushes out muttering that everybody should know who he is, his picture is in all the papers. Beaverbrook’s travelling partner, the president of some bank, persuades the bank manager of his error, but Beaverbrook is adamant; he will not return to the bank on any account.
            Miss Dorothy Hodkins pianist with Algonquin orchestra.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 9/1926
Algonquin closed Sept 7 but remained open for Sun Life Insurance Co.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 9/1928
Appropriates a car and does a little joy riding. Collides with a Ford injuring occupants--arrested and now staying in SA--but not at the Algonquin. Details. Booze.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 30/1928
Prizes Presented in Algonquin contests. St. Andrews Hotel enjoy their busiest and most successful season yet.
            The Algonquin Hotel in St. Andrews has had the busiest season of its history it is said by J. W. Parkinson [sic] the manager. On many days it has had to turn away guests and on one day is said to have turned away 50. Kennedy’s Hotel and all other places accommodating tourists in St. Andrews are said to have had an equally satisfactory season.
            Awards in sports listed below. Margot Redmond wins girls’ singles tennis. Good who’s who of the summer crowd.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 13/1928
Algonquin closed officially on Sept 10. Reopened for Rotarian Convention.


St. Croix Courier
June 13/1929
Algonquin Opens Wednesday (19th) for Electrical Men. Two special trains to Convey Delegates to Huge Convention in St. Andrews next week. Canadian Electrical Association.  First ever in Maritimes. 225-250 delegates. “it will be the Association’s 39th annual convention and it promises to be one of the most successful in point of attendance, as well as otherwise, thus illustrating the feasibility of having well attended national conventions in NB.” Hotel open earlier than usual for purpose. Whole hotel for convention. Manager J. W. Parkins.


St. Croix Courier
June 27/1929
Work on Algonquin Nearing Completion. Rumors of Large Extension Before Next Year. Work in connection with the new powerhouse and laundry building at the Algonquin Hotel, SA, for the CPR, is nearing completion. Progress has been rapid and all equipment is now in use by the hotel department. The upper floor of this structure, which is to be used as a dormitory for the staff, will be completed within the next two weeks. Work was inspected this week by the chief engineer of the building, and his staff in company with J. F. Parsons, of Moncton, president of Parsons-Ed Co., Ltd., who had the contract for the work. It is rumoured that before another year a substantial addition will be made to the Algonquin which in recent years has been unable to take care of the large numbers of summer tourists seeking accommodation at this popular hotel.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 22/1929
Noted Writer Lectures on Chinese Life and Customs. Mrs. Florence Ayscough, Litt. D. Speaks Before large Audience at St. Andrews Casino. Sir Thomas Tait Chairman. Titled “The People of China, their Homes and Gardens.” Illustrated. Proceeds to aid restoration of All Saints Cathedral. J. Parkins loans Casino for event.


St. Croix Courier
June 25, 1931
Algonquin opens June 26. Convention of Fire Underwriters arrived shortly before. Water Street being paved on one side.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 30, 1931
Algonquin closed after successful season.


St. Croix Courier
March 10/1932
Mr. Cashman will be the new manager of the Algonquin Hotel. He was here this week looking things over. Mr. Cashman took charge of a CPR in NS last year.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 8/1932
The Algonquin Staff held a pleasant dance in Elite Hall on Sept 1. Music was furnished by the Algonquin orchestra.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 13/1936
Shire town Items—Presents Original Song. Mrs. Molly Whitman, while visiting in S”A, presented a campaign song, composed by herself, to Mrs. Sarah Delano Roosevelt, mother of the president. The presentation was made at the Algonquin Hotel, and the song “Franklin D. R.” was played by the Algonquin orchestra during the luncheon concert. Mrs. Whitman is one of a family of talented musicians.”


St. Croix Courier
Aug 27/1936
SA-by-the-Sea. In Toronto Saturday Night. Talkies at Casino. Motoring. Good overall view of Algonquin as centerpiece of town. (picture of hotel in thirties—see photos and pamphlets from late thirties CPR Archives)
            During the heat of summer it is wise to escape from the burden of oppressing work, the routine of oft-repeated duties and the monotony of seeing the same places, doing the same things day after day. Enjoy a refreshing seaside vacation: full of the tang of salt breezes sweeping in from the encircling waters; the sound of waves washing on the shores; before your eyes rolling swards of green velvet grass, and the inviting golf courses dotted here and there with waving scarlet flags. Beyond, is a landscape of natural, untrammelled beauty, of dignified trees and rambling paths hinting of hidden loveliness, . . . of sea and sky and wood and shaven green . . . that is SA-by-the-Sea, in NB.
            Here, happily, Nature’s bounty has been complemented by the comforts Man has achieved through centuries of effort, as embodied in the spacious Algonquin Hotel. Built by the Canadian Pacific Railway in Old English style, this modern, fireproof hostelry is charmingly situated overlooking Passamaquoddy Bay. Here, carefully chosen help do their best, the chefs in the kitchen rise to culinary heights, and the orchestra’s efforts are so enchanting that, when the music throbs on the sweet evening air, one can only sigh in sheer content. Golfers the world over have supreme ambition to “play SA,” the home of the Royal and Ancient Game. But not all can afford the time to visit Scotland, so they come up to SA-by-the-Sea in Canada, where the natural advantages of turf and terrain have been developed into courses not unworthy to bear the hallowed name. The two St. Andrews golf courses, built by the CPR (the championship 18-hole links and the sporty 9-hold ones), live up to the Scottish tradition in turf, and form, and caddies, and professional attendance.
            The main course, surrounded on all sides by magnificent views, is truly a kingly setting for this regal sport. The turf is slipped plush and the hazards are as natural as they are good. The roué of the play, the location, of the tees and the selection of the greens, have been so arranged as to afford picturesque vistas of the glorious bay, and the benefit of the glowing, health-bestowing climate. The “nineteenth-hole” is an attractive club house, popular with golfers and non-golfers alike; here you may recall, with congenial companions, the thrills of seaside golf on St. Andrews’ links. Adjoining the club house is an excellent putting green.
            If you prefer to consider sport as a spectacle, you may sit on the broad verandah of the Algonquin Hotel and watch the tennis players or bowlers as you choose.          
            Every window of that restful room of yours in the Algonquin Hotel, designed to please your eye, is a frame for a picture of breath-taking beauty . . . the winding roads, the stately trees, the green, velvety lawns, and the island-dotted bay where waves glint jewel-like, under the sun’s lingering rays.
            Thus it well accords with the fitness of things that by day, the life of SA-by-the-Sea is outdoor sports. From breakfast to dinner, the colony is busy with golf clubs and tennis racket, with fishing rod and automobile. Nature has provided the garden; and the Algonquin Hotel has added the fairways and the bowling greens, the diving-platform and the four fast tennis courts adjoining the Casino.
            Algonquin guests may scatter far and wide during the day enjoying the round of sports, but in the evening they concentrate on two equally popular places—the lounge and the Casino dance-floor. Golf and motoring are replaced by dancing and bridge and so the social hours are ushered in.
            From dinner table to lounge is the beaten path of the Algonquinite. Here you may spend a restful hour—comparing adventures and scores, listening to a favorite piece entrancingly placed by the Algonquin orchestra.
            At 9:30 the first fox trot sounds from the Casino. All the younger set is on hand . . . and between dances why not loll on the Casino veranda enjoying soft breezes and delightful companionship, or stroll on the grounds, admiring the bay suffused with luminous moonlight.
            This year get your sun tan on St. Andrews sandy beaches and your swimming in Katy’s Cove. Sauntering down the long, tree-shaded path that meanders from the Algonquin Hotel to the bath houses you seem to come upon a sandy beach ideal for sun worshippers’ frolics. Swimming in the sun-heated salt water of Katy’s Cove is exhilarating, and sheltered, too . . . a dam has been constructed across the mouth of the cove! Aquatic sports are held each summer.
            . . . Motoring? Excellent highways and charming scenery invite you to motor in every direction. The trip to St. Stephen is over good roads, fringed by the turquoise waters of the St. Croix River. Up this river over three hundred years ago sailed de Monts and his “motley assemblage of gentlemen, artists and vagabonds” (so reads Champlain’s quaint record published in Paris in 1613). Here they cast anchor and disembarked, claiming he land for God and His Gracious Majesty, Louis of France.
            Other fine motor roads include the Joe’s Point Road, which crosses the golf course and strikes the St. Croix at its mouth; the Saint John Road going northeast through inland seas of forest to Fredericton, the capital of NB; and the far-famed Reversing Fall at Saint John.
            Fishing is popular at St. Andrews. Up-country are streams and lakes stocked by the Provincial Government. Down-bar are famous deep-water fishing grounds with scrod, cod, haddock, pollock, etc., and other varieties running in season. Expert guides can be had in St. Andrews. The children, too, not to be outdone, hunt clams on the adorable mud-meadows at low tides. Little wonder the “Quoddy Bay” lobster and delicious seafood find a prominent place on the menus of the Algonquin Hotel.
            Associated with fishing, is the kindred sport of yachting. Between Passamaquoddy Bay, the St. Croix River and the Bay of Fundy, St. Andrews offers yachtsmen all the thrills they long for. Passamaquoddy Bay is fairly sheltered, yet there’s always a spanking breeze; while Fundy is open enough for the most venturesome. St. Andrews Harbour is frequently visited by trim, cruising yachts.
            Of course, modern life is not complete without “talkies.” So the Casino is equipped with motion picture booth and apparatus. Tri-weekly the dance floor of the Casino is transformed into a “picture palace.”
            After the evening’s performance, you may prefer some bridge in the lounge among amid congenial company; and the gentlemen may enjoy a game of billiards, pool or indoor bowling at the Casino.
            In the daily round of sports . . . and during the evening hours . . . life flows serenely at the Algonquin Hotel, SA-by the-Sea, with never a dull moment to mar its even tenor.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 10/1936
Shire town Items—Big Convention Sept 9. Sun Life Co. 400 delegates in two parts each, divided by one day to reset hotel. McQuoid’s taxi service 40 cars on call day and night. Many privately owned automobiles are being used for this purpose, and young lady chauffeurs will be a commonplace. It is expected that the upper grades of the school will have one session in order to provide caddies for the golfers. Each part of convention identical in program—even down to menus.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 17/1936
Shire town Items—Sun Life Convention—first part in Wed and out Sat. Business meetings in Casino 10 am to 1 pm. Delegates from Western Canada and Western States. “Several of the men rather naively collected a few pebbles from the Atlantic coast to mix with those from the Pacific coast.” W/F afternoons movies in Casino. Wed. afternoon many drove to Milltown. Thursday a choice between motoring or deep-sea fishing. Dance every evening in Casino, with supper dance on Friday as grand climax. “As a wit put it: St. Andrews is still recovering from the Charge of the Life Brigade.”
            “Great Ziegfeld” at State Theatre in Calais. $2.00 ticket. “The world’s greatest film production.”


St. Croix Courier
Sept 24/1936
Second installment of Sun Life Convention end. (Eastern Delegates) Tuesday to Friday. “During the two weeks of the convention the upper grades were dismissed in the afternoons so they could caddy.”


St. Croix Courier
Sept 8/1938
Shiretown Items—Below Expectations. The Algonquin Hotel closed its doors on Tuesday after a fairly successful season, though not up to expectations. owing to continued wet weather it was impossible to hold the guests for more than a day or two, or to keep the house count up to a point at which the hotel is on a paying basis.


St. Croix Courier
July 27/1939
A surprise party was given to Woodrow Mitchell, son of Mr. and Mrs. Cleveland Mitchell, at their home on Monday evening, by the Algonquin office staff. A pen and pencil was presented to him. Woodrow is leaving shortly for Halifax where he will join the Canadian navy.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 10,1939
Shiretown Items—Makes a Good Story. The Algonquin is doing a better business this year to date than has been done in any season for several years, and it is expected the house will be practically filled to capacity for the rest of the season. The help, however, who depend mostly on tips, are not doing so well as they would wish. I heard an older member of the staff, in speaking of the good times of former years, say that at the end of the one season he had collected seven nail-kegs full of quarters and fifty cent pieces. I would not attest to the truth of the statement, however. (this is the story Mr. Mitchell said his dad gave the reporter.)
            Mr. and Mrs. Cleveland Mitchell gave a dance in the Elite Hall for the pleasure of their son, Woodrow. Music was by the Algonquin orchestra. Woodrow was presented with a purse of money by Harry Gavy, given to him by his friends before he left for Halifax for training.
St. Croix Courier
Aug 14/1941
Senator Wilson speaks at Benefit Concert
Enjoyable Entertainment in Aid of Bombed-Out Children Given at Algonquin Casino
An enjoyable concert was presented in the Algonquin Casino at St. Andrews on Tuesday evening under the auspices of Passamaquoddy Chapter, I.O.D.E. in aid of the fund for crippled children in the bombed out areas of Britain, and was very well patronized.
            In the course of the evening an address on the subject, “Service Behind the Lines,” was given by Senator Cairine Wilson.
            Music was provided by the Algonquin orchestra, and the Chamcook Holiday guest Ranch sent in two of their best performers, the Lesters, who have toured Great Britain, the United States and Canada. Others taking part were Darrel McPherson of Milltown; the Misses Jean and Margaret Anning, Alice Thompson, Dorothy Johnson, Amy Wood, Mr. and Mrs. Pollack, Keith Thompson, and Mr. Kosman. The concert was directed by Mrs. Verne Whitmarr.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 18/1941
Shiretown Items--Should Consider Carefully
[Why grant the Algonquin its customary fixed tax valuation when it prefers to buy and hire from Montreal? Perpetual money loser.]
What well may be considered a momentous question comes up for consideration at the next meeting of the town council. The period for which a fixed valuation was granted the Algonquin Hotel Co. has again expired and a renewal for ten years at the same figure is being asked for. A Bill is to be introduced at the next session of the Ontario Legislature, which, if passed will do away with this practice in that province. The chief argument used against the practice of granting fixed valuations is that it works a hardship on those no longer active in business and who are obliged to live on a small income from their investments. This would apply here only to a very limited extent. With the granting, and subsequent renewal of this contract with the Hotel Co., there has always been a verbal agreement that the latter would as far as possible buy supplies locally, and also, as far as possible, employ local help. That the Company has not always done so is the objection raised by some business men of the town to have a renewal granted again at the same figure. it is a quite general opinion among the people of the town that the present hotel manager [Cashman] will always purchase in Montreal if he can save five cents by so doing. This opinion perhaps is not correct but there must be some grounds for it. On the other hand, I am told that some local stores have received quite generous orders from the Hotel. As to hiring local help, there have been frequent cases where worthy and capable persons have been refused employment, but on the whole we must admit, if we are to be fair, that most of those refused and in fact many of those employed were of the type who find it difficult to get employment anywhere. It is doubtful if the Algonquin Hotel ever was a paying proposition. A representative of the Company states that during the past ten years alone the loss has run into six figures. It is a conservative estimate to say that during that same period the amount of money left in St. Andrews because of the Hotel being here has also run into the same number of figures. The town has no right to expect the hotel company to continue operating at a loss indefinitely unless they are given some consideration in the matter of taxation. If the fixed valuation were raised by $15,000, as has been suggested by some, the relief to the general taxpayer would be so slight as to pass unnoticed and the spirit of opposition or lack of co-operation would be as pronounced as if the raise were ten times that amount. It would seem that for the general good of the community there is only one sensible thing for the council to do—grant a renewal at the same figure.


St. Croix Courier
Oct 16/1941
Mayor R. F. Keay and Council grant Algonquin fixed tax valuation. Hotel had three reps to argue the case. Town Solicitor Earl Caughey opposed the renewal. Town leases a shore privilege at CPR bathing beach for 10 years at 1 dollar per year. [sounds like a quid pro quo thing: lease in exchange for valuation renewal]


St. Croix Courier
May 14/1942
Legislature approved only 5-year fixed tax valuation for Algonquin. Government now looking askance on such devices generally. “It can be easily understood how anyone might oppose this practice on general principle, but when it comes down to a specific case affecting our own community one can be excused for looking on the matter at a much closer angle. The closing of the Algonquin Hotel which would have resulted had the Council not favoured the extension, would be looked upon by 99 our of 100 citizens as nothing less than a calamity.”


St. Croix Courier
Aug 20/1942
Shiretown Items
“I have met two interesting people from the Algonquin who now are making their home in Montreal. The gentleman escaped from Holland the day before the German invasion, and the lady, after many difficulties, got away from occupied France in Feb. 1941. They both like Canada but are looking forward to returning home after the war.


St. Croix Courier
October 1/1942
Shiretown Items
Gladys Forster has shown us a collection of photographs taken around town about 1890 [this would be the souvenir collection by W. D. MacKay of 1889], which illustrate very clearly the many changes that have taken place in the last 50 years. Pictures taken along Water Street perhaps were the most interesting: no pavement, no sidewalks, no cars, no plate glass windows, only two or three pedestrians and a few idle truck teams. A picture of the Market Wharf showed the last of several buildings, most of them bar rooms, which at one time lined this wharf. This last was a bar room and was torn down shortly after a supposed murder took place there.
            A picture of Wren’s Drug Store with two small windows was of interest. It showed T. R. Wren and George Sharp his clerk standing in the doorway, and the first Algonquin Orchestra, which boarded with the lady upstairs, seated at leisure in front of the store.
            A picture of wharves with schooners tied up, Fort Tipperary, and the modest looking original Algonquin, which we then thought such a fine building, and of groups of people about their modest homes or places of business, all proved of much interest to the many older folks who saw the album. Gladys Forster is now Mrs. Gladys Foster, is a grandmother and has a son-in-law with the Canadian Armed Forces overseas.


Rural Cemetery Burial
John Peacock, retired Golf Pro at Algonquin
Age 74
Lot 172A
May 22, 1943


St. Croix Courier
June 17/1943
Shiretown Items
The Red Cross Dance held at the Algonquin Casino was a great success both socially and financially.  [so Casino was opened for selected events between 1942 and 45].  After expenses amounting to over 40.00 were paid 180.00 was left which will prove a welcome addition to the Red Cross treasury, as the funds were getting low.  Music was provided by a five-piece orchestra from R. A. F. Pennfield and the Casino was also secured at a very reasonable cost.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 31/1944
Shiretown Items—Dickson-Kenwin
(“Glimpses of Life,” an entertainment at Casino sponsored by St. Andrews Women’s Canadian Club. Interesting performances by actor Dickson-Kenwin of London, England.)
“Glimpses of Life,” an entertainment sponsored by the St. Andrews Women’s Canadian Club and held at the Algonquin Casino, was well patronized and the proceeds are to be used for the benefit of the Charlotte county Children’s Aid Society. The program consisted of a selection of character studies by Dickson-Kenwin of London, England, who is completing a tour of Canada doing similar programs. This noted actor’s portrayal of such characters as Mathias, the fear-haunted burgomaster, Falstaff, Hamlet, and Cardinal Woolsey were as convincing examples of dramatic art as one might hope to see. To keep the audience in a receptive mood, and by way of displaying his versatility, the player interspersed a number of short humorous sketches. He also proved himself an adept at imitating various common sounds, such as planing and sawing wood—and the now almost forgotten one of drawing a cork. Without a doubt Dickson-Kenwin is an actor of the highest order and the Women of the Canadian Club are to be congratulated in bringing him here.


St. Croix Courier
September 7, 1944
Shiretown Items
House Warming
On election night, a dozen or more women, with oil lamps trimmed, were seen winding their way hillward in the direction of the Algonquin. Our first though was that, like Diogenes of old, they were in search of an honest man. But we noticed that most of them had arrived at the age where almost any man would do. Furher investigagtion and inquiries next day disclosed the fact that they were going to a “house warming,” the lamps were not for the purpose of heat, however, but for light. Heber Stuart had that day purchase the Ganone cottage and Mrs. Stuart had invited some of her friends in to look it over.  The power ws off, bu the kitchen ragne was in place and plent of wood in the basement. The chief entertainment  was the keeping of a close chick on th election return by telephone. When the report came in at ten o’clock that the Conservatives were leading in the county, the two lone adherents of that party among the guest agave a good imitation of the once popular snake dance, but when at 10:30 the Liberal candidates forged ahead the same two ladies wer almost moved to tear. At eleven o’clock refreshments which the guests had brought along were enoyed, and tea, served by the hostess, was suipped with suspicion after the first swallow. It transpired that lump sugr found in a side board drawer and served generously with tea turned out to be saltpetre or moth balls,according to some of the guests. All were agreed that the sbustance was not sugar. No fatalities resulted however and agood time was had b all. Mr. and Mrs. Stuart left for their home in Baltimore the next day but plan on a long stay in their newly acquired summer home when next season rolls around.


St. Croix Courier
May 10/1945
fShiretown Items—Attracting Tourists (Attracting tourists essential to town. Details on streets, bathing beach, etc. Algonquin food prices upscale.)
In the none too distant future we may reasonably expect a renewal of the tourist traffic into Canada and now is the time to consider how we may best provide for their comfort and pleasure so they may leave us with regrets and with a firm resolve to return many times over the years. The tourist trade means much to us here in St. Andrews. We should try in every way possible to add to the attractions so lavishly provided by nature that the same people will come again and again, as well as seeing that all their friends are informed of what we have to offer. As a town we have done much in this respect. We have a good system of sewers, a water supply which for quantity and quality cannot be surpassed, and where formerly visitors wallowed through mud in wet weather and choked with dust in dry, we have now a fine cement pavement entering the town and running the entire length of the main street. And had it not been for the intervention of the war a suitable bathing beach with convenient houses and other facilities would have ere this been in operation for transient visitors. As individuals we have tried as far as it is within our means to keep our places looking attractive to add to the general beauty of the town. But there is one phase of the situation in which we perhaps have not been doing our best. Every man is first of all looking after his own welfare and his own interests and should know best how to run his own business, and for that reason one always hesitates to criticize. Let is be understood therefore that what I am about to say is not a personal opinion formed from personal experience but rather the result of inquiries among visitors to St. Andrews during the past 25 or 30 years, and has no reference to the war years when conditions have been difficult for those directly concerned. Perhaps it should not be, but it nevertheless is a fact, that for about ninety-five percent of us one of the chief pleasures and comforts and joys of life is the food we eat. We go to a picnic or party and our most lasting memory is the delicious food we enjoyed. We take a trip to a neighboring town or city of the province, or farther afield, and a year afterward we can recall the food, good or bad, how it was cooked, how it was served, whether the table cloth was clean and whether the waitress was neat and tidy and courteous. My inquiries have been made among visitors eating at all of the various restaurants and all of the hotels, including the Algonquin. I have never heard a complaint about the cost of a meal, about the way it was served or the cleanness of the surroundings, but have listened to scores of diatribes on the quality and quantity of the food, and this goes for the Algonquin as well as for the less pretentious eating places. Some of those interrogated were non-committal, some expressed themselves as being satisfied, and some had the odd word of praise. When Mrs. Orr was pastry cook at “Pat’s” her coconut cream pie was famous and tourists frequently returned after the passage of a year to ask for it. Visitors have told me that “Bill’s” lobster salads were unsurpassed. Personally, I have had a turkey dinner at “Mel’s” which I would consider good enough to satisfy anybody. So there you have it, folks, all offered in the best interests of the town. When the usual variety of food is again procured and prices are no longer controlled, give the visitors plenty and of good quality at a price that warrants at fair profit and they’ll come back. And one last word—if possible specialize on some particular item, even if it be produced and served at no profit. Such will serve as advertising and keep them coming. Experience in charge of a restaurant or hotel might prove that his advice is all wrong but if there is any truth in this axiom of former days that “this customer is always right,” it is at least worth considering.


St. Croix Courier
Feb 21/1946
Shiretown Items—St. Andrews Exchange
(History of St. Andrews Telephone Exchange reproduced almost in full. Including 1900 Mallory-Algonquin line.)
In the January number of “Telephone News,” a magazine published for the employees of the N.B. Telephone Co., and a copy of which has been presented to me by our local manager, F. J. McCarlie, appears an interesting and well written story by C. A. Lee relating to the development of the telephone exchange in St. Andrews. Accompanying the article are good pictures of the Howard Rigby home, where the first exchange was installed in 1903, of the McDowell building to which it was removed in 1912, and of the modernly equipped brick and concrete building, erected and owned by the company, and completed in 1939. The introduction of the story consists of a sketch of the history of St. Andrews from 1604 up to the present time, with flattering reference to the many natural attractions of the town, and some interesting notes on some of our present-day inhabitants. The history of the exchange, which, I am sure, will be of interest to a much wider circle of readers than would be reached by the publication in which it appeared, is copied here almost in full.
            “In 1900 W. E. Mallory installed a private telephone line between his livery stable off Water Street and the Algonquin Hotel on Fort Hill. A little later Sir William Van Horne erected a private line between his residence on Minister’s Island and the CPR station. When a toll pole line was erected between Saint John and St. Stephen in 1901 a toll switch and station were placed in the residence of Howard Rigby on Water Street, St. Andrews. In conversation with the construction foreman, Sherman Hoyt, Mr. Mallory suggested the company established an exchange in St. Andrews. Mr. Hoyt told him if he could dig up thirty-give subscribers the company would put in an exchange. Mr. Mallory at once got busy and succeeded in getting thirty subscribers, which number the company accepted as a sufficient start, and at once installed a switchboard in the Rigby residence, with Margaret (Madge) Rigby, assisted by her sister Carrie, as the first chief operator. Descriptions of the various types of switchboards used are omitted here as being of little importance to the general reader. in 1911 Miss Ruth Greenlaw became chief operator with Miss Muriel Pendlebury (now Mrs. Stanley Deacon) added to the staff. In 1912 Miss Viola McDowell was employed as night operator and held this position until her retirement on July 31, 1943, a record of 31 years.
            “Late in 1912 the company purchased the McDowell building further west on Water Street, replacing the two position Bell Switchboard with a new Kellogg Switchboard with harmonic ringing. By means of selective ringing it was possible to install 4-party lines, the only subscriber’s bell to ring being that of the party called. There were 178 subscribers at the time. In 1914 a Private Branch Switchboard with 250 sub-stations and 5 trunks to the NB Tel. company’s switchboard was installed in the Algonquin Hotel. In 1930 a more up-to-date system was place in the main office which at that time was giving service to 385 subscribers.
            “In 1938 the company bought the Odell property on Water Street. This property had been the site of the Edwin Odell Dry Goods Store, one of the oldest and most outstanding business houses in St. Andrews prior to its destruction by fire in 1930. Here early in 1939 the company erected a modern brick building and installed a new Common Battery exchange. On Sept. 15, 1930, the old magneto system in the McDowell building was cut over to the Northern Electric Manual common battery in the new brick building, there being 388 subscribers at the time of the cut-over. The building and equipment are a credit both to the company and to the town of St. Andrews. Much credit is due to the McCarlie for the neat and beautiful appearance of the company’s building and grounds; during the summer months his window boxes and borders of flowers are the pride of Water Street.
            “Since 1903 the St. Andrews exchange has grown from a one position magneto switchboard with thirty subscribers to a three-position common battery multiple board with 450 subscribers and toll lines from a switch on a local iron circuit to six direct toll circuits.
            “Local managers stationed at St. Andrews from 1914 to 1933 were as follows: M. J. McCarroll, Skiff. McCarroll, Willard Lewis, Harry Leroy, Fred Kennedy, F. J. McCarlie, the latter still in charge.
            “Chief operators from 1911 to 1945 have been Ruth Greenlaw, Irene Rollins, Emma Stickney, Mina Pendlebury, Eileen Greenlaw. St. Andrews exchange has now a staff of six operators, Eileen Greenlaw, Norma Henderson, Donna McNichol, Irene McQuoid, Mina Pendlebury and Freda Leslie.”


St. Croix Courier
Oct 9/1947
Shiretown Items: Each year when the Algonquin and most of the cottages close, the bottom seems suddenly to fall out of everything, but this year it was more noticeable than ever. We had a very busy season and everybody was tired out and when the opportunity came to relax most of us went to bed for about three weeks. During the summer there would be hundreds of people and scores of cars on the street every morning but it is surprising how quickly they disappeared.


St. Croix Courier
May 6/1948
Shiretown Items: Golf: Kent Ross president golf club. Other officers listed. Membership of 50 men, 30 ladies and juniors. Lady members full voting members first time this year. Local ladies have increased interest in game over last few years. “The Algonquin Hotel Company who own and operate the fine golf links here primarily as an attraction for their guests have always given hearty support and encouragement to local players as well and afford the use of their excellent facilities with certain restrictions as to hours of play, at very reasonable rates.” Many began as caddies.


St. Croix Courier
Oct 28/1948
Shiretown Items—Mrs. Payne
The recent death here of Mrs. Payne has removed one of the oldest and best known of our Summer residents. She had been coming here for over 60 years. Her father, Mr. Gardner, was a member of the St. Andrews Land co., which really put St. Andrews on the map as a summer resort, building the Algonquin Hotel and laying out the park at Indian Point. Mrs. Payne had a keen interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of the town and made many friends among the natives. Although she had long since passed the allotted age her death was learned of with the deepest regret and we shall hold her memory dear forever.


St. Croix Courier
June 2/1949
Algonquin Opening
The Algonquin hotel is to open on June 7 with a convention of the Canadian Manufacturer’s Association. This will be the 78th annual convention of the Association and their present visit to St. Andrews will be their second one, the first having been in 1922. Plans for their entertainment include golf matches and boating trips. A large attendance is expected and among the delegates will be the leading industrialists of Canada. Special CPR trains will bring the delegates to St. Andrews.


St. Croix Courier
July 28/1949
Shiretown Items: Mrs. Blair Gordon of the Algonquin Golf Club has brought home the ladies Maritime Golf Championship. Cairine Wilson wins ladies NB-PEI tourney. Skinner holds pro and open.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 11/1949
Photo of Barbara Ann Scott at Katy’s Cove. Happy Holiday—Termed the “best holiday in years” Skater Barbara Ann Scott relaxes at beautiful Katy’s Cove in SA-by-the-Sea. Canada’s ice queen has now begun another heavy training program for her big show starting in September.
            Ad showing movies at Andraeleo Theatre; also ad for Marina Theatre. July 28/1949
Shiretown Items: “A Guardsman’s Duty”: background of Ian Macmillan p. 2 and 7. To benefit Marilyn Noell, seriously injured at Katy's Cove few weeks back.


Shiretown items
The operetta “A Guardsman’s Duty,” will be presented in the Andraeleo Hall on August 22 and 23rd. Written by Ian A. Macmillan, a summer employee of the Algonquin, the operetta will be a presentation by a cast chosen from staff at the hotel. The Algonquin Hotel Orchestra, under the leadership of Clarence Sawyer, will provide the music.
            Macmillan, who comes originally from Montreal, has been teaching music in the Sherbrooke area. He teaches wind instruments and plays 16 instruments, including the piano. He has been studying and playing for more than 15 years. He has already had several pieces of music published, and in the Fall he plans to attend the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston to continue his studies.
            “A Guardsman’s Duty” is laid in Hungary in the late 1790’s and the early 1800’s and the story is built around a troupe of honor guards and their ladies. Macmillan’s music is melodic and tuneful. Some of the choruses are written for 8-part harmony with solo leads, and the whole scene is in keeping with the romantic area of the story.
            The presentation will be under the patronage of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor and Mrs. D. L. McLaren, Sir Montague Allan and lady Allen, and other distinguished summer residents.
            The proceeds of the entertainment will be for the joint benefit of the District Nurse Fund and Miss Marilyn Noells, a university student and summer employee who was seriously injured at the Bathing Beach some weeks ago.
            A committee consisting of Miss Cairine Wilson and Mrs. William Breeze is assisting the District Nurse Committee in a local arrangements, while matter of production are in the hands of the Algonquin Hotel staff. Tickets are now on sale.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 18/1949
Shiretown Items
Man Behind the Show. Ian Macmillan’s “A Guardsman’s Duty” at Andraeleo Hall Aug 22 and 23.
            Following is the list, to date, of those who have graciously consented to act as patrons of the operetta “A Guardsman’s Duty,” to be presented in Andraeleo Hall on August 22 and 23, in aid of the district Nurse Fund and Miss Marilyn Noells: His Honour the Lieutenant governor and Mrs. McLaren; His Worship the mayor and Mrs. Hachey; Sir Montague and Lady Allan; Mrs. H. D. Burns; Sir James and Lady Dunn; Lady Davis; Edward McKay; Mrs. Frank Hall; Miss Olive Hosmer; Dr. Gavin and Mrs. Miller; Mr. Guy Murchie; Mr. and Mrs. Howard Pillow; Mr. Rene and the Hon. Mrs. Redmond; Miss Mona Prentice; The Hon. Marguerite Shaughnessy; Mr. and Mrs. Robert Struthers; Mr. and Mrs. Jules Timmons; Mrs. F. W. Thompson; Mr. and Mrs. Harry W. Thorp; Mrs. Norman and Senator Cairine Wilson.
            I had the privilege last Sunday evening of attending a rehearsal for the coming operetta “A Guardsman’s Duty,” and of meeting Ian Macmillan, the young composer and producer. What impressed me most was the beauty, brilliancy and high musical quality of the compositions. They appeared to me to be worthy of professional performers. The group of 60 amateur singers selected from the Algonquin hotel staff are doing a fine job, however, under the direction of Mr. Macmillan. It is surprising at first to see so young a director exercise such perfect control over the large chorus. The reason becomes plain, however, as the leader gradually, by some psychological means of transference of thought, makes you feel just what he feels and makes you strive to produce the exact effect which he wants. One of the must interesting features of the rehearsal was the recording of the rousing number which is to be used as the grand finale. Albert McQuoid did the recording and played it back so the singers might hear their own voices. By use of this record the director can point out any flaws and have them eliminated before the public performance. I didn’t see any of the dance numbers but have been told that they are excellent. The Algonquin orchestra is to provide the instrumental accompaniment for the operetta. The show is for a worthy cause, will be unique in many aspects and should draw a packed house on both nights--Aug 22 and 23.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 1/1949
Shiretown Items
A Great Show
It has been said that excessive indulgence in music, for those who are neither performers themselves nor musically gifted enough to take it in a purely intellectual way, has a relaxing effect upon one’s character. One becomes filled with emotions which are allowed to pass without prompting any deed, and so the inertly sentimental condition is kept bottled up. The remedy would be never to suffer one’s self to have an emotion at a concert without expressing it afterward, in some active way--if it be no more than speaking a kind word to one’s grandmother. If this suggestion is true and generally known to the people of St. Andrews it must have been a happy week for our grandmothers as the thousand or so persons who attended “A Guardsman’s Duty” on Monday and Tuesday evenings August 22 and 23 were stirred to the depths. Ian Macmillan, the young man who composed the operetta and who promoted and directed the show must have had the thrill of his life at the ovation he received. The tribute tendered him by the large attentive and enthusiastic audiences must have well repaid him for the long hours of toil he spent in preparation. The performance itself was excellent and was a credit to every individual who had a part in it. It would be impossible to mention any outstanding feature as it was all good, from the beginning straight through to the end. It was one of the best, perhaps the very best of amateur entertainments to be held in St. Andrews during the past 60 years. Rehearsed during off-hours by a hard working group of young people, all members of the staff at the Algonquin Hotel, it proves what can be accomplished by sufficient enthusiasm and with competent leadership. The costumes were attractive and the make-up had been applied by skilful hands. The spoken lines were well done, the acting was excellent, the dancing graceful and clever, the solos well rendered and the instrumental accompaniment by the Algonquin Orchestra, a delight to listen to. I am not stating that this was the best feature of the show but what impressed and thrilled me most was the scene at the by gypsy camp after capture by the Guardsman and the song which they sang. The beautiful background of fields and the woods, and campfires burning brightly, the group of handsome young men, bound in captivity and surrounded by a score or more of beautiful young women , and the haunting melody of the song which they sang, lamenting their captivity and telling of their former freedom, now ended forever, will linger in my memory as long as life shall last.


St. Croix Courier
Feb 9/1950
Shiretown items
Two Prominent Citizens
In the deaths of James McDowell and Hans Hansen, both of which occurred suddenly last week, the town of St. Andrews has lost two of its most highly regarded and valuable citizens. . . . Mr. Hansen was a native of Denmark. He came to Canada at the age of 16 and lived for  a time with his parents on a farm in Alberta. He afterward studied electrical engineering and joined the staff of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company in 1929. He caem to St. Andrews as chief engineer fo the Algonquin hotel in 1931. Of a quiet and unassuming disposition he did not make intimtae friends quickkly but me made them for life. He could speak several languages fluently and had an exceptionally brilliant mind. He kept well posted on currrent world events and could alk intelligently and interestingly on such difficult subjects as political economy, history, philosophy and science. Ot all who knew him well, expecially to the members of the staff at the Algonquin, he was a man of sterling character, outstanding ability, honest friendship and possessed of those qualities which make for the best in life.


St. Croix Courier
Feb 16/1950
A. P. MacKinnon new Manager of Algonquin. From Toronto. Succeeds Cashman, transferred. Announcement of the change was made Saturday by Roy A. Mackie, general manager of hotels for CP. Born in Paisley, ON, Mr. MacKinnon joined the CPR in Toronto in 1922 and since 1936 has been assistant manager of the Royal York Hotel. Prior to entering the hotel dept in 1934, he spent 12 years in the railway’s operating department and was secretary to the vice-president of eastern lines at Montreal in 1930. Mr. MacKinnon received an OBE for his services as assistant quarter master (catering) for the Canadian Army from 1944 to 1946. His active service with the RCASC began in 1942 and he was discharged with the rank of lieutenant colonel. Before being discharged he prepared the army’s manual on catering and messing for post-war use and a cook’s manual with over 300 proven recipes and directions for handling, storing, preparing and serving of food.


St. Croix Courier
Feb 28/1950
Hazen McGee, who started as a fireman at Algonquin 26 years ago elevated from assistant chief engineer to chief engineer. Wes Matthews assistant to chief.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 17/1950
Algonquin theatre Group under Ian Macmillan, to stage another fund-raising operetta at Andraeleo Hall--titled “The princess and the Woodcutter.”
The Algonquin Hotel Theatre Group will give their second annual performance, “The Princess and the Woodcutter” in Andraeleo Hall Aug 21 and 22. Proceeds this year will be given to the Memorial Hall Building Fund of Passamaquoddy branch of the Canadian Legion. The versatile young composer, Ian Macmillan, 22, of Montreal, has again written the score, designed the costumes and stage setting, and is acting as director. The operetta is a fantasy with entre-act ballet and the ballet is done to unaccompanied choral music, both features being presented probably for the first time in an operetta. Macmillan, who attends Mount Allison University, has been working on this for four years and concentrating for the past seven months to complete it in time for summer production. The setting of the two-act operetta is “once-upon-a-time,” one scene in the forest and the other in a throne room. “The Princess and the Woodcutter” is being produced with only five weeks rehearsal the same as last year’s operetta, “The Guardsman’s Duty.’ Kenneth Jennings, Bathurst, who will continue medical studies at McGill University in the fall, tenor, will play the leading role with Betsy Kennedy, Toronto soprano, as the “Princess.” Andre Menard of Montreal, who has been studying ballet in Paris, France, will appear again this year as the leading ballet artist in the unaccompanied choral ballet. The chorus of 55 voices, the finest with which the young composer has worked so far, will wear elaborate costumes designed by him during the winter and made by members of the theatre group. The scenery and stage setting will be done by Gordon O’Rourke of Toronto, who will carry out Macmillan’s ideas enhancing them with his personal knowledge. Music will be by the six-piece Algonquin Casino orchestra under the direction of Clarence Sawyer with J. Patch, D. Featherstone, B. Jennings, F. Carver, and J. Petrinka, who appear during the winter season at the St. Regis Hotel, Toronto. A. P. McKinnon manager of the Algonquin, and J. Ross Parke, assistant manager, have given valuable service and cooperation in the undertaking which is now looking forward to as one of the annual events of the summer season.


St. Croix Courier
May 31/1951
News Notes: No Sunday Train.
For many years St. Andrews has been probably one of the few, if not the only town off the main railroad line, which has enjoyed the privilege of a Sunday train. This service was inaugurated originally for the convenience of summer residents and guests of the Algonquin Hotel. Due to plane travel and the fact that most people from Montreal would rather have their own cars or taxis meet them at McAdam, the Sunday train seems to have outlived its usefulness. Many of us remember when we had two passenger trains a day. The automobile and the busses came on the scene and two trains became unprofitable. One was taken off the schedule, probably never to return, and now we are to lose the Sunday train. It may too become only a memory unless pressure from the right quarter is brought to bear on the powers that be.


St. Croix Courier
June 7/1951
Famous St. Andrews hotel Improved. Algonquin will welcome over 1,700 delegates to June conventions. (Update on renovations. E. C. Fitt behind changes.)
            “Convention City” is a name that could be given to the swank Algonquin Hotel at St. Andrews through June this year, when more than 1,700 convention delegates will have passed through the doors of this famous ocean resort hotel.
            A special CPR train from Montreal will bring about 350 delegates to the annual meeting of the Canadian Electrical Association from June 17 to 21. Other conventions at the Algonquin Hotel include Maritime Hospital Association, June 4-9; Dominion brewers Association, June 10-14; NB Automobile Dealers, June 14-17; Nb Barristers’ Society, June 21-23; Toilet Goods Manufacturers Association of Canada, June 27-29; Maritime Retail Lumber Dealers, Sept 1-2; Nb Medical Society, Sept 5-8.
            Many changes at the hotel are in store for these Canadian business people and the thousands of summer tourists who make the Canadian Pacific’s Algonquin the social centre of St. Andrews summer activity.
            Biggest change is the $75,000 outlay to give improved water service to the hotel and to St. Andrews. At present, CPR engineers are supervising he laying of more than 8,500 feet of the latest in pipe from Chamcook Lake to the pumping station, replacing the cast iron pipe which has been carrying the water for some years.
            Ten bathrooms in pastel colors have been added to hotel rooms with the tiling supplied by a Saint John firm. A completely new refrigeration system for kitchen and room service ahs been installed, replacing the old brine method.
            E. C. Fitt, the Algonquin’s new manager, who is responsible for most of these changes, take particular pride in the construction of a new tea house on the beach at the Hotel’s Katy’s Cove. Here guests and visitors may relax over afternoon tea, and enjoy the activity on the beach through wide picture windows.
            The tea house is so constructed that children using the beach may enjoy the comforts of a snack bar without passing through the main foyer of the fashionable tea-house. Mr. Fitt has also had additional tops of sand deposited to improve the beach sea wall.
            Back in the hotel, all suites have been repainted in pastel shades as well as many bedrooms. The outside of the 230-room hotel has been re-painted and the gravel driveway leading to it has been repaved. The famous casino, playhouse for its guests, has been renovated and old guests will see a decided improvement. Most important, Tony Didier, the famous chef with a flair for sea-food dishes, is back to head up a crack kitchen staff. Mr. Fitt, a westerner, who has already taken St. Andrews to his heart for its scenery and possibilities, thinks other New Brunswickers should treat themselves to an outing there, even if it’s only for Sunday dinner. He’s confident they will come back for another helping of Algonquin atmosphere.


St. Croix Courier
July 5/1951
Algonquin Hotel Offers Wide Range of Summer Entertainment. (Photos of Hotel, Katy’s Cove, diningroom. Column. 230 rooms, American plan. See continuation page 14. No. 2. Good update on amenities. Sounds like a Fitt ad)
            A hotel with its own sand beach on a captive ocean arm, its separate entertainment casino for dancing and sports and its own organization for deep sea and fresh water fishing—is the Algonquin, a charming half-timbered hostelry in the international resort town of St. Andrews. Just over the border of Maine in Canada’s seaside province of NB, it is only overnight from the two big cites of Boston and Montreal. It is located on Passamaquoddy Bay, where Campobello Island attracted the late President Franklin Roosevelt and his family for many years. A property of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company, it is one of the company’s chain of 14 major hotels and five bungalow camps across the country.
            This 230 room house, one of the most pleasant resort hostelries on the continent, is run exclusively on the American plan. Here folks with young children can count on a carefree holiday. Competent, trained personnel will care for them in a specially built playground from 10 to 5 and attractive inside quarters are set aside in case it rains. The children have their own dining room.
            Features at the Algonquin are four red clay tennis courts, the usual minor sports on the hotel’s lawns and two golf courses—an 18-hole championship layout by Stanley Thompson, widely known Scottish Canadian golf architect (who was he?), and another nine-hole practice course.
            Music everywhere might be the byword at the Algonquin, for the hotel caters to the family trade and there are concerts every noon and evening in the colonial-style music room and an orchestra plays for dancing every evening in the casino. The orchestra also plays for several hours a day on the Algonquin’s private umbrella-studded beach and swimmers can perform to music while the sunners just let it lull them.
            Devoted exclusively to the pleasure of the Algonquin guests is Katy’s Cove, an arm of Passamaquoddy Bay, itself a part of the Bay of Fundy. Here a considerable reach of the bay has been dammed at the opening by a causeway—the railway trestle—where trains which look toys in the distance amuse observant guests. A sluice gate has been built into the causeway and the tide is allowed to bring in fresh water from the open bay as desired, but it allows the water to remain at beach level and sun-warmed, without regard to semi-daily ebb and flow.
            The beach is a few minutes walk through pine woods or by road and has been maintained by yearly deposit of freight car-load after freight car-load of sand on an otherwise rocky shore; another advantage of being “railway-owned.” there are ample dressing rooms, attendants and a tea-room, not to speak of the orchestra, and guests may spend the whole day on the beach if they wish. Diving-rafts and floats and other beach-gear are on hand. There is also sailing in protected coves and the open bay.
            Set across the hotel lawns from the main building is the Casino, near enough to be handy, and far enough away so that, as is unfortunately not the case at all summer resorts—those who want to sleep can do so. Bowlers can enjoy their favourite sport on four alleys; there are billiards and pin-pong and other games, all in the basement, and a fine hardwood floor for dancing. There are gala nights from time to time, and “horse racing” regularly before the dancing, as well as movies.
            The hotel provides high-class metropolitan service, with a friendly atmosphere abetted by the number of college students who work as waitresses and bell-boys and in other such jobs; and the comfortable colonial-style fireplaces, nooks and furnishings.
            While it is a center of an exclusive summer colony, the Algonquin is also equipped to offer perhaps the greatest variety of fishing in one immediate area anywhere in the world. A half-hour from the hotel, deep-sea fishing parties can drop a line into Passamaquoddy Bay and bring in haddock, cod and pollock and the silvery smelt. In the near-by hinterland of NB, the least settled of Canada’s ten provinces, lakes, streams, and pools within a radius of a few minutes to an hour’s drive offer everything from land-locked salmon to specked trout. One of the charming nearby spots is Chamcook lake whose mirror-like waters yield togue and lake trout to the fisherman using troll or fly, and other waters offer small-mouth and black bass, sea salmon and rainbow trout.
            For the convenience of its own guests, the Algonquin has placed row-boats at many lakes in the surrounding country-side and will also provide an 18-foot sponson canoe, with trailer. The hotel is in a position to provide full information regarding guide service, fishing conditions or rental of equipment.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 27/1951
CPR wins appeal on damage suit in Algonquin Pool. The NB Appeal Court upheld claim of Ann Noell of Ottawa for damages suffered in June, 1949, when she dived into a pool and broke her neck. CP appealed successfully against the NB Workmen’s Compensation Board refusal to pay damages in suit against CPR and Algonquin for $200,000. Noel allotted $3,000 from Compensation Board. Board originally refused on grounds that Noell not performing regular duties when injured. CPR case argued by C. F. Inches, Saint John. Board’s case by R. Fraser Winslow, KC, Fredericton. Noell by W. E. Clark, Saint John.


St. Croix Courier
April 17/1952
News Notes: Earliest Opening on Record. The Algonquin Hotel will open its doors to the public on May 31 this season. This date, as far as we can learn, is the earliest in history for the swanky hostelry to be underway. From opening day till the end of June, practically every minute of the time will be taken up with conventions, both large and small. After the usual rush of July and August, conventions are again in the order of the day and the doors will finally close on Sept 17, which will make the season a real long one.


St. Croix Courier
May 22/1952
Photo of Heads of Staff at Algonquin. 240 staff. Heavy bookings this year. Miss B. M. Peppers, head housekeeper; J. Horsfall, Assistant Manager; E. C. Fitt, Manager; J. B. Campbell, Accountant; Back row: F. R. Fields, Chief Steward; L. E. Rowland, Chief Clerk; M. C. McGee, Chief Engineer; A. “Tony” Didier, Chef; A. D. Skinner, Golf Pro.


St. Croix Courier
May 29/1952
Eight conventions booked for June. Algonquin improved in readiness for Season.
            Preparations to handle one of the biggest seasons in history are almost completed at the Canadian Pacific summer resort hotel, The Algonquin, at St. Andrews by-the-Sea. Under the deft management of E. C. “Pat” Fitt, a complete “face-lifting” job on many parts of the hotel has been under way for the past two months.
            Old friends and regular guests of the hotel will notice a marked change in the lounge and other public rooms as well as in many of the guest rooms and the Casino. It is a change which has smartened up the appearance of the rooms and at the same time has retained the same intangible charm of the Algonquin which has made it, for years, an internationally renowned resort.
            In the main lounge the walls have been painted two attractive shades of green while the overhead lighting has given way to 31 standard and table lamps. The smaller rooms of the lounge, the library and the music room have been done over in blending shades of gray and yellow. The gray tone has been carried through to the main foyer and into the elevator ante-room.
            A new and larger switchboard has been installed to serve a complete new phone system throughout the hotel. Bedside monophones now replace the old wall phones in each room. The hotel’s plumbing, too, underwent considerable change. Copper piping has replaced all the old lead piping. Ten more private bathrooms have been modernized with recessed bathtubs and showers and matching fixtures. The walls have been refinished with tile in an attractive shade of yellow.
            The exterior of the hotel has not been overlooked. The floor of the spacious verandah, which extends across the front of the building and along one side, has been torn up and replaced with terra cotta red concrete. Brilliant hues of reds, greens and blues will contrast with the velvety green rolling lawns in front of the hotel, for all the outdoor furniture has undergone a drastic and pleasing color change. Transformed from its former uniform while it now adds a splash of gay summertime color to the overall scene.
            The ever popular Casino has been completely redecorated inside and one of the rooms downstairs has been transformed into a “rainy day” playroom for children. It has a complete assortment of play equipment to delight any wee tot’s heart.
            Katy’s Cove also came in for modifications. The lawn in front of the bathing houses and the new tea house now slopes in a gentle turf terrace right down to the sand beach. A new entrance, arched with an attractive sign, has been added and the former driveway and parking area has been converted into additional lawn area and now lends itself admirably as an ideal spot for afternoon tea outside.
            Manger Fitt said that advance bookings indicate a heavy season coming up. For the month of June the following conventions have been booked at the hotel. National Association of Master Plumbers and Heating Contractors, May 31 to June 4, attendance 300; Maritime Hospital Association, June 4 to 8, 250; Investment Dealers Assoc. of Canada, June 10 to 13, 300; Canadian Jewellers Association, June 15 to 18; Newcomen Society of England, June 20, attendance 90; Manufacturers Life Insurance Company, June 23-27; Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, June 28 to July 11; Barristers Society of NB, June 28 to June 30, 150.


St. Croix Courier
June 12/1952
News Notes: In Full Swing
The two largest conventions during the early part of the season at the Algonquin have come and gone. The National Heating and Plumbing Contractors and the Maritime Hospital Association groups had upwards of 350 members each in attendance. The latter organization has chosen St. Andrews five times in the past 6 years as the Algonquin is the only maritime hotel able to accommodate such a large group at this time of the year. Display booths in the exhibition section totalled over 100 units this year.


St. Croix Courier
June 19/1952
New Phone System for Algonquin.
The Algonquin Hotel at St. Andrews opens the season this year with a new telephone system complete in all the details, including a two-position switchboard, power plant and 370 uniphones located at bedside positions. (work done by NB Tel over winter)
            SA School Board Discusses Buying Gym.


St. Croix Courier
July 17/1952
Algonquin Staff name officers of Recreation Club.
Charles Davy, Toronto, was elected president of the Algonquin Hotel Staff recreation Club at the annual meeting. Mr. Davy is chief kitchen steward at the hotel. Other officers of the 230 member association are Al O’Hara, vice-president (manager of Canadian Pacific’s communication department at the hotel); and Miss Diane Hickman, secretary-treasurer.
            Committees named were: Sports: John Russell and Miss Daphne Walker. Entertainment: Victor Burt and Miss Christine Brown. A program of golf tournaments and tennis matches was mapped out and opened Wednesday evening with a staff beach party. Present at the annual meeting were E. C. Fitt, Manager; Barker Campbell, chief accountant; and Fred Fields, chief purchasing steward.


St. Croix Courier
Jan 22/1953
Ottawa Girl wins Long Suit for Pool Injury
Marilyn Noell injured in June 23, 1949. Dove off float into 3 feet of water; sluice gates had been opened. Was employed as waitress at Algonquin. Has obtained BA from Queen’s extramurally, studying between operations. At present taking course in social work at U of T; only wheelchair student in residence. Awarded in excess of $9,000 plus $300 per month for life out of court and payment of all legal and medical expenses. Settlement described as “one of the highest settlements for personal damages that has ever been made in Ontario.” 22 years old (b. 1931) Suit of $170,000 against CPR.


St. Croix Courier
April 2/1953
New Manager for Algonquin Hotel. E. C. Fitt transferred to lake Louise. D. A. Williams, asst. manager at Empress since 1941, will as of April 1 manage Algonquin. Fitt joined Hotel department in 1927 in Montreal. Assistant manager at Louise from 1946. Prior to Algonquin was acting manager at Hotel Saskatchewan and Royal Alexandra in Winnipeg. Moved to Empress in 1941. Photos.


St. Croix Courier
June 10/1954
Behind the Scenes at the Algonquin
Heads of Staff Photo. A. Didier, Chef; N. E. Kennedy, Asst. Mgr.; D. A. Williams, Mgr.; Miss Peppers, Housekeeper; Charles Dario, Maitre d’; Back row: F. R. Fields, Steward; H. McGee, Engineer; P. E. Monaghan, Acct.; R. K. Greenlaw, Head Clerk; E. O’ Brien, Head Bellman. Missing J. R. Skinner, Golf Club Superintendent; Archie Skinner, Golf Pro. Presently entertaining Maritime Hospital Assoc. Opened June 7.


St. Croix Courier
Aug 26/1954
Father and Son Combination. (Photos and biographies of Archie and James Skinner. CPR photo.)
            Any true golfer feels he has a personal tie with the birthplace of the popular game, the Royal and “Ancient St. Andrews course in Scotland, but with the Skinners of the Algonquin Club at SA, the link is especially strong. James R. Skinner, right, father of the Algonquin pro, Archie, left, is greens keeper at this new world St. Andrews. The elder Mr. Skinner, who has been playing golf for more than half a century, learned the greens keeping trade at the original St. Andrews in his native Scotland, and now practises it by keeping the 27 holes at the Algonquin course manicured to perfection. He has been at the new St. Andrews course since 1920 and before that worked at other Scottish and Canadian courses. Son Archie, perennial NB champion, and recognized as one of the best teachers in the business, started at the St. Andrews course 25 years ago as an assistant pro. In 1937, after four years as pro at the Digby Pines course in Nova Scotia, he was appointed to the Algonquin job. Father and son are still working together, and whenever they can find some leisure time, they play together.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 3/1959
As Departure Arrives, Jestful Fun is Paramount. By Ted Guidry. Photo: “Rollicking fun was the order of the evening last month as college and university students working at Algonquin Hotel in St. Andrews pooled their ingenuity in the production of a variety show entitled ‘Pardon Me But.’ Shown above is a scene taken from the approximately two hour fanciful production which was replete with song, dance and pantomime with a few recitations thrown in for good measure. A jam-packed house at Algonquin Hotel Casino responded favorably with appreciative laughing and applause. Guests of the hotel, area residents and special guest along with other hotel personnel termed the show a ‘resounding success.’ The production marked the leave-taking of the students and summer workers for their studies and other duties.”


Typical freshman fun and frolic intermingled with large doses of undergraduate and post-graduate college and university humor were brought to Algonquin Hotel guests and personnel last month on stage in Algonquin Hotel Casino. Summer employees at the hotel, comprised for the most part of college and university students, presented a variety show entitled ‘Pardon Me But.’ Master of Ceremonies was Al Casey of St. Stephen.
            The audience was treated to 18 skits, dances and songs ranging from a take-off on the song “Folks are Dumb” sung by Lucy Nyenhales of Montreal to a skit titled “Busboys” presented by Alan Cummings of Antigonish, Raymond Thibodeau of Church Point and Billy Gillis of Souris, PEI.
            Joshing carefree fun was poked at guests, hotel managerial staff and employees by way of quips and lyrics sung to the melodies of well-known songs. A highlight in the presentation and the highest level of humor in the production was the poking of fun by the participants at themselves, their life and work during the summer at the hotel.
            Dramatic talent and originality seeped through the frivolous margin of the stage numbers in many cases. Peter Empsel of Montreal in a musical number brought laughs and Jane Alexander of Toronto, narrator, and a cast of males dressed in exaggerated lines of women’s clothing constituted a so-called “fashion show” which brought the house down. [see Paul smith]
            Movie cameras and other cameras flashed and whined away as amateur actors and actresses went through their paces.
            A chambermaids portrayal, lobsterettes kick line, waitress chorus and a Dearie number gave vent to appreciation of collegiate female pulchritude as fair damsels twirled and whirled to the strains of musical records. Carol Ann Hogan of Charlottetown, PEI, and Margaret Ann Begley of Winnipeg united in the presentation of the “Dearie” number.
            In the more serious vein Josephine Partington of Halifax treated the receptive audience to a well-executed highland fling.
            Refreshing college humor, with Jestful fun being poked at tourists, centered a skit on county life versus life in SA, a “wolf act”—a take-off of Little Red Riding Hood, and Casino Pete, a magic and slight of hand show starring Peter Empsel of Montreal, rounded out the evening’s entertainment.
            The informal element was brought to the fore when a number of individuals in the audience were introduced.
            Spoofing at hotel life in general was the order of the day but was never lowered to idiotic buffoonery. Joy Cowan and Darley Bradshaw, both of Montreal, combined their talents in a blues production and Julie McLaughlin of St. Stephen and Judy Mist of Toronto presented a highlight Julie and Judy number.
            Alan Cummings of Antigonish did a takeoff on Mary Had a Little Lamb and brought the house down for the second time.
            Joe College was typified throughout the presentation. Joe Lambert of Montreal, Dawn Shaw of Saint John , Sandy Manning of Halifax and Beverly Dinsmore of St. George ticked the humorous note of the audience in numbers such as “How to Loose a Man,” “South Pacific Setting Trio,” and “Honey Bun.” Joe Lamant of Montreal provided straight joke-telling entertainment in “Joe Story Teller.’
            Directors were Helen Cameron of Montreal and Miss Begley. Set designer was Shan Williams of Halifax and costumes were designed by Jane Alexander of Toronto. Miss Begley was choreographer.
            The cast bid-a-fond-farewell to guests and staff of Algonquin hotel for another summer. it seems proper the production should be interwoven with light humor and jest. for now they must return to their studies, to more serious things, to their life’s work.