Old St. Andrews



The Algonquin to 1900



St. Andrew Bay Pilot
Dec 6, 1888
“Thursday last Mr. D. McNichol, general passenger agent, and Mr. C. E. McPherson, Boston passenger agent of the Canada Pacific Railway arrived in town by train. They were met at the station by Mr. L. M. S. Horton, Manager of the St. Andrews Land Co., who invited them to be seated in a carriage in waiting, and drove them to the different points of interest in, and in the immediate vicinity of the town, including the site for the Algonquin hotel. The gentlemen expressed themselves as well pleased with all they saw, and of the facilities St. Andrews appeared to be possessed of, not only as a summer resort, but for that of a deep-sea terminus as well. The objective point of their visit was to see what arrangements can be made as to the running of trains next summer to and from St. Andrews in connection with the C. P. R. It is proposed to afford all possible facilities for the residents of Montreal and other Canadian cities to reach SA, to place it on as favorable footing in reference to rates, car accommodation and speed, as other points. The run from Montreal to St. Andrews will be made in less than twelve hours, the fare the same as to Orchard Beach or adjacent points thereto in Maine. The gentlemen were hospitably entertained at Kennedy’s hotel. They left town by special train at 8:00 p. m. en route for Saint John. “St. Andrews is all right.”


Dec 6/1888
Corner stone of Algonquin laid. Copy of St. Telegraph containing description of construction of bldg placed in cavity along w Bay Pilot. See photocopy and below.


Laying the Corner Stone
Monday last the 3rd inst., the foundation stone of the ‘Algonquin’ hotel was laid by Miss Carrie B. Horton, the accomplished daughter of Mr. L. M. S. Horton, Manager of the St. Andrews Land Co., in presence of a number of gentlemen of SA, interested in the work. In the cavity prepared for the purpose, was deposited coin of the Dominion and of the United States; a copy of the St. John Telegraph containing a description of the building in the process of erection. We purpose at an early day to publish an engraving of the hotel as it will appear when completed together with a full description thereof and its surroundings.


Dec 13/1888
Work on the A hotel is being vigorously pushed under the superintendence of Mr. Robert Stevenson, master carpenter. . . . Upwards of forty men are employed.


Jan 3/1889
First picture of Algonquin. See photocopy. Desc. of hotel amenities.
See photocopy and below.


“We present to the subscribers and readers of the Bay Pilot, on this our 1st issue of the year 1889, an engraving of the Algonquin Hotel, now in process of construction in this town, which will be admitted by all to be a sightly structure. The name Algonquin is taken from that of the tribe of American Indians, who in the days of Columbus, and for hundreds of years before his time, were the owners of the land and roamed through the forest primeval in quest of game, and caught in the ever beautiful Passamaquoddy bay fish, with which then as now its waters abounded.
            The Algonquin was designed by Reed [sic] and Taylor, Architects, of Boston, Mass., U. S., upon the most approved methods of construction; it will be replete with every convenience and luxury now demanded by the summer tourists. It is located on the highest point in the town plot, at the north west end of the ridge on the western slope of which the town is built, and in the immediate vicinity of Fort Tipperary, and is one hundred and fifty feet above high water. From its piazzas’, three hundred and forty feet long by fourteen wide, and its windows, is had a magnificent view of Chamcook Mountain, St. Croix river, Passamaquoddy bay, the Bay of Fundy, and the group of islands known as the West Isles, which divide the waters of the two bays, outside of looms up Grand Manan [sic] and the Wolves. Immediately in the foreground nestles the dear old town of St. Andrews, embowered in leaf and flower, while the view from the windows and piazzas is surpassingly fine, that from the tower will be grand, embracing an area of at least 20 miles on every hand by land, and seaward bounded only by the horizon.
            The drainage from the Algonquin will be by carefully constructed sewers with a descent of 7 ½ percent directly into the sea 2000 feet distant.
            The house will be provided with an elevator, salt and fresh water baths, a laundry and other modern requisites, together with a spacious dining room, parlors, reception, waiting and billiard rooms, etc.
            The Algonquin is intended to be a hotel of the very highest class, basing its claims upon its equipment and management. Mr. F. A. Jones, the well-known and popular proprietor of the Hotel Dufferin, in St. John, will have the management of the Algonquin, he being the lessee. This in itself is a guarantee of success, for every one who knows Mr. Jones knows that he is well qualified for the position.”
            The capital stock is $50,000, in five hundred shares of $100 each. Already $80,000 has been subscribed by the people of New Brunswick, Maine and Massachusetts. Messrs. W. A. Murchie, of Calais, Robert S. Gardiner, of Newton, Mass., and Eugene F. Fay, of Brookline, Mass., are named as provisional directors. The incorporators are: William D. Forster, William E. Mallory, George D. Grimmer, Leonard B. Knight, Herbert Street, M. N. Cockburn, J Russell Bradford, James Scallan, G. Herbert Lamb, James Cummings, F. Howard Grimmer, J. D. Grimmer, Michael McMonagle, St Andrews.
            William A. Murchie, Albert H. Sawyer, E. B. Todd, Calais. Eugene F. Fay, Roscoe A. Cobb, Daniel B. Claflin, J. Emory Hoar, Brookline, Mass. Robert S. Gardiner, DWS Bell, Newton, Mass. Abraham Avery, George L. Connor, Boston, Mass. Charles F. Lord, C. F. Bragg, Bangor, Maine. J. B. Coyle, F. E. Boothby, Portland, Maine. F. B. Noyes, Stonington, Con.,
            G. B. Dunn, H. T. Frisbie, Walter Mansure, Aubrey M. Smith, Charles P. Allen, James Phair, Houlton and Presque Isle, Maine.
            Fred A. Jones, Jas Manchester, Morris Robinson, T. Barclay R Robinson, James Robertson, William Greig, John Kerr, E. Fisher, J. C. Robertson, J. F. Dookrill, W. H. Thorne, J. R. Stone, J. S. Harding, Thomas McAvity, George Robertson, William Wheeler, George, W. Ketchum, Robert, T. Clinch, J. D. Shafford, Louis Green, Charles Campbell, Thomas Clarke, St. John. M. J. Hogan, Fred P. Thomson, A. F. Randolph, Thomas Temple, W. T. Whitehead, John A. Edwards, Fredericton. Frederick M. Murchie, John, D. Bonners, W. C. H. Grimmer, Charles H. Clarke, John D. Chipman, Julius T. Whitlock, Henry E. Hill, Frank Todd, Henry F. Todd, Wm. F. Todd, St. Stephen.
            Jabez B. Snowball, Chatham, NB. A. Markham, Markhamville. Fred. H. Hals, Woodstock. William Douglas, Moore’s Mills. George T. Baskin, McAdam.


Jan 10/1889
Work on the A is going with a rush. Should the weather prove favourable the roof will be covered this week. The rooms are all studded and in a few days will be lathed ready for plastering.


Windows and door frames at Algonquin being put in. Also wires for electric bells.


Feb 23/1889
From Boston Post:
The syndicate of wealthy capitalists, numbering several well-known Bostonians, who have undertaken the development of SA, NB, the pretty little seaport of Passamaquoddy Bay, as a summer resort, have already spent $100,000 in beautifying and improving the place. They have erected a superb hotel, the Algonquin, containing eighty-seven rooms, with every modern convenience, at a cost of $60,000, and placed it in charge of Fred. A. Jones of the Dufferin Hotel, St. John, N. B., a widely known host. A public park has also been laid out at a cost of $15,000, and numerous cottages erected. [not true] The scheme comprehends the laying of water pipes and electric lights in the near future. Climate and scenery being all that could be desired, distance from, the New England capital seemed the only possible obstacle to overcome. This has been met as far as practicable by the Boston and Maine, Maine Central and New Brunswick railroads undertaking to run through trains in twelve hours from Boston to SA, at very low rates, on and after the 1st day of June next. The fine boats on the I. S. S. Co., also offer a pleasant and cheap means of access to this Mecca of summer tourists. Of course under the forcing power of all this Yankee activity and capital, town lots in the little Shiretown are ‘booming.’ Eligible building sites are at 300 percent premium over last spring. The inhabitants of the provinces are also rapidly awakening to the possibility of development enjoyed by St. Andrews when it becomes one of the termini of the C. P. R., as it will in June next. The new line from Mattawamkeag Junction to Sherbrooke P. Q., through northern Maine, will be by that time open for traffic, with a schedule of fourteen hours from Montreal to Passamaquoddy Bay. The knowledge of this may have induced Sir Donald Smith, vice-president C. P. R. and Sir Leonard Tilley, governor of NB, to invest, as they have, in building lots. This line, as now constructed, is practically the old route as projected before the construction of the Intercolonial railroad, but decided against by the British government for military reasons. The traffic of the C. C. R. is sure to suffer heavily by the completion of the new line. A steam yacht is being built to enable visitors to explore the islands of the bay in comfort. There will also be excellent facilities for dancing, lawn tennis and fishing, both for trout and land-locked salmon.”


March 21/1889
Pilot Valedictory.
The Algonquin hotel, the engraving of which we republish by request, is fast approaching completion. It is safe to say that no enterprise in this town has ever been so energetically prosecuted as that of the erection of this large and sightly structure, excepting we might say that of the erection of Kennedy’s hotel. The outlook from the A is of the most charming description, presenting a panoramic view of beauty by flood and field, seldom equalled and less frequently excelled. From the eyrie on the tower which is at an elevation of 105 feet from the ground, and 255 feet above high water mark, one sees the town of Sa, lying in all its beauty, the eye takes in the public buildings, churches court house, marine hospital, etc., together with the leaf embowered cottages, dotted here and there within its limits, while immediately adjoining lies . . .”


[April 8/1889--Eugene Fay to B. R. Stevenson MS3-Z-199: “I enclose to you deed of Robert S. Gardiner to St. Andrews Land Co., of the Hotel lot. As I understand the matter, you have examined the title, and made it satisfactory to Mr. Gardiner. If so, it will be only necessary I suppose, for you to place this deed upon record without any further expense.  Mr. Gardiner hands us deed David Green to Thomas Hipwell, and Thomas Hipwell to Robert S. Gardiner. Also William H. Herbert to Robert S. Gardiner. Also a discharge mortgage, John Erskine to Robert Ker. Also a deed, Mathilda Street to Robert Ker. These are all the papers in connection with the matter that Mr. Gardiner has, and I presume you have others that you will think desirable to send me in order to make the old deed complete.”]


May 9/1889
First Algonquin ad, first issue.
This new and magnificent summer resort Hotel will be open for the season of 1889, July 1st.
Electric bells, Passenger Elevator, Lighted by Gas, Telegraph Office, Steam Laundry,
Everything new and first-class
No ref to hay fever nor any in Kennedy ad.


Excursion to SA
One of Raymond's Celebrated Vacation Parties Coming to the Town
One of Raymond's vacation excursion parties it to make a grand tour of nineteen days through the Maritime Provinces this summer, including a comprehensive round of travel through New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Cape Breton Island, with visits to SA, Fredericton, St. John, the Annapolis valley, and other interesting points in NB and NS. The party will leave Boston Friday, July 12, and will return Tuesday July 30. The journey to and from the Provinces will be made in Pullman palace cars.
            It is only natural that on entering upon Canadian territory, the first place the excursionists would visit would be the 'summer port' of Canada--SA. As some of our readers may be interested in knowing what they have to say about St. Andrews and the attractions it has to offer, we make the following extract from the elegant and comprehensive programme which the promoters of the excursion have sent out:
"Six miles east of Vanceboro, at McAdam Junction, are the shops of the New Brunswick Railway. The tasteful office and residence of Mechanical Superintendent Haggerty are just above the station, and the grounds are laid out in semblance of the deck and prow of a steamship. Two handsome natives of the forest, in the form of a pair of deer, are encaged near Mr. Haggerty's office. At McAdam we turn southward on a branch line of railway in order to visit St. Andrews, NB, forty-two and a half miles from that point. The road thither is through a wooded and sparsely settled region, but before St. Andrews is reached the scenery assumes a very picturesque character. Several forest-bordered lakes are seen, the largest of which is Chamcook.  Upon the opposite side of the lake rises Chamcook Mountain, a graceful wooded elevation nearly 600 feet high, which forms a prominent feature in the landward outlook from Sa, being only five or six miles distant. St. Andrews is found to occupy a narrow point of land which juts out into fair Passamaquoddy Bay. On one side flows the St. Croix River, here two miles wide, with the Maine shore on its farther side; while in front are several large islands. Navy and Minister's Islands are near the shores of SA, the former on the west side and the latter on the east side of the town. It is claimed that over seventy-five miles of shore line can be plainly seen from the verandas of the new and elegant hotel, the Algonquin, which has recently been erected upon the highest land in the town, and which is to be our abiding place until Wednesday. St. Andrews has about 1,800 inhabitants, and was handsomely laid out with wide and regular streets a century ago. The rise of St. Stephen robbed St. Andrews of much of its early commercial importance, but it still remains one of the most charming health resorts on the Atlantic coast. Art has now supplemented nature in the provisions made for the comfort and pleasure of the visitor, the Algonquin being a model hotel, with all modern improvements. The outlook from its pleasant verandas is superb, a charming and far-reaching view being presented on every side. There is sea bathing at the shore, and hot and cold sea-water baths within the house. The landlord of the establishment is Mr. Fred A. Jones, who has been long and favourably known through his connection with the Hotel Dufferin, in St. John, NB. The land syndicate, who whose enterprise the public is indebted for the Algonquin, has already done much to adorn the town, in and near which it has extensive and valuable possessions. The point of land by the waterside, beyond the town, has been converted into a charming little park."


"Work on the Algonquin hotel and its surroundings is proceeding apace, although there would seem to be a good deal yet to be done. The upper floors are all completed with the exception of handing the doors and painting the woodwork. The main floor is in a very incomplete state, but a month more will make a wonderful change in it. The same may be said of the basement. Mr. Stevenson is pushing things as fast as he can, and thinks he will have no difficulty in having the building ready by the first of July or earlier. Mr. R. J. Green, of St. John, who built the stairways, is through with his part of the work, and has gone away. He had made a good job. Messrs. G. and E. Blake's plumbers are hurrying through with the plumbing, and expect to have it finished up inside of three weeks. The masons have completed their work. Painting will be begun on the outside of the building this week. The shingles will be oiled and stained and the roofs will be painted red. The effect, it is thought, will be very pleasing to the eye. Outside the hotel building, the grounds are being graded and under the superintendence of Mr. L. M. S. Horton. This branch of the work will scarcely be completed in time for the opening. At the head of Kitty's [sic] Cove, Mr. Capen the Boston engineer has bored to the depth of one hundred and twenty-five feet to find water for the purposes of the hotel. He has found considerable water, but hopes to get more by sinking the shaft a litter deeper.  Favourable progress is also being made on the sewer, which is to be laid from the hotel to the water front of the town." [the Kitty's Cove indicates that Armstrong is not from SA, nor has been here long]


[May 14/1888--Robert Gardiner to B. R. Stevenson MS3-Y-319: “Yours 11th rec’d. MY only object in having nominal consideration shown in “Hipwell” deed is to avoid “booming” the town lot prices until we close all such as Mr. Osburn is working on. The ? as such will be attained by not recording the deed now, although I presume everybody knows the price at which it was sold. It will therefore ? for the present of send Hipwell’s deed to me by mail (registered). The expenses I will hand you next time I see you.”]


May 30/1889
We have received one of two hundred and fifty thousand copies of a pamphlet which has recently been published on St. Andrews by the Land Company. It is printed on a finely finished tone paper and is profusely and beautifully illustrated. The first page of the cover bears a splendid picture of the Algonquin hotel, as it will look on the first of July with its broad verandahs thronged with guests. Among the illustrations are Joe’s Point, Chamcook Lake, St. Andrews light-house, an arm of Passamaquoddy Bay, St. Andrews from For Tipperary, the river front, a view from Chamcook mountain, scenes in and near Indian park, Welsh Lake, the old block house and a variety of other charming pictures. The letter press is written in a romantic vein and describes very minutely the advantages and picturesque delights which have made St. Andrews so popular a summer resort. Mr. Holman D. Waldron, of Portland, Maine was the writer, we believe, and he has done his work well. These pamphlets are being circulated all over the North American continent.


June 6/1889
"The twenty-eighth of June--the day in which the Algonquin hotel will open--will mark the beginning of a new era in the history of St. Andrews. On that day it may be fairly said that SA-by-the-sea enters upon its career as one of the leading summer resorts of the North Atlantic season. The event, we humbly venture to express, is an important one for this community, and one that deserves recognition at the hands of the residents in some way or other. First impressions, we know from experience, are very often the decisive ones. The first impressions which our visitors form of the town and of the people will undoubtedly go far towards determining their future visits, or their disposition to locate their summer homes here. For this reason, it behooves us to have the conditions under which our visitors arrive made as favourable as possible. The question of how this shall be done we leave to the good judgment of the people themselves. The major part of the guests who attend the opening of the Algonquin will arrive in St. Andrews on the afternoon of the 28th, and it is the intention of a great many of the, we are told, to remain over until after Sunday. Something should be done to make their stay as pleasant as possible."


"The formal opening of 'The Algonquin' hotel has been determined for Friday, June 28th, a reception being given from four to seven, p. m., and dancing from nine to twelve o'clock. Invitations to be present will be extended to the Governor General Lord Stanley, Members of the Dominion Cabinet, Governor Burleigh of Maine, Lieut. Gov. Tilley of NB, Lieut. Gov. Rogers of Quebec, Lieut. Gov. Campbell of Ontario, Lieut. Gov. McAllen of Nova Scotia, Lieut. Gov. Macdonald of P. E. I., with their official staffs, members of the Dominion and Provincial Parliaments, representing Charlotte County, the Mayors of Boston, Montreal, Toronto, Kingston, Ottawa, Quebec, Portland, Bangor, St. John, Halifax; Fredericton, St. Stephen, Calais, Eastport, Houlton and Woodstock, the principal local government officials, Railway and steamship officials, Officers and stockholders of the 'St. Andrews Land Co.' and 'Algonquin Hotel Co.', and representatives of the press of the leading cities. IN each case, 'and lady' is incorporated in the invitation, for without the fair sex, the opening would lack the éclat befitting the occasion. The steam yacht of the St. Andrews Land Co. will make its initial excursion trips on the opening day, so that the invited guests may not only absorb the beauties of St. Andrews by land, but view the situation from our majestic bay, and picturesque river.
            Work around the hotel is advancing very rapidly. The plumbers have completed their task and will have all the gas fixtures in by the latter part of the week. The representative of the Detroit Heating and Lighting Company has arrived and is getting the gasoline tank in position and making connections. It is expected that water connection will be completed before the present week is out. The elevator tanks are in place, and the elevator will be in working order in a day or two. The painters are also making fast headway. The exterior walls are being colored a terra cotta shade; the trimmings will be bronze green. The laundry will be ready in a few days. The approaches to the hotel are being nicely arranged, and before the opening day arrives will be well in shape."


June 27/1889
"The Algonquin Hotel may now be said to be in a finished state, although much remains to be done in the next few days to arrange the interior furnishing and fit the hotel for the reception of guests. The locks, which caused so much delay, arrived from St. John on Saturday, and the carpenters worked all night getting them on the doors, so that the painters might finish up their work. The engine and the laundry machinery were in working order the first of the week, and underwent a satisfactory test. The ranges and cooking apparatus, which are rather an extensive arrangement, were finished up last week by Messrs. Emerson and Fisher's workmen. The cooking utensils have arrived and fill a small room. The silver-ware and the dishes are also in the building and are being unpacked. The chamber-ware likewise stands ready to put in its place. The furniture for the bedrooms is constantly arriving and is being stowed away as quickly as possible. On Monday, Manager Jones and his help arrived and they have been working like beavers to get the hotel into shape for the guests on Friday. Mr. Jones recognizes that the task is a formidable one, but he is bending all his energies to it and hopes to get through in time.
            Outside the hotel, Superintendent Horton has had a vast amount of work done during the past few days. The gravelling of the walks has been completed and the grading of the grounds about finished. It is expected that on opening day two flag staffs will be reared in the grounds, one bearing the Union Jack and the other the Stars and Stripes. The twin ranger bears have had a habitation fitted up for them alongside the hotel, and they will doubtless form a source of attraction.
            Of the eight hundred invitations sent out for the reception and opening ball on Friday, the acceptances have been very numerous, so that an immense number of people will have to be care for.
            Music for the season will be provide by Robinson's orchestra, of Houlton.
            Mr. E. B. Temple, of Boston, who put the electric apparatus in the Algonquin hotel, dropped down on business on Saturday last."


800 invitations sent out for grand opening


July 4/1889
June 28 opening ball described. See photocopy and below
"Nobody could find fault with the sample of St. Andrews weather we had today before the strangers who came here on Friday last to attend the opening of our magnificent summer hotel. It was charming, perhaps a trifle warm for the townspeople, but for the visitors from outside, who had emerged from almost torrid heat, it was like the breath of Paradise.
            It was almost 2 o'clock in the afternoon before the whistle of the locomotive at Chamcook indicated the approach of the train bearing the visitors. All the livery stables turned out their conveyances, and everybody else who could get there at all, hustled down to the station. The platform was crowded, as one of the handsomest trains on the N. B. R. rolled into the siding and the passengers began to emerge from the cars. Amongst the first to alight was Lieut. Governor Tilley, who had come straight from the West, connecting with the St. Andrews train at McAdam. His honor looked a little jaded after his long journey, but a few days in the pure St. Andrews air served to recuperate him greatly. Governor E. C. Burleigh, of Maine and staff, consisting of sixteen persons, and Col. Henry M. Sprague; Adjutant-General of Augusta, Col. F. E. Boothby, of Portland, and Col. W. A. R. Boothby, of Waterville, were among the distinguished visitors to follow Sir Leonard. Among others on the station platform were Robert S. Gardiner, vice-president of the St. Andrews Land Company, and wife, of Newton Center, Mass.; Eugene F. Fay, and wife; W. B. Sears and wife; Roscoe A. Cobb and Nelson E. Weeks, and wives, of Brookline, Mass.; H. D. Waldron, of the Maine and central Railroad, Portland, Maine; Mayor McCollough of Calais; A. B. Chaffe, jr., agent of the C. P. R. Montreal; W. S. Taylor, Treasurer of the C. P. R., and wife, also of Montreal; Ald. Robertson and Miss Robertson, Ex-Mayor Thorne; Hon. David McLellan; Alex. Finley; R. Keltie Jones; J. R. Stone; W. S. Fisher, and Mrs. Fisher, of St. John; W. E. Wood, of the All Rail line; Jas. L. Thompson, manager of the Frontier Steamship Company of Calais; J. Stewart, superintendent of the N. B. R., and wife, of Woodstock; G. A. Haggerty, Mechanical Superintendent of the N. B. R.; H. T. Frisbee; John C. McIntyre; C. H. Pierce; W. Mauser and wife; and John C. Madrigan of Houlton, Maine; W. W. Waugh, proprietor of the Home Journal, Boston; E. H. Crosby, of the editorial staff of the Boston Post, and wife; Benj. F. Priest, of the editorial staff of the Boston Transcript; George H. Brennan, of the Boston Globe staff; Rueben Crooke, editor Boston Traveller; Frank H. Davis of Bangor, representing the Boston Herald and Bangor Whig and Courier; Revel P. Smith of the Bangor News; E. P. Boutelle, of the Bangor Whig; E. H. Dakin, of the Industrial Journal, Bangor; Theo. Cary, of the Aroostook Pioneer, Houlton; J. E. B. McCready, editor of the St. John Telegraph and John Bowes of the St. John Gazette, and Mrs. Bowes.
            As quickly as possible everybody was whisked . . . Manager Jones and Chief Clerk Nason were waiting with open doors to extend to them a welcome. The visitors were charmed with the appearance of the hotel and its surroundings while those who stopped to feast their eyes on the scenery in the neighborhood of the hotel, admitted that they had ever dreamt that St. Andrews was half so beautiful. Mr. Jones and his staff had done wonders in the few days that were left to them, so that, with the exception of a few omissions that were scarcely noticeable, everything was in apple-pie order. The internal and external decorations were pretty and attractive, Chinese lanterns and bannerettes were suspended about the spacious piazza, while from the cupola, surmounting the 'eagle's nest,' the Union Jack and the Stars and Stripes floated side by side. The interior ornamentation was almost wholly floral, and was very effectively arranged. In the hallway, at the bases of the corner pillars, pots of rare plants were disposed, while there was a profusion of cut flowers about the mantles in the parlors and many of the other rooms.
            Lunch was served soon after the arrival of the guests, about one hundred persons sitting down to a rich and elegant repast. . . . Following the lunch came the reception, which was quite a swell affair, and which was attended by a large number of persons. In addition to those who came by train, quite a large party was brought here by Mr. Todd's private yacht from St. Stephen, and an especially large number reached here from Eastport in the steamer "Nellie Kane." St. Andrews also supplied its quota. Lady Tilley formed one of the reception committee, the other ladies being Mrs. Fay, Mrs. Gardiner and Mrs. Jones . . . .
            The guests were received in the beautiful parlors of the hotel, after which they had an opportunity of inspecting the building and the grounds, and of viewing for themselves those external beauties of which St. Andrews possesses such an abundance. For the building and its arrangements nothing but praise was heard, while everybody was enchanted with the delightful prospect that was spread before them as they climbed up to the 'eagle's nest' and swept their eyes around them. Charming, lovely, delightful, sublime, magnificent, grand--these were a few of the adjectives that were used, and even these did not seem to be sufficiently expressive. Quite a number of visitors took advantage of the lovely afternoon to drive about the town and its suburbs and view at nearer range the beauties that had so charmed their eye and their senses from the hotel. It was the unanimous verdict that as a summer resort St. Andrews stands unrivalled, and that as such she is bound to occupy a front rank among the famous watering places of the north Atlantic. . . .
            In the evening the Algonquin looked even more beautiful than in daylight, the glancing lights from the windows, and the brilliant illuminations on the piazza making it resemble a palace of the fairies, instead of a building comprised of wood and brick and mortar. The scene in the interior of the building was equally dazzling--the rich and magnificent costumes of the ladies, the gay uniforms of the military, and the luxurious furnishings of the rooms forming a picture that one rarely has the pleasure of seeing. Lieutenant Governor Tilley and Lady Tilley were present, the former wearing the Cross of the Order of which he is such a distinguished and honorable member, suspended from a ribbon about his neck. Governor Burleigh of Maine, and his staff, brilliantly uniformed, and the officers from Camp St. Andrews . . . greatly enhanced the effect of the picture by their presence.


July 11/1889
Gay St. Andrews
The Old Town Shaken from Centre to Circumference
"The Saint Andrews people have been sighing for excitement and they have got it. Never in its history has the old Shiretown experienced such a season of gayety as during the past fortnight. That there is truth in the old adage, 'it never rains but it pours' has once more been clearly demonstrated. The first event to break the monotony was the arrival of the military. Since then St. Andrews society has been all in a flutter of excitement. The second event of importance, which followed close upon the heels of the first, was the opening of the Algonquin hotel, and the ball which marked that auspicious occasion will not soon be forgotten. Two or three little dances since then have served to keep the wheels of society in motion. On Thursday evening last another important society event transpired, the echoes of which can still be distinctly heard at intervals. On account of the official character of the opening ball, many St. Andrews people who would otherwise have been invited were not present. To allay any feeling that his action might have occasioned, Manager Jones, in his goodness of heart, thought it would be nice to tender a complimentary dance to the St. Andrews people, and at the same time invite the military officers to participate.  As the soldiers had but a day or two to remain in camp, there was no time for any formal invitations to be distributed. Mr. Jones accordingly impressed a committee of young ladies into his service, and verbal invitations were extended to a number of persons. It was given out that the affair was to be of a purely informal character, but instead of that, it developed into one of the most brilliant society events that the town ahs ever witnessed. Between sixty and seventy couples assembled at the Algonquin to partake of Mr. Jones's hospitality. The majority of the ladies and the gentlemen, too, appeared in full dress. Low necked dresses, short sleeves and claw hammer collars predominated. Those people who had been deluded into the idea that the affair was to be altogether informal, and who had not come decked out in ball costume, felt considerably nettled, but as the evening wore on, and the exquisite music of the orchestra tempted them into the mazy dances, they forgot their grievances and were soon enjoying themselves like the rest."


July 18/1889
Beautiful St. Andrews
A Boston Journalist’s Description of us and our New Hotel
The course of the summer resort travels is one of constant change and ever widening circumference. It is but comparatively few years since the fashion of a changer of residence, became universal, and yet today there is no one, from the clerk up to the possessor of many estates, who some time during the summer does not feel as if it were a duty which he owned to health an custom to visit some place, which either natural beauty, wonderful air, or the expenditure of money, or the patronage of some celebrity, has made fashionable or notorious. Annually the growth of this custom has stretched its limits and gradually it has taken in one place after another. It is but a few years ago that Mount Desert was the utmost limit of the summer traveller, and when a visitor there was assured of plenty of room and freedom from a crowd, and exemption from the trammels of society. All that is past now. Fashion has reached that resort, and wealth and its allies have made life there very gay. Still the summer travellers kept ahead of fashion, and at last it reached the very jumping off place of the United States. This did not in the least deter them, and then this year the summer resort accommodations of this country have leaped the boundary line and taken up a place on the New Brunswick side of the line.
            The scenic beauty of this part of the country, and the quaint old country atmosphere have long been vaguely known to the eastern people, but he fact that it was hard to get there the comforts which are indispensable to us as a race have kept Americans from invading the region in any great numbers, but since a hotel company in which many Boston men have an interest have taken possession of one of the prettiest sites in the provinces and have built a first-class hotel there, the country bids fair to be at no late day well reconnoitred by us—and it will repay the trouble.
            St. Andrews is situated on a narrow point of land extending southward into the Passamaquoddy Bay, about twelve miles north of Eastport. Though on the New Brunswick side it is due north from the coast of Maine, and despite the nearness of the American boundary, the country, the people, and the town itself have a distinctly foreign air. Not only is the place picturesque in its surroundings, having a water view of great extent—no less than seventy give mils of coast being in sight—with the mountains of Maine on the one hand, and of NB on the other; bordering the vision on either side, it has a favor of romance about it, and is the ruins of a once lively shipping port now passed into a dream. The little town, which is on the extreme point of the narrow peninsula, has about seventeen hundred inhabitants, and is almost tree-embowered. The oldest inhabitant still tells tales of the days of his youth when its harbor was crowded with merchantmen, which lay so closely alongside of one another that one could walk from the lower end of the town to Joe’s point at the other on the decks of the vessels, stepping from one to the other. All this if it be true, is long gone by, and only a few decaying hulls, or pleasure craft and fishing boats are seen at its docks. The town, though dilapidated, is still attractive. It is doubly so, as the simple inhabitants are all fond of flowers, and as you walk its quaint streets you will see everywhere, even in the humble houses, pots of flowering plants. The town, which was an early French settlement, was named for a priest, Saint Andre, who first planted the cross of the Jesuits on that shore, and played an active part in the struggle between the French and English for the possession of the provinces. Above the town the land rises in natural terraces. This rise is so gradual that one can climb to the height of one hundred and fifty feet and hardly be aware of it until one looks back and sees the magnificent bay spread before one, and the town hidden in the trees at one’s feet. The point from which the best view is obtained is known as Fort Hill, and was selected as the site of the big hotel which has just been completed and named the Algonquin.
            Though we have driven the Indian from our soil, yet he still remains to remind us of his once free sway by the names which have remained behind him on the bosoms of our lakes and rivers, and hills, and of our free will we are constantly adding a reminder on our own account of naming a house or a club by some such name as has been given to this. The Algonquin has a view which can hardly be surpassed on the coast. Below is the town—so far distant that it but adds to the view, and its picturesqueness alone is visible. From every point of the compass one sees the water and beyond on three sides the view is guarded by the eternal Hills. Five hundred yards away is Fort Tipperary—now deserted and almost dismantle, though useless guns still mount guard on its grass-grown battlements, behind whose earth works no longer ago than 1866, during the Fenian troubles, the British regulars marched and countermarched to the sound of the drum and the fife, whose martial strains bade the residents of the odd little town, “have no fear.” Previous to that the only memorable time when the fort has been manned was during he “Trent Affair.”
            The new hotel which crowns this eminence is a structure in the old English style of architecture, and is liberally piazzaed, gabled, and turreted. It was built by the Algonquin land Company from plans by Rand and Taylor, and in a manner which in every way meets the requirements of this convenience-loving age. It has three hundred and fifty feet of piazza, and from them one can see Passamaquoddy Bay, Chamcook mountain, which guards the way at the north, the St. Croix river, the Bay of Fundy, whose famous fogs do not cross to this shore, and the picturesque, rock-bound and mountain-guarded shore of Maine. The scenery, which grows on one, is of itself enough to make the place popular; while its air, which is said to be a sure cure for insomnia, is so restful that tired nerves at once improve under its tonic. The surrounding country is most interesting. The drives are magnificent. The roads are made of the stone which comprises the shore, and which is a kind of cross between sandstone and slate. It is of the color of sandstone, and makes roads as hard as rock; while its porous quality and solidity are of a nature which makes neither mud nor dust. On rainy days the water runs right through it, and the surface is barely wet; on dry days not a speck of dust rises from it. . . . The extreme end of the peninsula is Indian Point, where, in the year 1770, Col. Church landed with his force to revenge the sacking of Deerfield, Conn. This point was a pretty bit of natural beauty, but upon it has already been spent thousands of dollars by the land company who have made of it a beautiful park. There are ten acres of land, on the extreme point which was given to the company by the town on condition that a certain amount of money would be spent on it, and the park deeded back to the town. A boulevard has been built around it at the water's edge, and serpentine walks thread their way under the shade of pine trees with whose health-giving balsam the air is redolent. An artificial lake, which is large and contains several islands, has been built, and about the park there are already surveyed a number of cottage sites.
            The Boston contingent are all very enthusiastic about the place, and there is no question but that the fact that it is across the borders, where they use the English stamp, and pounds, shillings, and pence, hold sway, and where the custom house is the gate-way, giving the flavour of foreign travel, will aid the real attraction of the place to popularity. The All-Rail line to St. Andrews is in every way a delightful trip. The train leaves Boston at eight o'clock in the morning and proceeds via the Boston and Maine and Maine Central roads, reaching St. Andrews at 9:10 on the evening of the day. The scenery, especially at the latter part of the trip, is delightful, while the service of the road is such as to enable one to make the journey with perfect pleasure and comfort.


Algonquin Gossip
News and Notes About the Summer Tourists
" . . . The 'permanents' at the Algonquin are increasing day by day. There are now considerably over one hundred permanent guests on the list, among them being Sir Leonard Tilley, Lady Tilley and family; . . . C. R. Hosmer . . ."


Yachting, deep-sea fishing, driving, bathing, tennis playing dancing--are among the pleasures that are daily engaged in by the guests.


Last Week's Visitors
Boston--largest section--about 25
Springfield, Mass.
St. John
St. Stephen
New York
Hartford, Newbury
St. Paul
Toronto (all these about 4 to 5)


Aug 22/1889
Sea-Side Gossip
Random Remarks About Our Summer Pleasure-Seekers
" . . . What peculiar property is there is St. Andrews air, or St. Andrews fare, which produces so much bad verse? Here is a sample, penned by a drummer who came here this summer:
Of many places I have seen
There's none excels the Algonquin
And those whose wanderings bring them here
Will get their fill of great good cheer;
Peace of mind and ease of body,
Can be obtained of Passamaquoddy.
The bracing air, the sea-girt shore,
And tables loaded with good things galore,
'Twere surely unkind to wish for more.
And when the summer's past and gone,
And again we are back in our city home,
We will look back with longing on St. Andrews town,
And sign for past pleasures which so quickly have flown.


Here's another rhyme, but there is method in this poet's madness:


St. Andrews is not foggy,
Though they sometimes have some fog,
St. Andrews is not groggy,
Though they take a little grog.
St. Andrews is not funny,
Though they often have some fun,
St. Andrews is not sunny,
Though I've often seen the sun.
But--Algonquin beds are easy,
Algonquin dinners good,
And the scenery so charming,
I'd not grumble if I could.


. . . The past week has been a whirl of excitement at the Algonquin. Each successive week appears to be gayer than the last.


Sir John MacDonald
The Conservative Chieftain and His Lady Visit SA
SA has been all agog the past week over Sir John and Lady MacDonald, who arrived here by special train from River du Loup, on Friday last. [this would have been Aug. 16] It had been known for several days previous that the Conservative chieftain was coming, but out of respect to his wishes, his advent was kept as quiet as possible, lest a horde of office and favor seekers should swoop down upon him and disturb the serenity of his repose. Sir John was met at Edmunston by Mr. Cram, General Manager of the NBR, who accompanied him to St. Andrews. On the arrival of the party here they were at once driven to the Algonquin, where Mr. Jones had rooms in readiness for them. As Sir John entered the corridor of the hotel, the orchestra played an overture--"The Red, White and Blue"--in his honor. He spent a very quiet evening, in the company of Sir Leonard Tilley and Lady Tilley, whose guest he was.
            On Saturday morning, Sir John and Lady MacDonald loitered about the hotel piazza, enjoying the beautiful scenery, and drinking in the pure, health-giving air, for which St. Andrews is so famous. It was generally remarked that both the Premier and his partner appeared to be in the best of health. In the afternoon Sir John had a drive with Sir Leonard, and in the evening he was present at the Algonquin hop. The hotel was brilliantly illuminated with Chinese lanterns in his honor, and a number of fireworks were sent off, all of which, he, no doubt, appreciated. Sunday, he went to church, like all good Christians, should, whether at home or abroad, and on Monday morning he was in excellent trim for a trip to Campobello in the fishery cruiser "Dream." He was accompanied on this trip by Sir John Leonard and Lady Tilley, Sir Somers Vine, of London, and Mr. Leonard Tilley. The party lunched at the Tyn-y-coed, and got back to town at a respectable hour. Sir John retired early on Monday night, so as to prepare himself for the return journey to River du Loup, which he took on the morrow. The premier and his party started off in the morning in a special train, a few minutes ahead of the regular express. Conductor Fred. McLellan, one of the trustiest and best-looking of the B. B. R. conductors, was in charge of Sir John's train, and deposited the premier safely at Edmunston. Harry Saunders drove the locomotive through. Sir Leonard Tilley and family went with Sir John. They propose to stop at River du Loup for a brief spell, and then go down to Dalhousie.


St. Croix Courier
Sept 12/1889
The Algonquin hotel, after a very successful season, closes on Saturday next. A large party of excursionists from Saint John arrived on Saturday last and returned home on Monday. A brilliant display of fireworks was exhibited at the Algonquin in the evening in honor of their visit. Since opening, the number of visitors registered at the hotel amounted to about fifteen hundred. Manager Jones is authority for the statement that the building of the proposed annex to the hotel will be begun in about two weeks.
            The inhabitants of the town are about to take steps to have the town supplied with water from artesian wells, the system to be owned and managed by the town, as soon as it shall be incorporated. The project is said to be feasible and the cost very moderate.


Sept 19/1889
Summer Season Summarily Suspended
The Algonquin Hotel doors locked for Nine Long Months
The Algonquin is closed. On Tuesday last, Mr. Jones swung to the great front doors of the big summer caravansary, turned the key in the lock and departed for St. John, leaving the house to the mice and the rats, and the autumn breezes, which whistle mournfully around its broad piazza and deserted lawn, as if sighing for those merry spirits which have departed it.
            We shall miss Mr. Jones's bright and cheery presence: we shall miss the tuneful strains of the orchestra; we shall miss the jolly maidens who made the house ring with their merry laughter, and the parlor floor tremble with their nimble feet, as they tripped through quadrille, and germain, and waltz; we shall miss the youth with flannel suit and silken sash, who played tennis, and flirted with the girls the whole livelong day and half way through the night; we shall miss the little children and their innocent prattle; we shall miss the dudish waiter, with his three-storey-and-a-mansard-roof collar, gold eye-glasses, immaculate shirt front, claw hammer coat, and patrician airs. Yes and Tipperary shall miss him, too. All these things we shall miss, and many more, but we shall not be like those who sorrow without hope, for we have abundant faith they at they will return another year to gladden our hearts, enliven our streets, and fill our pockets.
            Closing a summer hotel means something more than simply discharging the help, and locking up the doors. There is a vast deal to be done before the key can be turned. Carpets have to be lifted and rolled up carefully; rugs taken from the rooms and stowed away; blankets folded and stored where mice or moths cannot reach them; mattresses and bolsters and pillows carefully arranged; window-blinds taken down so that they may not become faded; chamber ware neatly packed; furniture covered up; glassware and silver ware and dishes put into close cupboards; table linen and napkins and towels folded and put away; machinery oiled, and a vast amount of other work to be done, which nobody but a hotel-keeper would ever think of. For over a fortnight this work had been going quietly on at the Algonquin. As fast as a room became vacant, everything was carefully packed away, and sprinkled with motheline, to protect it from the moths. A week before the hotel doors were closed, the parlor carpet was lifted, and the room filled with the piazza and hall chairs. The lawn tennis court was stripped and the nettings housed on Thursday last. The dining room and kitchen were not touched until the last guest had gone. Everything has been done most systematically, so that when another season comes around, very little time or trouble will be necessary to place the house in habitable shape again.
            The season has been a most successful one for the hotel and the indications are that next season it will be even more successful, provided additional accommodation is furnished for guests.


Oct 10/1889
Visit from Railway Magnates
Sir Donald Smith Makes a Hurried Inspection of the Future Winter Port
The air was full of rumours on Friday last, when it became known that a special train, with a number of railway magnates on board, was on its way to St. Andrews. "Van Horne is coming," said one gentleman, and as the refrain was taken up and spread throughout the town, speculation was rife as to the objects of his visit. Even when the train rolled into the station and it was learned that the CPR man was not among the passengers, speculation did not cease. The party was composed of Sir Donald Smith, Judge Bain, of Winnipeg, Mr. George Meighen, of Montreal, a brother-in-law of Sir George Stephen, Mr. Meighen's son-in-law and Mr. Cram, General Manager of the NBR. A barouche was in readiness for them, and the visitors at once started out for a drive. They circled the Park, and as the tide was ebbing, they had an excellent opportunity of witnessing the shore. After viewing the Park they drove to the Algonquin Hotel, where Mr. C. M. S. Horton, the Land Company's Superintendent, received them, and allowed them through the hotel from cellar to garret. They were all delighted with the hotel and the beautiful prospect that was to be obtained from it. Mr. Meighan said he would come down sure next season, and spend some weeks here with his family.  Mr. Hoar’s cottage was subsequently visited, and the party got out on foot and had a walk over the grounds. Sir Donald inspected the lot that had been chosen for him off the Bar Road, and he also obtained a glimpse of the lot the late Mr. Stephenson had purchased in the same neighbourhood. The party afterwards drove to Joe’s Point, after which they returned to their private cars and dined.
            Before dining, the Beacon reporter sought an interview with Mr. Cram, who very courteously informed him that the visit of Sir Donald and his companions had no significant whatsoever. They had been attending the meeting of the railway company in Saint John, and having half a day to spare they chose to spend it in visiting St. Andrews. This he said was the secret of the visit.
            About 4 o’clock, the special train which bore the visitors here, steamed away from SA, Mr. Cram going to Saint John, and the remained of the party pursuing their way to Montreal.


[Oct 30/1889--Eugene Fay to B. R. Stevenson, MS3-Z-435: “Will you aid the management of the “Algonquin” by sending us the names and addressed of all persons that you know, who are afflicted with Hay Fever, it having been thoroughly demonstrated the past season that Hay Fever sufferers will find at St. Andrews complete exemption from this disease. Circulars containing the strongest testimonials to this effect are being prepared. Hay fever people desire to remain away from home through September, and such a clientele means a months’ more business for our Hotel, and we urgently request your assistance to obtain the names and addressed of any sufferer from this disease (whether liable to go to St. Andrews or not), as by writing to them, we expect to get the names of other Hay Fever people of their acquaintance, who will be liable to go there.”]


Nov 7/1889
It may interest our citizens to know that the landlord of the Algonquin paid to persons doing business in St. Andrews for supplies, etc., purchased between June 28th and Sept 19th, the sum of $4122.74, add to this over $8000.00 received by St. Andrews people for labour and materials up to the time the hotel was finished. IN addition to the above, the money expended by the hotel visitors in our stores was no inconsiderable sum, and would have been much more had our merchants, kept and exposed for sale, goods adapted to that class of customers. The foregoing is another evidence, that those who recognize that the procession of progress is moving, and are willing to keep step to the music, should lead in our town affairs.


Deb 26/1889
Put Up or Shut Up
To the Editor of the Beacon—
Sir.—there appeared on one of your recent issues, a statement to the effect that, during the past summer season, there was paid to St. Andrews residents, by the management of the Algonquin Hotel, the sum of $4,122. I am informed that the truth of this statement is questioned by certain of your citizens. I do not care to take the trouble to prepare the proof, simply to satisfy the curiosity of idle gossips, therefore make the following proposition. Any one or more residents of SA, having reason to question the amount so stated to have been paid, shall, individually or collectively, deposit with either of your town councillors the sum of $100, I depositing in the same hands, a like amount. If I do not give you, for publication in the Beacon, a detailed statement showing to whom every dollar of the $4,122 as paid, and if necessary, adduce proof by the Algonquin receipts and accounts, as to every item on such statement, the $100 deposited by me shall be equally divided among the churches of St. Andrews to be used for benevolent purposes, and the other $100 returned to its depositors. But if I do furnish such statements and proof, the $100 of the doubters shall be divided as before named, and my money returned to me. A committee, consisting of any three of your clergymen, may decide upon the question of evidence produced.
Robert Gardiner


Feb 20/1890
Ice for Algonquin now being harvested. Mr. Petrie has the contract for cutting it. About one hundred and fifty tone will be housed. Between fifty and sixty tons will be stored under the kitchen under the kitchen extension of the hotel. The rest will be stored at the barracks. Mr. Horton is arranging for the construction of another refrigerator in the lower floor of the hotel.


May 22, 1890
The New Landlord
Mr. Charles V. Carter, the lessee of the Algonquin hotel, and Mr. Eugene F. Fay, secretary-treasurer of the Hotel company arrived in St. Andrews on Saturday afternoon. It was Mr. Carter’s first visit to the Shiretown.
            “I am completely carried away with it,” was the rejoinder Mr. Carter made to the Beacon on Sunday afternoon, when asked his impression of St. Andrews. “I had no idea it was such a beautiful place. Not only has it pure air and unrivalled scenery, but the roads are so good, and there are so may pleasant drives about it! Why, today I visited Joe’s Point and was driven around Chamcook mountain, and I was delighted. I am sure it will become popular as a summer resort.”
            Mr. Carter was equally pleased with the hotel and its situation. Asked with regard to the season’s prospects, he said they were excellent. He has booked between 20 and 30 rooms for the season and applications are continually coming in. Mr. Carter recently attended a Hotel Keeper’s convention, and none of the hotels had such a good prospect to report as the Algonquin.
            “There is one thing which surprises me,” remarked the new proprietor, “and that is the scarcity of garden vegetables here. I have talked with a number of farmers since I came here, relative to hotel supplies, and I find that there is scarcely one of them who cultivates small vegetables such as parsley, lettuce onions, and such like. There is always a great demand for such article at summer hotels, and I think it would pay your farmer to cultivate them more extensively. I want to get everything that is possible to be got in the town. Wherever I have been it has always been my practice to buy from the town in which I was located all that I needed, and it is my intention to do the same here, provided I can get what I want at reasonable prices. This is one reason why I would like your farmers to raise such vegetables as those I have mentioned.”
            Mr. Carter visited Saint John on Monday, and remained there until Thursday night, when he returned to Boston. It is his present intention to come to St. Andrews bout the 13th of June, so as to get everything in readiness for the opening on the 1st of July. There will be an orchestra, led by Mr. Ellis Ames, the celebrated pianist, at the Algonquin this season. There will be four pieces in the orchestra, vis., piano, flute, cornet and violin.
June 5/1890
The Algonquin Hotel. Mr. Horton is pushing forward the additions to the hotel. Several sleeping rooms have been added, and an extension will be made to the dining hall, which will increase its size about one-third more.


June 26/1890
The Summer Hotels
The Algonquin and Argyll Open for the Summer Visitor
The summer tourist season of 1890 ha snow fairly begun. Though it would seem too early to offer a prediction as to what the future has in store for Sa, we can at least say with truthfulness that the prospect is decidedly encouraging. Many of last year’s visitors, who were entranced with the beauties of the town, will come again this season, and will bring fresh recruits with them. The tide of summer travel eastward from the US is increasing year by year, and with the close connection from Upper Canada which the CPR now affords, the number of upper Canadian people coming to the lower provinces is gradually growing. As there are few places in the eastern provinces more charmingly situated for a summer resort, than Sa, there is little doubt that we will receive a large share of summer visitors. Beside there is something more tangle in the fact that t many person shave already secure rooms for ht season in both the Algonquin and the Argyll hotels. . . . (Details on Algonquin and Argyll here).
            Other Resorts: the hotel at Campobello is in full blast, and the cottages are rapidly filling up. A larger number of people will come to the island this year than last, if the weather is at all propitious. Summer hotels have been opened at Red Beach, and at the Devils’ Head, on the Maine side. But they cannot compare with the houses on this side of the line.
            St. George to the Front: For some time past a movement has been on foot to erect s summer hotel in St. George. Everybody who has visited the granite town knows that the scenery in its neighbourhood is of such a romantic character as to make it specially adapted for summer resort, that only the absence of a suitable hotel has prevented the development of the town as such. An American syndicate, of which Col. Neill, of Calais, is one of the leading spirits, has been negotiating with the owners of the Westmore property, and have almost concluded their negotiation for the purchase of a site for a summer hostelry. The location of this property makes it very suitable for a hotel site, and we hope that the idea may be carried out to it consummation.


St. Croix Courier
July 3, 1890
Mr. Carter new manager of Algonquin. Formerly of Eastman House at Hot Springs, Arkansas. Prior to that in the Raymond at Pasadena, California. Young man. Suavity of manner.
Staff: H. H. Field, of Taunton, Mass. Clerk
H. Sterling Morrison, of Saint John , cashier and telegraph operator.
Elva L. Blanchard, Housekeeper
George Webster, Head Waiter
F. H. Knapp, Steward
S. C. Lawrence, chef
Arthur Wilson, second chef
Maria Kelly, pastry cook
George A. Lambert, Barber
The substitution of female waiters for males is a great improvement. The young women when on duty appear in pretty white costumes, and as they all wear becoming head-dresses, their presence lends an additional charm to the dining room.


The orchestra will not be the same as last year. Ellis Ames of Boston will be the leader, and there will be four instruments, viz., piano, flute, cornet and violin.


July 3/1890
Algonquin Ad:
"1400 Guests in 1889 pronounced this delightfully new Summer Resort on Passamaquoddy Bay Excelling in Attractions its Published Descriptions."
Salt and Fresh Water Baths, Elevator, Steam Heat, Western Union telegraph, Pure Artesian Well Water, Gas, Steam Laundry, Billiards, Tennis.


Saturday, June 28/1890
Fish Chowder
Consommé a la Royale
Oysters a la crème
Boiled Salmon, Egg Sauce, Potatoes Julienne
Leg of Mutton, Caper Sauce, Beef Tongue, Tomato sauce
Ribs of Beef, Dish gravy
Spring Lamb, brown sauce
Loin of Veal, with dressing
Filet of beef, larded with mushrooms
Macaroni with cheese
Pine-apple fritters, Sauce Chablis
Mashed potatoes. Boiled potatoes
Stewed beets. String beans.  Boiled onions.
Mashed turnips. Stewed tomatoes.
Lobster salad. Sardines. Lazenby’s English pickles
Snow pudding. Apple pie. Cream pie. Charlotte Russe. Brandy Jelly. Angel Cake. Sponge cake. Frosted cake. Vanilla ice-cream
Assorted nuts. Layer raisins. Figs. Dates. Oranges. Bananas. Kennedy’s thin water crackers. Cheese


July 10/1890
When the sun is hiding, and great drops of rain are falling, the guests gather with their novels, or their newspapers, or their knitting, or their games, around the comfortable-looking fire places, and enjoy themselves as they would around their "ain fireside." And those who have neither novels, nor newspapers, knitting or games to amuse them, assemble in the parlor, and listen to the rapturous music of the orchestra. And then when the sun comes out again, and the clouds disperse, and bay and river, and island, and mountain and forest are revealed more beautiful than before, everybody is so enthused that they have not the heart to grumble even though there should be any cause for it.
            Mr. Carter has already demonstrated that he possesses the necessary qualities to make a successful landlord. Considerate of his guests, and considerate of his subordinates, courteous in his demeanour to all, ever watchful of the comfort of those who are under his care, he is esteemed by every one with whom he comes in contact. In the selection of his help he has been particularly fortunate. There is no jarring in the dining-room, no begging for "tips," everything and everybody moving along in perfect harmony. From clerk to bell-boy everybody is attending strictly to business, and there would seem to be no reason why this should not continue until the end.
            Now that the orchestra have arrived, and the house is filling up, Mr. Carter is casting about for some in-door amusement for his guests. He has decided that on Saturday night next the first hop of the season will be held. No formal invitations will be issued to the townspeople, but Mr. Carter desires it be understood that all who may choose to come will be made welcome. These hops will probably become weekly features at the hotel during the season. Donkey parties, bean parties, and other amusements of a similar nature, will be gotten up from time to time, so that there will be no lack of entertainment inside. On the outside, there is the tennis court, and all the varied amusements which those possessing health and vigor can take out of the open air.


Hanson and Grady have made very neat uniforms for the Algonquin bell boys.


July 17/1890
#Among the Island
Racy Reminiscences of Deer Island by the “Beacon” special Commissioner


Lots of details on goings on at the Algonquin.
An offer apparently made to purchase the Argyll. Herbert not interested.


The first hop of the season of 1890 was held in the Algonquin on Saturday evening. Dancing was carried on in the ample parlour of the hotel, the carpet having been removed for the occasion. The music was enchanting and Mr. Carter did all in his power to start the ball a-rolling properly, but the majority of the guests being wearied after their long journey, retired early, and the dancers were not as numerous as they would otherwise have been.


July 24/1890
Hotel Gossip
What we Have Seen with Our Eyes and Heard with our Ears Lately
Small Talk
Mr. Carter arranged a fishing party last week to McMaster's Island. About sixteen persons participated. They had a delightful sail across the Bay in the "Crusoe," and did some fair fishing. Before returning to the mainland, Mr. Carter prepared an excellent fish chowder, which was thoroughly enjoyed.
            The Algonquin orchestra gave a sacred instrumental concert to the hotel guests on Sunday afternoon. The selections were of a very high order, and were well executed. ON Saturday night last, the hotel guests on the hill had a charming little dance. The pleasure was heightened by some choice vocal selections by Mr. Tasse and Miss Kearns, of Ottawa and Mr. Fiske.
            A hop is on the boards at the Algonquin for next Saturday night. By that time the guests will be acquainted with each other, and the reserve which appears incident to the first few weeks of hotel life will have melted away, so that the hop ought to be a gay one.
Among the Guests
            The bean game was introduced to the Algonquin guests on Monday evening for the first time. And this is how they played it. Two captains were selected, Mr. Nazro, of Boston, and Mr. Tasse, of Ottawa, being the chosen ones. Each of these "chose a side," as the boys, would say when playing ball. These "sides," numbering about 15 persons each, were arranged opposite each other in rows. At the end of each row was a table, and on the head table of each was an equal number of bean bags. When the referee, Mr. Carter, gave the word "go," the captain on each side seized the bags one by one and passed them down the line, and as they reached the end they were placed on the table there. Any bags that were dropped by nervous players had to remain on the floor until all the other bags had passed, then the captain picked them up where they had fallen, and continued them on their journey. When all the bags had reached the foot of the row then they were started back, and the side getting them all back to the starting table first won the heat. The first heat was declared won by Capt. Nezro's side. Then Mr. Lewis, of Washington, assumed the captaincy of Mr. Tasse's side, but he had no better luck, for in the second heat, Capt Nazro was once more the winner. A third heat was declared a draw, and a fourth was won by Mr. Nazro, who thus captured the laurel wreath.


July 31/1890
"Progressive Euchre engaged the attention of the Algonquin guests on Wednesday evening last. The party was held in the parlour, and proved highly enjoyable. . . . Bubbles light as air floated ceiling ward in the Algonquin parlour Friday evening. 'Bubbles' was the game, and so intensely amusing was it that everybody was bubbling over with good spirits before it was over. Master Burnett, a five-year-old cherub, blew the biggest bubble among the little folks, and got the first prize, while the second prize was won by little Olive Hosmer, who blew the tiniest bubble. Among the children of larger growth there was much good-natured rivalry as to who should wear the laurel wreath."


Aug. 14/1890
“Cocoaine [sic] caramels” is the new dish that the printer sprung upon the Algonquin guests at Saturday’s dinner. We might explain for the benefit of those who are not acquainted with the dish that it is a species of nerve food, equally as good for hay fever people as for those who are not affected with the malady. Since its introduction there have been numerous enquiries among the guests for the recipe of “Carter’s Cocoaine Caramels.”


Seaside gossip
An Inkling of What is Going on Around and About Us
The editor of the Taunton, Mass., Gazette, who recently visited Sa, writes to his journal as follows:--
            I dropped into the Algonquin, the new and handsome hotel at SA, the other day, and met Best Field, there in all his glory as head clerk of the establishment. He welcomed me like a long lost brother. He was surrounded by everything calculated to make man forget home and country, but the sight of a familiar face brought out the genuine Taunton spirit of welcome and he offered up everything in his keeping upon the shrine of friendship. Truly there is no more charming place on the St. Croix River, or St. Andrews’ bay, than the Algonquin, and the new manager, Mr. Carter, a man of large experience, is apparently, thus early in the year, a great favorite with the summer saunterers. The Algonquin is perched on the highest point of land in the quaint old town of St. Andrews. Broad, very broad piazzas surround the house and from them the views are delightful and far-reaching. At the foot to the westward stretches the river of the St. Croix; to the south is the own lying along the basin. Beyond St. Andrews Bay and across the St. Croix can be seen the American shore as far as Devil’s head to the north, and within six miles of Calais and as far as the Indian village to the south, or within six miles of Eastport. (The Indian village is he reservation of a portion of the remnants of the Passamaquoddy tribe.) To the south can also be seen Deer Island, a portion of the British possessions, and to the east is the main land of NB cut up by rivers deep and winding, the shores densely wooded, the deep green waters of the bay sweeping along at the base of the fringe of trees. Swinging along to the north of the bay, on the east side of SA, is the Chamcook river, which sweeps by the bases of the Chamcook mountains and is a formidable rival in its multiplicity of charms, to the pellucid Chamcook lake, lying between the mountains, the home of the landlocked salmon and speckled trout and he consequent delight of sportsmen.


Sept 11/1890
Complimentary Dinner
Tendered to Judge Emory Speer of Georgia by the Guests of the Algonquin
Delightful as have been the numerous social gatherings at the Algonquin this season, there has been none which contributed more genuine pleasure to the participants than the complimentary dinner which the guest of the hotel tendered to his honor Judge Emory Speer, of Macon, George, on Wednesday evening last, on the occasion of the forty-second anniversary of his birth.
            A circumstance which invested the event with additional interest was the fact that it was a complete surprise to the Judge himself. He had come to St. Andrews to escape a periodical attack of hay fever, and did not dream of being shown any more than the ordinary courtesies of a hotel.  While in conversation with one of he guests on Wednesday morning, he casually remarked that on the day of forty-two years ago he had first seen the light of day. The thought of giving the Judge a surprise suggested itself to the mind of his companion. Communicating the idea to Manager Carter, and the guest of the house they instantly fell in with it. Mr. Carter, with that alacrity which characterizes all his movements set to work to arrange matters, and in an hour or two everything was in train for the event. An elaborate menu, such as only the Algonquin can furnish, was arranged the parlor, halls and dining room, by the aid of wild flowers, ferns, catkins, and the like, supplemented in the banquet hall by Japanese lanterns of the most unique design were instantly transformed as by a fairy hand. In one corner of the banquet chamber an embowered space was reserved for the orchestra, who discoursed during the evening some of their choicest selections. Manager Carter, although greatly restricted by the few hours left him for preparation, did not f


 he conventional birthday cake, which is now speeding on its way to Georgia—a messenger of sweetness from the Judge to his household and friends far away. The guests, too mindful of the pleasures that come from giving as well as receiving provided a simple and unique coffee urn (hereafter to be appropriately engraved) with a set of delicate and elegant after dinner china coffee cups and saucers, which will it is hope bring frequent remembrances of the occasion to the judge, as the gift is utilized at his home in the distant south. These little tokens were placed in front of his plate at the table, beside a blooming bouquet of native domestic flowers.
            The Judge had been advised that the Lt. Governor and Lady Tilley would dine with him but of any further honor that was to be done him he had not the slightest idea. At the appointed hour, 7 o’clock, the ample doors of the dining hall were thrown open, the orchestra played a stirring march, and to the inspiriting strains the guests entered the festive chamber. Sir Leonard Tilley, who escorted Miss Speer, was the first to enter. Then came the guest of the evening, on whose arm leaned Lady Tilley. They were succeeded by Mr. R. S. Gardiner, vice-president of the St. Andrews Land Company, and Mrs. Fay; Mr. E. F. Fay and Mr. Gardiner. Mr. and Mrs. Charles V. Carter and the other participants.
            Judge Speer expressed surprise at the transformation the dining hall had undergone; he praised the taste which was displayed by the ornamentation of the room, but not until he had been assigned to the seat of honor and had glanced at the legend on the delicately printed menu cards did the true state of affairs dawn upon him. Then his surprise knew no bounds.
            Here, too, a strange coincidence was discovered,--not the fearful thirteenth table of which so many have a dread, but, corresponding with the years of the judge’s life, sat forty two grown persons, and the three graces were represented by three children who had been included in the invitation, the smaller children having dined an hour earlier.
            The tables were arranged in three sides of a square, the open side being utilized for the center piece, which consisted of a huge vase filled with wild flowers, ferns, etc. the guests were disposed in the order shown on the accompanying plan.


  1. Judge Speer
  2. Sir Leonard Tilley
  3. Miss Speer
  4. Eugene F. Fay, Brookline, Mass
  5. Mrs. R. S. Gardiner, Newton Mass
  6. George tiffany St. Logis, Mo
  7. Miss Lunn, Montreal
  8. Mrs. Dexter Tiffany, St. Louis, Mo
  9. Miss Campbell, Montreal
  10. Miss Meeker, NY
  11. Fred. W. Meeker, NY
  12. R. B. Van Horne, Montreal
  13. Mrs. W. C. Van Horne, Montreal
  14. Mrs. Hurd, Montreal
  15. Mrs. Isaac Denby, Montclair, NJ
  16. Mrs. C. F. Smith, Saint John
  17. Mrs. George Innes, Montclair, NJ
  18. Mrs. George Innes, Montclair
  19. F. J. Lewis, Washington, DC
  20. Mrs. F. J. Lewis
  21. Mrs. M. P. Lewis
  22. Miss Lewis
  23. Miss F. A. Hensecker, Montreal
  24. Dr. G. B. Orr, Cincinnati
  25. Mrs. Orr
  26. Mrs. Hensecker, Montreal
  27. Dexter Tiffany, St. Louis
  28. Miss Addie Van Horne, Montreal
  29. Miss H. M. Campbell
  30. Miss Van Horne [Sir William’s sister?]
  31. Miss Hensecker
  32. Mrs. Mercer, Newark, NJ
  33. Dr. Mercer
  34. G. Tileston Wells, NY
  35. Charles G. Packer, Newark, NJ
  36. Miss Dora Gardiner
  37. Mrs. J. H. Merrill, Boston
  38. J. E. Merrill, Boston
  39. Mrs. Charles V. Carter
  40. R. E. Armstrong
  41. Mrs. E. F Fay, Brookline, Mass
  42. Robert S. Gardiner, Newton, Mass
  43. Lady Tilley

The menu, considering the short space of time in which there was to prepare it, did infinite credit to the Algonquin cuisine. The cards, too, were neatly printed, each one having four blank pages on which to record autographs. On Judge Speer’s card the autographs of all the guests had been written, and after the dinner, the guests were kept busy for an hour or more writing their autographs on each other’s menu cards. The following were the appetizing dished which Mr. Carter submitted:
            Cream of chicken a la English
            Consommé Prince Supreme
            Baked Savannah Shad, Sauce Claret wine
            Potato croquettes
Baked Devilled Crabs, Baltimore Style
Roast Young Turkey with Dressing, Cranberry sauce
Roast Tenderloin of Beef, stuffed with clams
Browned Sweet Potatoes
Lobster Croquets, Sauce Princess
Broiled Lamb Chops, with French peas
Timbales of Farina, vanilla sauce
New potatoes in cream
String beans, French peas, Mashed Turnips
Chicken on mayonnaise
Pickled Potatoes with Beets
Cabinet Pudding, Brandy Sauce
Green Annie Pie
Mince Pie
Coconut caramels
Angel cake
Dark cake
Citron cake
Orange ice cream
Grapes, pears, confectionary, layer raisins, figs, dates, edam cheese, Kennedy’s Thin Water Crackers, coffee


When all the viands had been duly considered,, Judge Speer arose, and in a brief, but very felicitous speech thanked the guest most cordially for the honor they had done him. He had not dreamt that he would be so highly favored on the forty-second anniversary of his birth and the occurrence was one that he would always look back to with feelings of the deepest pleasure. In this beautiful and will governed province, said he, that remorseless enemy Hay Fever, if it should come, would come to me in the guise of friend robbed of all its terrors. He spoke of the pleasure that he had experienced during his first visit to SA, and particularly that for he first time in nineteen years he was entirely free on his birthday from any symptoms of his remorseless enemy, hay fever. Continuing, he paid a well-deserved compliment to the place, to the Algonquin hotel and its management, gave expression to the hope that he would meet many of those present another year, and then concluded by an appropriate quotation from one of the poets, which gracefully ended the happy address.
            The Lieutenant Governor was equally happy and equally brief in his speech. He was glad to be present and do honor to such a distinguished gentleman as Judge Speer. He was pleased to be able to welcome the Judge to St. Andrews. Twenty one years had he (Sir Leonard) been summering here, and he felt like a permanent resident. If as is said, Nature abhors a vacuum, equally is it true also that the climate of St. Andrews abhors hay fever. The two cannot exist together. Time and time again has this fact been demonstrate. Sir Leonard, went to say that notwithstanding what was said by certain people in both countries, Canadians were desirous of living on terms of amity and peace with the people of the United States. He pointed out in a pleasant way the advantages St. Andrews has to offer to the American pleasure seeker, and then brought his speech and the festivities to a close by congratulating Judge Speer on the attainment of his forty-second birthday.
            The guest of the evening is the US district judge for Southern Georgia. While an ex-confederate soldier and a genuine Southern man in all of his sympathies, Judge Speer has been in the service of his state and of the National government almost without interruption since he was twenty-three years of age, a circumstance which speaks well for the breadth and sincerity of his devotion to his reunited country.


Miss Alice French, of Davenport, Iowa, who, is perhaps, better known to the world by the nom de plume of Octave Thanet, has been a guest of the Algonquin for several days, and proposes to remain for a few days longer. Not only is she a gifted and pleasing writer, but she is also a fascinating woman, with whom it converse is a real delight. She is enraptured with Sa, and it is probably that the locality may furnish material in the near future for her facile pen. After she has completed her visit here, Miss French will visit Saint John , Digby, Annapolis, Halifax and other points of interest in the lower provinces.


There was a jolly time at the Algonquin on Saturday night. Of course, the participants were not as numerous as during July, but they were jut as eager for fun. And they had lots of it. The orchestra contributed some of their sweetest and most fascinating dance music, and for a time the floor was well patronized by light-footed dancers. Miss Orr, of Cincinnati, who is a very graceful dancer, favored the spectators with some Highland and fancy dances, and Master Van Horne went through “the fisher’s hornpipe” very pleasingly. Then Mr. Denby set everybody laughing by two humorous recitations, and the laughter increased when she sprung a number of amusing charades upon the guests. But the most laughable feature of the whole entertainment, and one the sent everybody to bed with aching sides, was the “old Virginny” breakdown, by “Paul and Virginia.” Mr. Fay made an excellent “Paul,” and Mr. Carter as “Virginia” was mot bewitching.  Their costumes were ‘after the Oriental” a long way after, but they were so fantastic as to make everybody scram with laughter. The dancing was so good, too, that they we obliged to respond to a recall.


“Octave Thanet” demonstrated to the Algonquin guests and a large number of townspeople on Monday night that her accomplishments do not end with her pen, and that there are other ways of handling “characters” than through the medium of ink and paper. On the evening referred to she made her debut as an exhibitor of “was figgers,” and it is needless to add, with complete success. The “characters’ which her magic wand produced were most laughable, among them being the summer boarder, the hay fever sufferer, John L. Sullivan, the laughing girl, the tennis player, Apollo, the dancer, the singing girl, the baseball player, etc. Mr. Denby, Misses Van Horne, Miss Speer, Miss Lewis, Miss Orr, Mr. Carter and Masters tiffany and Cox took part in the exhibition.


April 9/1891
Hotel Matters
The Algonquin will be managed this season by Mr. Albert Miller, of Boston. Mr. Miller has been manager of the Kushaqua House, near Albany, NY, for four years past, and he has been connected with Hotel Howland at Long Branch, so that he is well fitted by experience to fill the position of host at the Algonquin. Mr. Fred A. Jones has purchased the Dufferin hotel, Saint John, and he proposes adding one hundred more rooms, which means the erection of a five-story building. Mr. John. A. Edwards, the popular proprietor of the Queen, F’ton, is casting his eyes towards Saint John, with a view to going into business there.


July 2/1891
Mr. Gardiner S. Gardiner, of Boston, was the first 1891 guest to enrol his name on the Algonquin register. He was accompanied by Mr. Jos. W. Parker of Boston.


Albert Miller, Manager of Algonquin
(List of staff)
2700 guests at A in 1889/1890
Euterpe orchestra of Boston this year. 3 ladies
Telegraph operator a lady from Boston


Algonquin staff:
Albert Miller, Manager; George W. Gage, Clerk; Miss Blanchard, housekeeper; Ernest Wiehl, chef; George Vollbrecht, second cook; Edward Schmitz, pastry cook; Isaac Walden, Steward; Edward H. Carey, Engineer; George A. Lambert, barber and pool room. Euterpe orchestra of Boston, Miss Munroe, Miss Edlefsen and Miss McKim.


The management of the Algonquin hotel have been very fortunate in securing the services of the Euterpe orchestra for the season. The three young ladies who compose this orchestra—Miss Munroe, Miss Edlefsen, and Miss McKim—are not only pretty but they are as modest as they are pretty, and the provide most delightful music. Cornet, violin and piano are the instruments used.


The tennis ground at the Algonquin has been enlarged this season, making room for two courts, instead of one. The tennis court of the Argyll is in good shape.


July 16/1891
A bridegroom and bride, who came to the Algonquin a few days ago to spend their honey moon, and who thought nobody could detect their new relations towards each other, were just a little chagrined when, on entering the dining hall for their first meal, the bright young ladies who compose the orchestra began playing Mendelssohn’s Wedding March. As the familiar strains fell upon their ears they both blushed, and then burst into a hearty laugh. They evidently appreciated the joke.


Sept 3/1891
The President’s Vacation. His Travels, Pleasure and Adventures. Pittsfield, Mass., Sun.
. . . It is quite half a mile, and a sunny, warm half mile at that, from the wharf to the Algonquin, a grand summer hotel which crowns s knoll overlooking the town and the waters round about. Stages run but we preferred to walk along the streets and up the winding road, stopping to “take in” many beautiful views of bay and island and ship. By our side, as we stroll up the slope, walks one native here, and in a kindly way he gives us the various points in view—Joe’s Point, running away cut into the St. Croix, and far beyond, in the same direction the woody crown of the “Devil’s Head.” The Maine highlands with Kendall’s Head, Point Pleasant with its Indian village, remnant of the Etchemins who were the lords of the land, before the white man’s advent; Deer island, Minister’s Island, Big Latete, Little Latete, the pretty harbor of Chamcook, and near by the town Navy Island. This a very tame in print, perhaps, but to view on this clear July day, with a brilliant sky and sea, the flitting of white sails, the beach stretching its long yellow line fringed with foam, the blossom-bedecked cottages, the quaint old houses, the sleepy haze that lies far down the bay, the quiet streets—with all these and more allurements that we can describe, it was an half hour’s walk that left an indelible picture on our memories and that stroll up the slope of St. Andrews was one of the most delightful incidents of the vacation.
            The “Algonquin” is a vast structure built for the summer boarder business and it is first-class in all its appointments. It stands 150 feet above high water, and commands the whole circumference of view, shoreward and to sea. The parlors are spacious and handsome, an elevator, baths and all sorts of comforts are provided, the rooms are large and beautifully furnished and the dining hall is an apartment of fine proportions with an outlook over e town and the bay. The hotel will accommodate 150 guests. We found nearly a hundred although the season is hardly in its height until August. Landlord Albert Miller is a Franklin county man, from Athol, I believe, and has ample experience in hotel management. He receives us with most courteous hospitality and makes us a present of the house, so to speak, and when, an hour later we sit down to a luncheon fit even for royal palates, the President is (so) glad he accepts the gift. After the lunch comes cigars on the piazza. Big easy chairs are here by the score and we take two of them where the breeze and shade are best and sit listening to the orchestra, three bright young women with cornet, violin and piano in the parlor just behind us. How perfectly happy the president looks! The blue smoke blows from his cigar in a fragrant cloud. He rocks gently in the big chair to the time of the waltz the musicians are playing; his eyes are bright with the beauty of the picture before him and he says softly, “No wonder that, when He looked upon the land and the sea He had made He said it was good.”
            We sit here till well into the afternoon. Guests all about us are enjoying the luxury of peace and rest “far from the madding crowd.” The music rises and falls; there are long halts in the program, the alternate union Jacks and Stars and Stripes which decorate the columns of the piazza flutter lazily; there is an irresistible drowsiness falling upon all of us and in his sleepy hollow chair the President nods—and snores! “The boat is coming,” some one says, and far down the bay is a cloud of smoke the flash of roam from side-wheels and bow of a steamer. It is the “Rose Standish” on the return trip and we must go. Very reluctantly, we leave, and with many backward glances at the wide sweep of lawn with its gorgeous flower beds and its neat walks; at the groups of guest her and there, the women in pleasant summer costumes chatting an gossiping and laughing in contentment and delight, and at the fair landscape all about.
            “A very good dinner indeed,” said the President to Capt. Ryan, as he talked with him about the Algonquin. “I should say so,” remarked the captain, “and if you will be kind enough to sit in the middle of the boat she will not be so apt to run on one wheel.” The President had indeed “filled well,” but he rather resented the imputation that he had weighted himself to such an extent that he could be used as ballast for a big ship.
June 2/1892
The Algonquin pumping station is at work again, and the product of the well is being bottled up and sent west, where its medicinal properties have already begun to be appreciated.


July 7/1892
The first excursion of the season came up from Eastport on Friday last. The excursionists lunched at the Algonquin, visited the Wedgwood store, and returned home in the afternoon.


Sunday was a good day to stay indoors for the reason that it was a very bad day to stay out doors. Although fog is a comparative stranger to SA, yet something that bore a very close resemblance to fog hung over the own the whole day. A great deal of rain also fell. Gathered around the ample fireplace of the Algonquin, watching the huge logs crackling in the grate, and breathing the aroma of birch and hemlock the summer visitors seemed to enjoy their indoor experience.


Manager Miller, of the Algonquin, arrayed in an immaculate suit, of white Oxford, wears his best smile—when the sun shines.
Miss Mary Nagle, of the waiting staff of the Algonquin, holds the palm for table decoration. What May does not know in this line is not worth knowing. She can arrange the table napkins in all sorts of fantastic shapes, from a true lover’s knot of a lady’s dainty slipper, and in the other little arts of table decoration she is well informed. She is from Bangor.


July 7/1892
Algonquin ad claims 4,000 visitors in 89, 90 and 91--in total
"Every Room Has a Salt Water Outlook" [not true]
Salt and Fresh water baths first amenity listed.


July 21/1892
A photographic party set out from the Algonquin in Mallory's buckboard, on Tuesday, and took views of Minister's Island, Joe's Point, Chamcook Lake, and a variety of other places. The leader of the party, a Washington gentleman, declared that he had never seen such an aggregation of beautiful views as there is in and about St. Andrews. Every member of the party was delighted. (See Hart, Selling of Canada, and the role the CPR played in popularizing nature photography)


Bean auction at Algonquin tonight. Mr. Kennedy auctioneer. Such to be lots of fun.
Bathing houses at Katy's Cove in first class shape.


July 28/1892
Algonquin has billiard and hair-dressing rooms.


When “two souls” with but a single thought climb to the Algonquin tower to engage in “sweet communion” together it seems aptly that the sanctity of that “communion” should be invaded by an unsympathetic stranger. Yet it sometimes happens. The only thing to be done at such time sot to “break away” as quietly and quickly as possible.


Aug 11/1892
A hay-rack party, patronized by a score of young people, started out from the Algonquin on Monday evening, and a jolly time they had of it decorating the streets with straw. Full dress costumes prevailed at the Saturday evening hop at the Algonquin. (Remember in year one Carter said townspeople were welcome if not specifically invited to the ball)
GM says business up over last July.
Some think hay fever is a fad, as no one in town is ever seen to have it.
The first lady bicyclist to be seen on the streets of St. Andrews came down from Calais on Tuesday. She was a modest-looking damsel, and the graceful way in which she stepped on her wheel was the admiration of the local cyclists.


On the invitation of Sir Leonard Tilley, Sir John Thompson and a party of ladies and gentlemen, went out for fishing cruise in the “Crusoe” on Thursday last. There was a fine breeze blowing, and the little craft fairly flew over the water. The party returned at 5 o’clock well pleased with their good fortune. The gaiety at the Algonquin has been subdued the lat few days owing to the serious illness of Sir John Thompson’s little invalid daughter. Full of animation, she pleaded to be allowed to go on the excursion upriver on Saturday. But in her enfeebled condition, the journey proved too much for her, and on her return she was completely prostrated. Sir John and Lady Thomason and her two devoted sisters are constantly at her bedside, and if loving attention will restore her to health her recovery ought to be very rapid.


June 29/1893
Algonquin guests include C. R. Hosmer, of Montreal; John Hope, Montreal; Robert Meighen, Montreal; Fay, Cram. Judge Allen, Boston. George Innes, NJ.


Albert Miller manager 3rd straight season at Algonquin.
3-piece orchestra: again, piano, cornet, violin. 3 ladies, as usual.
Many Mtl guests. "Excursion Party" of Mass. pressmen arranged.


Clerk-H. W. Anderson, of Boston
Assistant clerk and telegraph operator—miss Jennie Martin, of Newton, Mass
House-keeper—Mrs. Francis M. Teed, from Copely Square hotel, Boston
chef-H. Paulke, of New York city
Pastry cook—Edward Smith of Boston
Head Waiter—H. S. Emery, of Bowdoin College, Maine
Hair dresser and billiard room attendant—J. E. Mason, of Boston
Engineer—B. J. Strange, Boston
Orchestra Miss H. E. Page, cornetist; Miss Rose A Garrity, violinist; Miss S. H. Eichler, pianist.


Feb 1/1894
The Algonquin hotel company have abundant faith in the future of St. Andrews as summer resort, otherwise they would not be contemplating such a large and costly addition to the hotel. Now, if the CPR would show the same enterprising spirit, and carry out their designs on the Osburn property, St. Andrews would be able to boast of two of the best summer hotels on the coast. Canadian capitalist ought to be willing to do as much to build up a first class summer resort in Canada as American capitalists.


A Bigger Algonquin
The Summer Hotel to have a large addition to made to it.
“In time of peace prepare for war.” this is the motto of the Algonquin Hotel company. When the hotel closed last season there were indefinite statements made concerning an annex that would be built before the season of 1894 opened, but as time slipped by and nothing more was heard concerning it, many lapsed in the belief that it was only another unfulfilled prophecy. but such is not be the case, for at a meeting held in Boston last week, at which F. Howard Grimmer, their representative here, was summoned to attend, the matter was fully discussed, and it was determined, as soon as the weather permitted, to begin the work of building the annex, so that a portion of it at least would be ready for use during the coming season.
            the question of details has been left to the architect, Mr. Murch, who is expected down here in a few days, but the idea that found favor with the Company was the erection of awing on the western side of the hotel, to run down as far as the street line below, or immediately opposite the residence of G. F. Hibbard, Esq. the whole floor space, on the level of the present dining hall, will be used as the main dining hall of the hotel, and the present one will be utilized as a dining room for children and their nurses—something that this been very much needed. then, it is expected that the new wing will give them between thirty and forty more sleeping rooms, which is another important consideration.


Feb 22/1894
The Algonquin Wing
When Completed St. Andrews will have a Magnificent Summer Hotel
Among the wearied passengers by Sunday morning’s train was Architect Nourse, of Boston, who had left “The Hub” on Thursday, and who had been wrestling with snow drifts and blocked trains from that time until his arrival here. On Monday, with Mr. Grimmer, the Hotel company’s agent here, Mr. Nourse inspected the Algonquin hotel, and the surrounding ground, with a view to preparing plans for the proposed addition to the hotel. The new wing, it is expected, will cover an area of 60 x 45 feet, and will run up to the height of the present structure. It will be placed on the western end of the building. On the level of the present dining hall (which will be used hereafter as a dining room for children and nurses) will be the main banquet hall. It will occupy all the floor of the wing. Beneath it, on the same level as the present billiard hall, will be a children’s play room and sixteen rooms for the help. The depression at the western extremity of the new wing will also admit of another story, which will contain four or more rooms for the help. On the floor above the dining hall, twenty-eight additional rooms for guests will be provided. The piazza will be extended, so as to embrace the annex. If these plans are carried into effect . . . the Algonquin will be the best equipped summer hotel east of Bar Harbour


March 29/1894
the Algonquin Hotel
Applications for rooms pouring at a Rapid Rate
So far as the Algonquin hotel is concerned, there is every reason to look forward to be the best season that it has ever experienced. Never in the history of the hotel, writes the Secretary-Treasurer to the Beacon, have there been so many applications at such an early date as there are at the present time. With respect to the addition to the hotel, it will not be positively known when work will begin until the return of Mr. R. S. Gardiner, who is now on the Continent. Mr. Gardiner is expected home about the 15th of April. Plans have been made, and an estimate on the same is looked for before many days. "One thing is sure," says the Secretary, "we have got to have an addition to take care of the people as we ought."


July 19/1894
A pair of 'spoons' escaped from the Algonquin last week, and got down town. One was named 'Duckie' and other 'Dearie,' and a very devoted and loving couple they appeared to be. The Algonquin put on its festive attire last Saturday night, and gave itself up to a feast of gayety. Outside, brilliant lights adorned the piazza and grounds; inside, there was even more brilliancy, for there were many brilliant women and brilliant men in their throng, and they made a dazzling display of gorgeous dresses and brilliant jewellery. The orchestra played their choicest airs, and when the rags were removed from the parlour floor nimble feet chased each other through the mazy dance for many hours. It has been a long time since the hotel has witnessed such a merry scene.


The Algonquin never looked more promising from a business point of view than it does this season. Were it twice as large as it is now, Manager Miller says he would have no difficulty in filling it. A very agreeable feature of this hotel, and one that must be a source of gratification to the management, is the fact that the guests of former years are always anxious to return. Many familiar faces may now be seen within its walls. . . . Mysterious parcels of ponderous size may daily be seen drifting towards the Algonquin. The Beacon's curiosity being aroused, enquiries were made, when it was learned that most of these parcels contained tailor-made garments from our local tailors and dress-makers, Mr. W. M Magee has been especially successful in gathering in orders. Not content with his home success he is contemplating a visit to Halifax, with the hope of scooping further orders there.


July 26/1894
When Dr. Wilson left the Algonquin and started for the North Shore, to indulge for a few days' salmon fishing, he promised to remember those he left behind him. And right nobly did he carryout his promise, for on Wednesday last he forwarded to Manager Miller with his compliments a huge box, which when opened, was found to contain seventeen handsome silvery salmon. They were placed on exhibition in the hotel, and one and all pronounced them kingly fish, and Dr. Wilson one of the largest-hearted fishermen they had ever met. On Thursday, the hotel guests revelled in fresh salmon.
. . . The amusement-providers at the Algonquin have their hands full lately devising ways and mean to entertain the large number of guests at the hotel. But the work has been placed in good hands. Mr. Winch, by common consent, assumes control of the field sports, while Mr. Allan, of Boston, looks after the water pastimes. He finds a great deal of difficulty in holding up his end of the plank, owing to the absence of steam pleasure vessels. He has engaged the "Arbutus" for the 8th of August, but needs others to fill in the interim. Capt. Farris, to St. John, has been asked to bring the tug "Lillie" here.
            On Monday night, a brilliant euchre party assembled in the Algonquin parlors on the invitation of Mrs. Wheeler, of Montreal. The ladies wore their most beautiful dresses and their most captivating smiles, and the gentlemen--there is an abundance of good-looking summer men here this year--were as gallant as gallants could be. Everything passed off pleasantly. When the party was finished, and the prizes distributed light refreshments were served. . . . A tennis tournament has been begun on the Algonquin tennis court. There are between twenty and thirty entries . . . . (Elegant prizes from Stickney’s Wedgwood store)


Aug 2/1894
Enlargement of Algonquin needed. Rumour of a "summer house" at Joe's Point.


Some people profess to believe that an Irish named Quinn was the innocent cause of the word “Algonquin” being turned loose. They say that Quinn and a number of thirsty Mic-Macs sat down one day to polish off a square-face of gin, and that when it came to the Irishman’s turn to drink he found the bottle empty. “all gone Quinn?” asked one of the Indians sarcastically, and out of this grew the word “Algonquin.” But this story on the face is a lie, for no Irishman was ever stupid enough to let an Indian get the better of him that way.


Prize for local tennis tournament at hotel a Wedgwood tobacco jar. Big Algonquin from Pleasant Point brought in to officiate.


Aug 9/1894
There is no scarcity of amusement for the summer visitors at the big hotel. If they are fond of tennis, there is a splendid court for them to play upon; if they esteem croquet more, there is an opportunity for them to indulge in the game; if these pastimes are not sufficiently exciting, a baseball or cricket match can always be arranged, with the local players; if they are fond of driving, there are two livery stables to choose teams from; if they enjoy the water, they can go boating or bathing; if their tastes lie in the direction of fish, salt water fishing or fresh water fishing are easily obtainable; if they are knights of the wheel, no better roads for cycling can be found anywhere; if they are given to go rambling, there are many romantic spots to attract their wandering footsteps and if they hanker after none of these things and want to indulge in a good, square rest there is no more restful place in the whole country than St. Andrews.
            The rain on Friday night was no barrier to the pleasures of those encamped beneath the roof of the big hotel. It was Children's Night, and the children of larger growth were just as much pleased as the younger ones. At the western end of the parlor, the figure of one of these sentimental little animals, a donkey, was suspended. it was perfect in every respect except the tail. This was missing. To supply this omission, a number of the young folks with their eyes blinded tried time and time again. One little girl was sure she was in the right position and she began to fasten it in the silvery locks of a distinguished professional gentleman. Another little one stuck the pin into the ear of his donkeyship. A third prodded the knee of an amiable old lady who was seated nearby. And so it went until all were through with trying. then the one who succeeded in hanging the tail in the proper position received a handsome present and all the other little players were rewarded.
            . . . A golf "links" has been added to the out-door games in connection with the Algonquin hotel. Mr. Winch, who is the head and front of all the manly sports that originate in the hotel, is to the fore in this as well.


Jan 24/1895
It is a matter for congratulation that the Algonquin Hotel company have decided to proceed immediately with the enlargement of the hotel. It shows that these shrewd business men have abundant confidence in the future of St. Andrews as summer resort. Now, if the CPR would make a move along the same line we might expect a big boom in the summer business next year.


The Algonquin hotel company will house about 150 tons of ice this winter for next season’s use. W. A. Robertson and Co., fish dealers, will cut 200 tons. The most of the ice will be brought town by rail.


Feb 7/1895
Commencement Made on the New Wing of the House
Messrs. Eugene Fay and A. D. S. Bell, of Boston, representing the St. Andrews Hotel Company, accompanied by their secretary f. Howard Grimmer, were registered at the Royal hotel, St. John, on Thursday, and the same evening they proceeded to Boston by the western train.
            Mr. Bell was waited on by a Telegraph reporter during the evening and found that gentleman in his room packing up his grip sack.
            The reporter was most cordially received by Mr. Bell. In answer to his question if their visit to the city had anything to do with the Algonquin hotel, Mr. Bell said that their mission was mainly in connection with some financial arrangements with the agent in this city of the Imperial Trusts Company. "Well," said the reporter, "you gentlemen apparently anticipate a large tourist travel this season. I understand that tenders have been asked for an extension to the hotel early next spring."
            Mr. Bell--Yes, we do expect a rush this coming season, and although we are not making a fortune out of our enterprise, we are encouraged with the patronage the house has received every year since it was opened. Last year we had more guests than we could well accommodate, and we have good reason to believe that next season we will have even a larger number of tourists to provide for than we had last season. St. Andrews is one of the most beautiful spots for a summer hotel that can be found anywhere. Tourists are delighted with the place, for they speak in the highest terms of the town, of its advantages as a watering resort and of the treatment they receive at the hotel. NO better advertisement than is could be had for any watering place and I am sure, so long as our patrons go away from us with such good reports, we can safely count on another visit from them, and when they do come back they are more than likely to induce others to come along with them. Thus you see how it is that our enterprise is progressing, and let me tell you we are just beginning to get our share of American tourist travel. All that is necessary to divert it to this province is good hotel accommodation and proper facilities for transportation, sea bathing and boating.
Yes, we propose to enlarge our premises; in fact, we have closed the contract with Messrs. Stevenson and McKenzie, of SS, for the building of the addition to the Algonquin. It is to be an extension to the end next the harbour and will be 86 by 43 feet, rising six stories. The sub-basement will contain apartments for the male servants, a children's play room and a cold storage room. The basement will contain apartments for the female help, while the main floor will be given up to one magnificent dining room. In the next three flats will be located new sleeping rooms, single and en suite, and provided with convenient bath-rooms. The old dining-room will be used as a children's and servants' dining-room, a sewing room and ;parlor. The whole is to be completed by June 13th, and the contract price, including plumbing and painting is about 15,000.
            Reporter--Then you consider our province an attractive pace in summer?
            Mr. Bell--Yes; I do think nature has done much for New Brunswick, besides, the facilities provided by steamer and rail cannot be excelled. We are extremely fortunate in having associated with us in this enterprise, gentlemen whose connexions with the various means of communication between the New England Stats and the provinces enable them to not only develop the passenger traffic by their own lines, but to advertise and boom the tourist business in this direction in a thorough manner. I need not tell you, for everybody knows, the great benefits that must result from this class of travel during the summer season. The city, state or town that caters for this traffic in the proper way, provided it is possessed of the necessary facilities may safely count on getting a percentage of it, and just here let me say to you that the tide of American tourist travel has only commenced to flow this way, and it is capable of wonderful development if attention is paid to it.


Messrs. Stevenson and McKenzie, the contractors, reached St. Andrews on Monday, and on Tuesday, despite the big storm, a commencement was made on the work. It is the intention of the contractors to employ a large gang of men, so that the work may be pushed forward as rapidly as possible.


Feb 21/1895
The Algonquin Hotel
The Algonquin of 1895 will be one of the biggest, and grandest, and best summer hotels to be found anywhere east of Bar Harbour. A small army of men are at work hastening along the erection of the new wing, so that everything will be ready and the ground cleared up before the first summer visitor arrives. Deep trenches have been dug out for the foundation and a massive wall is now being constructed to support the wooden superstructure, work on which will soon begin. When the addition is completed the entire building will be painted, so that besides being a joy to the summer visitor it will be a thing of beauty as well.


March 7/1895
From a place of small inns and boarding houses it has become a place of hotels and cottages. A syndicate of far-seeing Americans, a few years ago, purchased extensive tracts of desirable land and built the Algonquin hotel, which at the time was looked upon as a mammoth institution. The demand has already out-grown its size, resulting in extensive additions being made this year, affording to those who have hitherto been unable to secure accommodations during the season a choice of new apartments. The added portion contains a dining hall seating 300 persons, a nurses’ and children’s dining room, ladies’ sitting and writing room,, amusement room, with floor space of over 2,000 square feet, photographer’s dark room, and 43 guests’ rooms, many of which are en suite, with private toilets and baths attaches. To remove any possibility of fire, the furnace, boiler and engine and steam laundry are removed to a point 100 feet distant from the main building, and in this respect it should be noted, that in addition to fire escapes, the hotel has three hard-wood stairways, located at 70 or 80 feet apart. (so 1895 hotel had own powerhouse) The location and successful operation of summer hotels of the Algonquin class result in placing in circulation large sums of money each year that otherwise would not find its way into Canada, for it should be understood that while the Algonquin receives a large patronage from wealthy residents of Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa and Kingston, more than 60 percent of its guests are from the United States. Supplies of groceries, wines, cigars, meats, fish, game, butter, milk and fowl, are all purchased in the Dominion, and in gross amounts to many thousand dollars each year, while the money necessary to pay for building and equipping the hotel in the first instance and that required to erect and furnish the present addition all goes into the hands of the Canadian contractors and through them the mechanic, manufacturer and tradesman. Therefore, we say that such enterprises desire and should receive the encouragement of the Dominion press and the patronage of the Canadian people.
            The workmen are rushing thing a long on the new wing. the stone wall of the sub-basement has been finished several days, and preparations are being made to erect the wooden superstructure. On Monday, the men began pulling down that portion of the old dining room that extended over the western verandah. it is expected that the building will be ready at least a month before the time for opening the housel. Nearly all the contracts for the interior furnishing have been awarded. In awarding these contracts the directors have made it a rule to give advertisers in the beacon—whether in the town or out of it—a preference. They recognize that he paper is a benefit for SA, and that anything that will add to the paper’s strength or influence or that will assist it to live, must be beneficial to their interests as well. the furniture contract has, therefore, been awarded to Messrs. Vroom Bros., of St. Stephen., who have been among the most active advertisers in the Beacon. This firm will also supply the window curtains. the crockery, china and glass-ware will be furnished b Mitchell and Ross, SS, whose advertisements have been features of the Beacon’s columns for several years. Manchester, Robertson and Allison, of Saint John , who have been advertising in this paper ever since it started, will supply the rugs, and A. O. Skinner, of Saint John , another advertiser will likely furnish the necessary carpets.


March 21/1895
The frame of the second story is all up and the room partitions in position. Most of the first flooring has also been laid. the timber for the other flats is being got in readiness, and in a few days will be laid in place.


The immense wing, constructed this year, increases the capacity of the house fifty per cent., affording guests rooms en suite with private baths and toilets; new dining hall, seating 250 guests; amusement room for entertainments and dancing; children and nurse's dining room; ladies' writing and sitting room; amateur photographer's darkroom. Accessories--lady orchestra; telegraph, gas, electric bells; steam heat, open fires; elevator, fresh and salt water baths. "The St. Andrews Golf Club," of 40 members, has two sets of links.


April 4/1895
The Algonquin Hotel
the roof timbers of the new wing are now erected, and in a few days will be boarded in. the first floors have all been laid on the several flats, the partitions erected, and the work of lathing is being pushed with all speed. Plastering will be begun as soon as the weather and the condition of the building will permit. All the gas and steam pipes have been laid, and considerable of the plumbing done. the greater part of the alterations to the interior of the old building has also been made, and painters are now at work painting the exterior.
            Messrs. Stevenson and McKenzie have been awarded the contract for building the engine-house, laundry and coal house across the street from the rear of the hotel. they will be low structures, 10 feet post, so as not to interfere with the view. the laundry will be 24 x 50 feet, the engine-house 16 x 20 feet, the coast house 18 x 24 feet. (Not very large)


April 18/1895
Robert S. Gardiner, of Boston, vice-president of the Algonquin Hotel Company, came her from Boston last week, to look after hotel interests. he was accompanied by Mrs. Gardiner and Miss Gardiner. Mr. Gardiner reports that the summer prospects never looked brighter for St. Andrews than they do this season. he based this statement upon the large number of enquiries the Secretary of the Company, Mr. A. D.S. Bell, of Boston, is receiving, and from the number of engagements that have already been made. Mr. Gardiner says that he summer boat and train arrangement swill be found very satisfactory. Hitherto, there has been considerable complaint from west-bound passengers concerning delays, but this season there should be none, for the 4:30 train will make close connection with the western train from Saint John. As the season advances, in order to encourage Montréal to visit us more frequently, a Pullman will alternate between here and Montreal. Mr. Gardiner says that he will probably soon begin the erection of a stone cottage for himself, and will either rent or sell his present summer dwelling. Mr. Shaughnessy, he says, is still talking of building.


May 2/1895
Up at the big Algonquin work is being pushed along with marvellous rapidity. all the roof and gable end have been shingled, and on Monday shingling was begun on the sides of the house. the mason shave about finished the plastering on the third and fourth floors, and when the door frames are put in and the doors hung these floors will be about complete. the painters are keeping close upon the heels of the carpenters. the entire building is the embodiment of strength and beauty. Nor has safety been sacrificed, for large fire escapes are being erected. the foundation of the walls of the engine room and laundry are being laid as fast as possible.


May 9/1895
Shingling complete; painting begun


May 16/1895
The Algonquin Hotel
To properly appreciate the magnificent extent of the improvements in connection with St. Andrews big summer hotel, it is necessary that a personal inspection of it should be made. the building, under the supervision of Messrs. Stevenson and McKenzie, is now in a very forward state, and if necessary could be finished up in a fortnight. All the floors in the annex are plastered, with the exception of the fourth, on which the plasterers begun on Tuesday. the finishing coat has been applied to the walls of the third storey, and the carpenters are now putting in the door frames and laying the top floor  the second flat will be fished up in a day or two. the magnificent big dining hall is plastered and the wainscoting around the walls completed. In the basement, where the help’s rooms are, the walls are all plastered. the sub-basement has not yet been partitioned off. it he old laundry room, a large brick, oven is in course of construction. the plumbing for the building, which is being done by W. H. Donovan, of SS, is well advanced. the radiators are erected in the dining hall and only await connection, and the private bath closets on the several floors are nearly all finished. the painters have nearly completed their outside work. the verandah, which is one of the most notable features of the annex, is about all floored. the engine and boiler, which were removed last week, will be set up in their new position this week alongside the laundry building the from a of which is constructed. the walls of the coat building are completed. there is not doubt that everything in connection with the hotel will be in readiness for opening on July 1st.


May 23/1895
The Algonquin hotel, which is so rapidly nearing completion, will experience its biggest success this season. Year after year since it was first opened to the public in 1889, an increasing number of guests has been drawn to it, but this year with the enlarged facilities which the annex will give, it is expected that the number will be doubled.


June 20/1895
The Algonquin hotel is finished. Messrs. E. F. Fay and H.. M. Nourse, of Boston, on behalf of the Company, took over the building this week, and a staff of help, under the direction of Mrs. Jacobs, housekeeper, is now getting the hotel in readiness for opening next Wednesday. the new wing gives the hotel forty-two additional guest rooms, several of which are en suite, with private baths and toilet rooms. the new dining hall, 44 x 84, is a marvel of beauty and elegance, and it is doubtful if there is another hotel on the continent that has such an unexampled view from its banqueting chamber as has the Algonquin. it will seat 300 guests. the walls are painted a beautiful shade of green, and a dado of egg shell white running all round. the ceiling is the same tint as the dado, the effect being very pleasing to the eye. the addition gives greater kitchen space, while it also provides for the housing of the hotel help. Heretofore, the servants have been maintained in an outside, building, but now they will be all under ht one roof. the isolation of the laundry, and engine room also removed a ground of objection that the old building possessed. While the enlarged hotel has been made a thing of beauty, the safety of the guests has also been considered by the erection of ample fire escape, which it is sincerely hoped, may never have to be used. the extended piazza is another feature that will be appreciated by the guest of the housel  A good idea of its length may be obtained when it is stated that nine laps of it make a mile. the furniture for the new wing is now on the ground and is being put in place with all speed. a neat folder has just been issued by the proprietors of Kennedy’s hotel, St. Andrews. it has a bird’s eye view of St. Andrews and the country in its vicinity, and a picture of Kennedy’s hotel, and it contains a variety of information for tourist and summer visitors--Telegraph


June 27/1895
Staff: (only one from SA) (cf. 1896 photo)
Albert Miller, Manager
Charles M. Detrick New York, clerk
Miss Jennie martin, Boston, house-keeper
Mrs. L. F. Jacobs, Boston, house-keeper
George Bollbrecht, New York, chef
peter knell, New York, 2nd cook
John Messer, New York, baker and pastry cook
H. E. Emery, Boston, head Waiter
E. f. Carey, Boston, Engineer
J. E. Mason, Boston, wine steward and barber
Alphonsus O’Neill, SA, steward
Miss J. Belle shotwell, Boston, organizer of entertainment
Miss A. McLean, providence, Rhode Island, type-writer
Orchestra—Mrs. Carey, pianist, Miss Blanche Percival, violinist; Miss Gertrude Packard, cornetist all of Boston


July 11/1895
The Saturday night festivities at the Algonquin were inaugurated on Saturday night last, when a very pleasing impromptu concert was carried out in the hotel parlour. A large number of townspeople attended, on the invitation of Manager Miller. Miss Shotwell--two solos; Mrs. Pattengill--several selections "most artistically"; Mrs. Carey on piano, Miss Blanch Percival, violinist, Miss Gertrude Packard, cornetist.


Aug 1/1895
the road leading from the Algonquin to the park has lately been place din splendid shape.


There are more marriageable young men at the Algonquin this season than ever before. match—making mamma should note this fact.


Aug 29/1895
There was a marked contrast between the appearance of things within and without the Algonquin on Saturday night. It was the occasion of the grand fancy dress ball, and while outside the rain pelted piteously against the roof and dark clouds obscured the glory of the heavens, inside all was brightness, gayety and vivacity. Nearly all the characters who participated in the wax works were represented on the floor, besides man new ones. In the grand march the Marquis of Lorne (G. H. McCarthy) led off with Princess Louise (Miss Parker), while behind them was a brilliant throng of historical, classic and miscellaneous figures. [Old Woman, French Laundress, Flower girl, French Nurse] . . . The ladies' attendants at the Algonquin intend holding a ball in the Land Company Building this evening . . . Achilles, R. B. Van Horne


Sept 5/1895
The farewell ball which the young lady attendants at the Algonquin gave in he Land Company building, on Thursday, evening lat, was one of the pleasantest functions of the kind that has ever taken place here. the handsome decorations of the room together with the pretty dresses and prettier faces of the young ladies made a most brilliant scene. All the hotel employees were represented, each wearing a silken badge, bearing upon it the legend, “Algonquin, 1895.”


Sept 12/1895
Summer Hotel Closed
The Algonquin hotel, after being open thirty-one days in July, thirty-one days in August, and eleven days in September, has closed for the summer. the season has been an uncommonly short one, and from a financial point of view not as satisfactory as was looked for. However, the hotel management say they have done much better than many of the other coast hotels, and if they are pleased with the result the outside public ought to be. Already the managers are formulating plans for next season’s business. many of this year’s guests have arranged for rooms for 1896.


A Costly Vacation
There are few people who can afford to travel in the style of Mr. Louis Cabot, of New Hampshire. who is now enjoying an outing on Campobello, together with his wife and sister, a man-servant and maid-servant, and one of the Raymond-Whitcomb guides. It is over three weeks since Mr. Cabot and his party came to St. Andrews in a luxurious Pullman car; since then this car, with two colored men in attendance, has been lying in St. Andrews yard, at a daily expense to Mr. Cabot of $50. When he is travelling he is required to pay for his party a sum equal to eighteen fares. this amount, added to hotel bills, cost of car, etc., during Mr. Cabot’s outing would make a respectable little fortune for some people.


(staff end of year entertainment)
The cake-walk and donkey party given on Friday evening, by the attendants at the Algonquin was a decided success in every particular. Prof. Rooney rendered some very fine selections most enjoyable to all. the judges pronounced Miss Rose Gibson and Mr. George Bollbrecht, the chef, winners of the beautiful cake bearing the name of the house in large white letters encircled by an artistically arranged wreath of pansies. the room was tastefully decorated with an abundance of flowers, flags of different nations and Japanese lanterns of various colors. Preceding the cake-walk a presentation was made to Mr. John Messer, the baker, of a few pieces of Wedgwood as a token of esteem in which he was held.


Jan 16/1896
Algonquin Hotel—What the Management Hope to do in 1896
Mr. A. D. S. Bell, Treasurer of the Algonquin Hotel Company, writing to the Beacon from Boston with relation to the coming hotel season, says:
I know full well how interested you are in St. Andrews and what pertains to its prosperity, and perhaps at the commencement of the new year you would like to know hat the proprietors of the Algonquin are going to do the coming season. As we look back up the management of the at hotel since it was first built, we do so with a great deal of pleasure and feel that we are justified in doing so. We are not unmindful that a good part of the success that has come to us is from the able management that we have had in the past. This year, we have selected as manager Mr. A. W. Weeks, a man who comes to use with the strongest recommendation, and one that we believe is entitled to be ranked in the A1 lists. Having been manager of the Bluefield Inns, Virginia; the Cheswick Inn, Littleton, NH, Montauk Club, Long Island; and Hamilton Hotel, Bermuda, he certainly has had experience which must be of great value to the Algonquin. e have no question but that the table will be as good and if possible better and more delicate than ever and that the hotel will retain its reputation for being first-class in every respect.
            With the new addition to the laundry, we have decided to place that under an individual management, which insures us better results for the future. From the large number of arrangements for rooms for the coming year and the many inquiries we are having, we are sure that we shall have all the guests that we can take care of during the season of 1896. As for pleasure and amusements for the guests, we are going to make this season a special effort to make everything attractive. We are quite sure our golf links cannot be excelled and from the present indications they bid fair to become well-known among the lovers of that game as being the best in the country. We hear in a quiet way that several valuable prizes are to be presented to the Algonquin Club for several tournaments that are surely to take place."


July 2/1896
Algonquin Hotel
The New Staff—Some of the Engagements Booked for the Season
Mr. A. W. Weeks, Manager
W. W. Edgerton, clerk, late of Highland park Hotel, Aitken, St. Croix Courier
Miss Rutherford, cashier and telegraph operator
Miss J. K. Kimball, housekeeper, late of Holderness school, NH
G. F. Braxton, chef, Boston
D. Ducker, Second cook, Boston
Edward Liard, Steward, Boston
J. Becker, baker (pastry cook)
J. W. Mason, billiard marker
Charles Small, Engineer
J. W. Wall, Head Waiter
S. Boone, Porter
Miss Eva Goodwin on violin will be in charge of the three-piece orchestra.  Also Miss Hoyt and Miss Jones.


July 9/1896
The Algonquin bell-boys suits are very handsome. They were made by Hanson and Grady.


G. F. Braxton, chef at the Algonquin, does not regard himself as “the autocrat of the breakfast table,” yet the title would seem to be quite an appropriate one for him. Mr. Braxton is an author. he has already published one book and has another in the press. he does not write of love and such dreamy nonsense, but of something that is more essential to man’s happiness and longevity, viz., good cooking.


See Library of Congress
Braxton, George F. [from old catalogue]
Braxton's practical cook book.
Boston, Walker, Young & co., 1886.
96 p. 21 cm.


A Naughty Parrot
Hotel Life was More than it could stand.
“Hotel men meet with amusing experiences sometimes,” remarked Manager Weeks, of the Algonquin, to the Beacon. “One of the funniest incidents I remember was occasioned by a parrot, the travelling companion and bosom friend of a maiden lady, one of the guests of the house. the bird was quite well behaved when it first entered upon hotel life, but evil communications soon corrupted its goof manner and it became terribly depraved. the bell boys seemed to have a special mission to tease the parrot and to teach it to use naughty words. Finally, it became such a nuisance that I was forced to tell the lady that the hotel or the parrot would have to be removed. Of course, she was indignant, and of course she protested that Polly was not a nuisance but a “dear old chap.” But the order had gone forth and there was no recalling it. the morning that we parted company the corridors of the Hotel were crowded with guests. never shall I forget the sensation that the bird cause as its owner carried it through the hotel to the coach. All the cuss words in its vocabulary were trotted out for he occasion to the secrete amusement of the boys and the horror of the ladies. “Polly won’t go,” it screamed. “Polly’ll be ------------- if she’ll go,” were the last words I heard it utter as its horrified owner hustled the naughty bird into the cab. Since then I draw the line at parrots.


Sept 3/1896
The gentle art of needlework flourished on the broad verandas of the Algonquin these pleasant summer mornings. Coming in from long rides on wheel, boat or buckboard, the rocking chairs prove very inviting and admonitions “To bring your fancy work and sit down awhile” are as frequent as in the days of New England Puritanism when to get up stitches and darn smoothly were the chief aim of women. A quartet of very accomplished needlewomen are Mrs. Heney and Mrs. Hosmer, two sisters from Montreal, Mrs. Page of Philadelphia, and Mrs. John J. Thomson, of Saint John , whose devotion to embroidery, however, does not prevent their taking a very active part in all the gayeties going on in the house. The latter has been one of the special leaders in all the entertainments at the Algonquin this summer.


Sept 10/1896
A noted party of five ladies played five-handed euchre in the hotel office before the cheerful fire on Wednesday evening, the 2nd inst. It was their farewell game, after which they wished one another an affectionate adieu and hoped to meet again. thus the circle has gradually narrowed and many familiar faces are lost to view. the Bonapartes, the Winch’s, the Wheelers, the Hopes, the Egans the Wilsons, the Hosmers, the Thompsons, the Reids, the Lombards, the Gardiners and the Gilbert party no longer tarry at the Algonquin and cottage life is now the prominent feature at St. Andrews.


Jan 28/1897
The Algonquin Hotel Company is looking forward to ’97 as the “banner year.” The Company has already begun advertising in the south and west.


March 18/1897
Algonquin: applications coming in earlier than usual. Additional private baths to be installed.


Algonquin Hotel
The Algonquin hotel, as will be noted by the advertisement on the fourth page, will open about July 1st under the Management of Messrs. Harvey and Wood, of Ericson Hotel, Boston, and Kushaqua Lodge, Adirondacks.


July 22/1897
There has been considerable good-natured rivalry between the two “solid men” of the Algonquin as to which one was the faster. Mr. Jules S. Thebaud, of Paris, whose running weight is in the vicinity of 260 pounds, was positive that he could cover the ground in quicker time than H. G. Phinney, of Waterbury, Conn., who carried about with him 230 lbs of flesh, bone and adipose tissue, and Mr. Penney was just a confident of his ability to run. Solid ground was found in front of the hotel, and the two started. Mr. Thebaud was easily able to sustain this claim, Mr. Penney finishing in rather groggy form.


Aug 12/1897
Nasturtiums and sweet peas can now be had in abundance. The Corridor at the Algonquin where the children carry them for sale is permeated with their sweet fragrance. The Algonquin guests eagerly purchase these and many beautiful flowers, for which St. Andrews is justly famed.


May 12/1898
The War and the Tourist Traffic
Manager Harvey, of the Algonquin hotel, should be an authority on the tourist business, as for very many years he has been actively identified with hotels and the travelling public. Asked by the Beacon what his opinion was with respect to the influence of the war upon the tourist business, he said that he felt that the summer hotels in the Provinces would not suffer by the war. he based his opinion largely upon the fact that European travel would be shut off, and that most of those who made annual trips to Europe in the summer season would visit the provinces. Secretary Treasurer Bell, of the Hotel Company endorsed this belief. He said that tourist from the United States would visit the Provinces in large numbers this year, for two reasons. First, because they would not care to go to Europe in the present troublous time, and second because the sympathy that Britain and her colonies have shown to the united States in their war with Spain had created a desire on the part of Americans to mingle with Provincialists and know more about them and their country. The strife had brought the two nations very close together and he felt that it was for their mutual good. Mr. Harvey did not think that there would be many permanent hotel visitors—that is, people who would remain during the season. Most of the traffic would be of a transient character. For this reason he did not look for a large cottage population in 1898.


June 30/1898
Algonquin staff for 1898:
Harvey and Wood, Managers
W. H. Torrey, of The Empire, Boston, chief clerk
Percy Betts, Exeter, Mass, Room Clerk
Miss Rutherford, telegraph operator
E. Colby, of The Ericson, Boston, chef
Alfred Nixon, Boston, second cook
Miss Abbie Todd, Housekeeper
William Best, The Ericson, Boston, head-waiter
C. S. Small, SA, chief Engineer


July 14/1898
The Algonquin orchestra supplies the guests with sweet music every day. it is composed this season of Mr. Joseph Dwyer, violin. Mr. H. McLaughlin, violincello; Miss Sherborne, of Lowell, Mass., pianist. The two former musicians are from the Boston Conservatory of Music.


July 21/1898
Two hops per week are the only gayeties indulged in by the Algonquin guests so far this summer. We miss some of the active spirits of by-gone seasons.


Aug 18, 1898
Algonquin guests have been picking perch bones out of their teeth for the last week, and its has all been owing to the fact that Mr. D. B. Claflin went fishing in Wheaton lake last Thursday. He caught fully four hundred of the silvery beauties.


Aug 25/1898
Algonquin Hotel Company and Land Company Meetings
the annual meeting of the Algonquin Hotel Company was held Saturday last, when the following officers and directors were elected:--W. A. Murchie, president; F. H. Grimmer, Vice-President; A. D. S. Bell, Secretary-Treasurer. Directors: W. A. Murchie, F. H. Grimmer, A. D. S. Bell, D B. Claflin, R. S Gardiner, D. J. Flanders, E. F. Fay.
            The St. Andrews Land Company’s officials chosen were: F. W. Cram, President; Robert S. Gardiner, Vice-president; a. D. S. Bell, Secretary-treasurer. Directors: f. W. Cram, Robert Gardiner, A. D. S. Bell, D. B. Claflin. R. A. Cobb, E. F. Fay, D. J. Flanders. J. E. Hoar, E A. Tat, j. B. Coyle, George L Connor. R. E. Boothby, C V Lord, C F. Bragg, Sir Donald A. Smith.


The "sports" at the Algonquin had a "peep shoot" on Saturday and on Monday night. Their game furnished the basis for a very enjoyable "peep supper."


Sept 1/1898
The closing early of the summer hotel in St. Andrews is a matter to be regretted. September is really the finest month that we have. To deprive visitors of the shelter of our best hotel during that month is a circumstance that is not calculated to add to the development of the place as a summer resort. Influence of Spanish American war. Other resorts didn’t do well either.


Nov 17/1898
A barrel of Algonquin spring water has been sent to Mr. Claflin in Boston. The mineral properties in this water make it valuable for medical purposes.


March 30/1899
The managers of the Algonquin Hotel . . . expect that the season of 1899 will witness a bigger tide of tourist travel to the Maritime Provinces, than ever before. Already, Messrs. Harvey and Wood have booked a number of engagements for the coming season, among them being many persons who wintered at the Piney Woods Hotel (Georgia) The Algonquin Hotel will be in splendid shape for the rush of guests. Among the improvements that the company intend carrying out is the introduction of a new lighting apparatus, which, if the promises are realized, will make the hotel a perfect blaze of brilliancy in the evening.


July 6/1899
Algonquin opens. List of Head staff.
Managers Harvey and Wood
Chief Clerk H. S Torrey
Assistant clerk—W. C. Conn
Operator—Miss Rutherford
Housekeeper—Miss Abbie Todd
Head Bellman—Daniel T. Doherty
Head Waiter—William Best
Chef—Frank Colby
Second chef—Alfred Nixon
Third Chef—John McAlleer
Barber—James Halpin
Engineer—Hugh Lewis
Orchestra—Miss Baird chief, pianist; Miss Balanger violinist, and Miss Goldtwait, cellist.


July 20/1899
Many old faces now gather about the dining tables of the Algonquin, making the hotel very home like and pleasant. “We are like one family here,” remarked a genial Ottawan.


Sept 7, 1899
Sir Hugh Allan among the last to check out of the Algonquin.