Old St. Andrews



The St. Andrews and Quebec Railway



The St. Andrews and Quebec Railroad


July 16/1835
From "The Augustan Age" out of Augusta, Maine. Meeting at Augusta concerning proposed RR to Quebec.


Sept 3/1835
Piece on proposed Portland/Quebec Railway.


Piece on Railroad to access more remote timber land, as per 1834, by same editor, Mr. Smith, to which fact he himself alludes, nay directly mentions. Along Saint John River to Woodstock. Not totally partisan with regard to St. Andrews.


Sept 19/1835
Proposed St. Lawrence - Maine RR will pass through Lake Megantic.


Oct. 1/1835
Rail Roads—
In a preceding column may be found some pertinent remarks by the Editor of the Montreal Gazette on the proposed Railways to Quebec from Boston, Portland, and Belfast. We have also made some extracts from an ale report on the vallies of the Etchemin and Chaudiere, by Captain Yule of the Royal Engineers; who was appointed by His Excellency Lord Aylmar to make a reconnoissance in August last, in compliant with an address from a Committee of Citizens of Quebec, appointed to promote a Railway Communication between that City and the Atlantic, through the State of Maine. Col. Long of the U. S. Service has also made a report on the Portland and Quebec Route, which we have likewise inserted.
            The great object of the Canadians is to overcome the untoward circumstances of their being shut out from marine commerce for one half of the year, and a very feasible means of accomplishing this object presents itself in the construction of Railways from the Saint Lawrence to the Atlantic. The Americans, fully aware of the immense benefits which their country would derive by possessing the transit of British and Colonial trade have entered on the exploration of practicable routes through different departs of Massachusetts, Maine and Vermont, with a vigour and perseverance which shows the value they set on its accomplishment. They will engage to carry the whole line as far as Quebec, if authority be given hem by the Provincial Government. With these facts before our eyes, does it not become an important inquiry, to us, whether an opening may not be made through our own territories, which would equally serve the commercial purposes of Canada, and diffuse the benefits which would flow from it over these provinces?
            We find a remarkable coincidence in the opinions of the Belfast people and those of Capt. Yule as to the effect the Railways through Maine would have in extending their advantages to this province; but Capt. Yule in considering the best direction for a permanent line, throw out a hint that it is highly important to keep in view the intended Steam-boat communication from Valentis to Halifax, and that a more easterly course of the line from Quebec, would lead through New Brunswick. An attentive perusal of the copious extracts in our preceding columns will tend to elucidate the preliminary observations we now make on a subject which is of paramount importance to British North America; and to no portion of it more than our own.
            Other ages have been celebrated as the days of invention, but the present period may be called the era of execution. Splendid and extensive projects produce surprise and distrust at their first announcement, and are often the subject of ridicule, but our present experience should enable us to correct this error, which is the bane of enterprise and the direct enemy to genius. A quarter of a century ago, he would have been considered a bedlamite who should have suggested the possibility of covering the ocean with ships divested of sails but perfectly adapted to the purposes of navigation; or of propelling vehicles on land at a rate exceeding the velocity of the wind; yet we have seen these miracle performed and progressively extending their wonders. Under these views we do not entertain any serious doubt of seeing a Railway extending directly from this town to Quebec; and w shall conclude the present article with a quotation from a paper written by Henry Fairbairn Esq. and published upwards of three years ago in the Untied Service Journal, entitled “Progress for Maine Railways across the Isthmus of Panama, and in the British Possessions in North America: . . . .


Oct. 8/1835
Joseph Howe proposed railroad from Halifax to Windsor.


SA/Quebec Railroad--meeting to consider formation of Company.


Nov. 26/1835
Proposal for SS-Milltown RR fails in Provincial Council, much to editor's dismay, because 24 million feet of lumber are annually sluiced down the waterway injuriously and expensively.


Dec 3/1835
Many reports of railroads springing up in US and England. The shipping journal for St. Andrews seems nowhere as extensive as in the preceding two years. The editor seems a temperance man. Occasionally sympathetic articles on tragic deaths--boy by gin, man in St. Andrews suffocating in barn full of hay.


Dec 13/1835
Some new NB Companies
NB East India Company
Shediac and Petticodiac RR
Richibucto and Grand Lake RR
SA and Quebec RR
SS Whaling Co.
(whaling ships sail out of St. Andrews as well)


Feb 25/1836
The announcement of the formation of the SA/Quebec RR Assoc. has found its way into almost all the papers of the provinces, and many of the US. We are gratified to find this stupendous project treated with respectful consideration. . . .


March 17/1836
History of English railways. Large first page with small section on each.


Aug 11/1836
Article in Montreal Morning courier on SA/Quebec Railway. Summary of legislative and financial history to date, and impending border problems.


Aug 25/1836
From Portland Advertiser:
Britain as stolen the idea for a railway to Quebec from Maine. Rather paranoid. Sees an English conspiracy to deprive New England of is rightful trade. Certainly, Maine came up with the idea first, though the Standard had been advocating the idea of developing a railroad for the timber trade within the province.


Nov. 24/1836
Progress of roads and ships in NB, and St. Andrews. Good on development of communication lines within province. See photocopy.


Progress of the Province
In our number preceding the last we introduced the subject of roads, intending to argue that the improvement of the means of communication is a true test of the general condition of a new country, and we now resume the task proposed.
            We must contest that there is a . . . in our personal knowledge of the history of the road management subsequent to the year 1830, up to which time former notices referred; we shall therefore enter on the state of our present highway contrasted with their condition ten or twelve years ago.
            We have already mentioned that it was a judicious measure to place the seat of government as near the center as possible, because, as it was the heart from which the life blood of the Country should ensure, it was properly considered that thither should reciprocating veins flow from the provincial extremities, and a convenient and wholesome circulation be kept up: whereas had it been placed on the sea board . . . . And yet from that center, ten years ago, there was not one carriage road in a tolerable state of repair, to any point of the province. From Fredericton to Canada, the mail was carried in every variety of form that ingenuity could suggest, and we believe the journey occupied a fortnight. From Head Quarters to Miramichi there was an occasional cow path, a military blaze across the portage, almost perpendicular? to the river, and bewildering tracks through the intervals. The road to Halifax by the Washadernoak and Sussex ? could only be partly travelled on horseback and from Westmoreland to the east of the Province there was no road at all. A road had been opened from Fredericton to St. Andrews, but its absolute impracticability made it to be avoided, and it has long ago been abandoned. Communication from the seat of Government to St. John was principally carried on by Sloops until the "odious monopoly" of the Steam boat" was introduced, and on winter stages could sometimes for a passage on the ice. From St. John to Westmorland there was no proper road, and through Sussex Vale and Petticodiac it had to be undertaken at persona risk and enormous expense. There was no road from the city to St. Andrews, but a tortuous path over heaths and hills and in some places so indistinct as almost to puzzle the eye of the Indian. These we believe were all the means of communication that this province could boast of ten year ago, for the cross roads were--we may say still are so inconsiderable as scarcely to deserve notice.
            Let us now turn to the present state of our highways and to the accommodations to be found from the St. Croix to the Restigouche and from Camouraska to St. John. Formerly there was not the smallest essay at any thing like a Hotel on the roads, but at every stage there was a log hut dignified by the name of Tavern, because its bar was generally surrounded by noisy loungers busily occupied in chewing tobacco and swilling potations of execrable rum. Should one of these cabanes be furnished with a boarded floor, an arrival was always distinguished by the application of the mop and scrubbing brush; until the apartment was rendered as uncomfortable as it could possibly be made. Every meal was served up with tea, and the deafening biz-biz of the frying pan uniformly gave notice of eggs and bacon--the unvaried dish of every table. Those who remained for the night had to select the smoothest board, the luxury of a bed never being a matter of any consideration.
            The communication between St. John and Fredericton in summer is by means of three steam boats, and sloops by the river, and Bradley's post wagon by the Nerepsis Road; in winter by numerous Stages both on the ice and by the road. Larry Stivers and Austin have established a line between these important points, departing from each place three times a week. Stages were run last winter to Woodstock and we understand that conveyance may be now had much higher up the river. The Stage Coach Company of St. John afford great convenience to those travelling to Nova Scotia or the Eastern part of this province, passing through the beautiful scenery through Sussex Vale, to the ? of Peticodiac a traveller may proceed to Nova Scotia or turn off the Miramichi and even Bathurst by public conveyances. From Miramichi the Swims run stages to Fredericton, and in the winter session the same route is accommodated by numerous vehicles. From St. John to St. Andrews there is a land conveyance summer and winter, and for most part of the year, Steam boats ply three times a week. The old road between St. Andrews and Head Quarters is nearly all grown up, and the intended [railroad] line, we hope, will this winter receive due consideration in the public appropriations by the House of Assembly. Great alterations and improvements have been made in the line from St. Andrews to Saint John, and its completion will no doubt be speedily accomplished under its present supervisor. From St. Andrews to SS, a constant communication is maintained most part of the year by the Steamers and Armstrong's packet and in winter by Sleighs. It may now be seen what immense improvements have been made in the mode on conveyance throughout the province within a few years, and we trust that this evidence of internal prosperity will duly appreciated, and cherished by those who possess the power of directing or controlling it. We shall endeavour to follow up this subject by some reflection and thoughts on the management and formation of our public thoroughfares.


March 23/1837
From Berwick Advertiser:
SA/Quebec RR Corporation incorporated with capital of 750,000 pounds in 30,000 shares of 25 pounds each. Similar to act to be passed in Lower Canada for 250,000 pounds.
            The RR "will convey the whole trade of the St. Lawrence in a single day to the Atlantic waters,--cutting off a navigation of 1,200 miles down the river St. Lawrence and round the shores of Nova Scotia. thus the timber, provisions and other exports of the provinces may be brought to the Atlantic not only with more speed, regularity and security, but with the great additional advantage of a navigation open at all seasons of the year, the harbour of St. Andrews being deep, capacious, and never closed in the winter season, whilst the St. Lawrence is unmanageable from ice, from the month of November to May."


Dec 9/1837
Piece on Belfast-Quebec Railway. Bill passed delaying further surveying of line until state funds available. "The great rival of our intended rail line to Quebec." "If ever a RR extend from the Atlantic waters to those of the St. Lawrence, it must be that from St. Andrews to Quebec."


Dec 10/1845
Editorial summarized SA/Quebec Railway history and argues for St. Andrews as commercial terminus of proposed line to Quebec; concedes superiority of Halifax for a purely military line. See photocopy.


Dec 17/1845
Meeting in St. Andrews to revive proposed SA/Quebec RR Association of 10 years past. St. Andrews closer by 60 miles than Saint John and by 250 miles than Halifax, editor.


Jan 14/1846
Meeting in St. Stephen to promote RR from Quebec to Passamaquoddy Bay. D. Sullivan one of the committee members, right next to Wm. Todd no less. Also G. S. Hill, MPP, James Brown, MPP, Hon. H. Hatch, Nehemiah Marks, Dr. R. Thomson, MPP, James Boyd, MPP, J. H. Whitlock, Alex Campbell, John Wilson.


The Halifax/Quebec ideas haven’t gotten to British parliament, though it has been brought to the attention of Robert Peel.


Feb 11/1846
Editorials have begun to appear on the RR question for the last few months.


Forceful editorial for St. Andrews as RR terminus to Canada. Descries warmongering politicians, who would plunge us into another war with US. Emphasizes ties with US, rather than conflicts. Commerce should supersede all else. Only St. Andrews line could compete with lines projected in Maine and Mass.


Aug 19/1846
Long editorial on SA/Quebec RR. If the Boston-Portland line, constructed at great expense between cities regularly connected by steamship services, could turn a handsome profit, how much more a cheap wooden RR from St. Andrews to Quebec.


Aug 26/1846
Know-it-all editorial on the advantages of wooden railroad rails.


Sept 2/1846
More on wooden rails.


Sept 9/1846
Editorial: annually 200,000 tons of timber rafted from Grand Falls to Saint John, distance of 140 miles. RR much better for all parties--except Saint John, if line came to St. Andrews from Grand Falls.


Dec 2/1846
At RR meeting recently held: Mr. Chadburne of Eastport, among other objections refuted, "Think not should this route be adopted, and St. Andrews become the terminus, that your town will be overstocked with travelers, or burthened with lumber without a means of getting rid of either: ships will be in readiness to carry your lumber, and we (the Americans), will meet you with a Portland Railway, and take up your first passenger the moment he steps from your train, and carry him to Boston, NY or N Orleans, should he wish to go, without waiting half an hour."


Jan 6/1847
Editorial on past year: "In our own Province, little of importance has transpired. But the tide is flooding--industry has taken the place of supineness--activity has supplanted indolence--an impetus (slight though it may be) has been given to commerce--and a spirit of enterprise pervades our community, and good results must follow. After comparing present prosperity to our past depression, we augur better times."


Electric telegraph in NB--from Halifax to Montreal. May not wait for RR. Eastport and Woodstock favorable to SA/Quebec RR.


Aug 18/1847
Praise in Eastport Sentinel for SA/Q RR. Hopes Portland Montreal line will also be realized. "It would be the means of speedily creating a commendable spirit of public improvement and progress, of energizing and rousing the public mind, and of thus removing occasion for the now oft made remark of visitors from abroad, that NB in most of the great improvements of the time is a century behind the age.


Aug 25/1847
Piece on SA/Q RR from London Railway Record, July 24/1847
Editorial: "A bright day for St. Andrews fast approaching, and we see in anticipation its glorious results. The busy hum of men will gain be heard in our streets, and soon all will be life, and activity, and joy."


Oct 6/1847
3 divisions of St. Lawrence and Atlantic RR in progress in Maine. Hon Judge Preble and Mr. Poor in Montreal on related business.


Oct 13/1847
SA/Q RR explored and surveyed as far as Soldier's Brook, Waweig.


Oct 27/1847
three possible RR routes proposed by James Laurie, Civil Engineer--2 terminating at lighthouse passing though Katy's Cove; other from Joe's Point through Brandy Cove.


Nov 3/1847
Piece from Cincinnati Chronicle on RR's as way of future, listing miles completed in US between 1830 and 1847: 30-155; 31-17; 32-29; 33-151; 34-86; 35-287; 36-316; 37-237; 38-57; 39-340; 40-279; 41-183; 42-277; 43-509; 45-410; 46-484; 47-205. Total: 5740


Editorial on above piece: demonstrates utility, importance and benefits resulting from the construction, "of these great moral instruments." Chamcook, K Cove, Lighthouse route selected. Ground to be broken in next few days.


Nov 17/1847
Railway line being cut and levelled on Col. Wyer's and H. O'Neill's farm.


Dec 1/1847
Letter from F. S. A.: "The election is between railroads and poverty. . . . The present condition of the wood trade strikingly illustrates the necessity of opening up new avenues to industry. Lumber is our only staple of exportation,--when this fails, all fails--the county has no other resources of trade--no props to support itself.


June 7/1848
A large number of immigrants who came out in the Star, have been discharged from Quarantine Island, and are now in town, where they have been provided with lodgings. We understand that houses are in course of erection for them, near the line of the Railroad, which are to be completed by Monday next, when, we are informed, the labourers will commence working on the road.


June 21/1848
We have much pleasure in stating that the labourers on the Railway are making satisfactory progress with the work. Little more than a week has elapsed since they commenced, and a good road has been already made some distance from the Bar road toward the Point at Katy’s Cove. It is also gratifying to hear those sons of the Emerald Isle expressing themselves satisfied with the treatment and speaking in warm terms of commendation of the Directors of the Rail Road Company. While viewing the work the other day, we were forcibly struck with the regularity with which each department was carried on—the willingness with which the men worked, and even the youth from 14 years upwards seemed to vie with each other in the endeavour to give satisfaction—and it is a pleasing sight to witness the perfect harmony which pervades the whole. Could the wealthy Irish landlords, see the labourers sent out by Earl Fitzwilliam, at work on the Railroad, and hear, as we have, their expressions of contentment we feel confident they would not hesitate in following the noble example of the Earl. While speaking of the Railroad we would call attention to an able article on Colonization in our columns copied from the London Railway Record—one of the most respectable and ably conducted Railway Journals in England.


June 21/1848
New steamer Commodore, owned by James Whitney, to start for Boston soon. Capt. W. G. Brown.


Irish labourers working on Bar Road/Katy's Cove RR section. Immigrants express satisfaction with local treatment. Age 14 and up. "Perfect harmony which pervades the whole" work gang impresses editor.


Oct 11/1848
Paper now reduced in size. New title: Standard, or Railway and Commercial Record.


Dec 19/1849
First of at least four articles on construction of highways. Numbers five and six on railways. Work on Saint John /18F RR.


July 3/1850
RR bed laid between St. Andrews and Chamcook. Between Chamcook and Bartlett's Mills way cleared and levelled.


Sept 11/1850
Bridge at Katy's Cove to be finished in about a month.


Sept 25/1850
35,000 pounds subscribed by Saint John towards building the ENA. A pittance to what Maine spending.


Oct 23/1850
Bridge at Katy's Cove under construction. RR to Woodstock may be finished by fall of 1851, to Quebec by 1852. Superintendent John Treadwell of bridge construction. Site for Depot, stores, houses, wharves, etc., selected; plans finished.


Feb 26/1851
For years now the local news has been dominated by the SA/Q RR--mainly concerning stops and goes in funding, with some small reports of material progress in actually building the line.


March 19/1851
Rails arriving for RR. First engine "Pioneer" arrives, but not yet set up.


April 16/1851
10,000 miles of RR in States.


July 23/1851
Continuing accounts of ENA and Grand Trunk from Halifax to Detroit (through British territory). Neither actually under construction yet, though Mass has subscribed to ENA.


Montreal Gazette
May 31/1852
St. Lawrence and Atlantic RR--Montreal to Richmond.
Montréal and NY RR.


June 9/1852
Railroad Festival!
Turning of the “First Sod” under the contract for the first section of the St. Andrews and Quebec Railroad
Friday, last, the 4th June, will be a day long to e remembered by the inhabitants of St. Andrews and the County of Charlotte generally. The sun shone out in regal splendour, and at an early hour the busy hum of people, dressed in holiday attire, passed along our streets, and the rattling of carriages and other vehicles, sounded the note of preparation, and gave evidence of a general turn out to do honor to the day. At 9 o’clock, according to previous instructions, the carriages, wagons, etc. with the Directors, Shareholders and Guests, drew up into line at the Court House Square, and at half-past 9, the immense procession advanced, headed by the carriages of the Directors, in the leading one of which was displayed the Royal Standard, and passed through Frederick, Water, Elizabeth, Queen, and Harriet streets to the St. John road, thence via Chamcook to the Frye road, and after a pleasant drive through the woods the procession arrived at Bartlett’s farm, ten miles from Sa, the place selected for turning the sod. The ground was tastefully decorated with flags, and a large number of people from SS, and the neighboring State of Maine, assembled to witness the interesting ceremony. At 12 o’clock precisely, col. Murray, the Administrator of the Government of the Province, accompanied by Mrs. Murray, arrived upon the ground, in his carriage, and was received by the Directors and officers of the Company, under a salute of 13 guns. His Honor and Mrs. Murray were then escorted to the spot selected for turning the first sod, when the Rev. Dr. Alley offered up a most appropriate prayer for the success of the great undertaking.
            The Contractor, Mr. Brookfield, was then formally introduced to Col. and Mrs. Murray, and had the honor of presenting to Mrs. Murray the spade and barrow to inaugurate the work. Mrs. Murray then gracefully raised the first sod, deposited it in the barrow, and tipped it at the end of the plank prepared for that purpose, as emblematical of the commencement of the stupendous work. A salute of 19 guns was then fired in honor of the occasion. In the absence of the President, who was unavoidably prevented from attending the Hon. Col. Hatch proceeded on behalf of the Company to cut and turn a sod, and was followed by Alex. Light, Esquire, the Engineer, and John Brookfield, Esq., the contractor, in the same operation, typical of the agency by which the work will be carried to completion at the conclusion of this part of the ceremony, Col. Hatch addressed the Meeting with the following remarks:--
He said, that in turning the sod, he was of opinion, that the many and trying difficulties which the Company had met with during the incipience stages of the work, were about to pass away, and all things new would go on smoothly until is full completion. That though only two out of six persons, the original promoters of the design were living, four of them had gone to that bourne “from whence no traveler returns” yet he hoped and trusted that he remainder might be spared to realize the advantages that must necessarily accrue from the connection of the great Atlantic by Railroad with the great Saint Lawrence and those inland seas stretching to the far West. it was a noble and magnificent scheme to bring the products around the shores of this great sea to a point being the nearest on the waters of the inner Passamaquoddy—at St. Andrews to Quebec, and to exchange them with those brought from so populous and fertile a country as Canada—(Cheers.) It would turn the howling wilderness into the abode of civilization, and no person present could count upon the numerous advantages accruing to human from the undertaking. (Great cheering.)at the time in which this project was commenced, in the infancy of Railroads the conception of the idea was of no ordinary kind, but its completion would far outrun all present calculation in the good to proceed from it—in the immense trade—in linking the hearts of the inhabitants of the Lower and Upper Provinces together—producing internal strength, union, and respect abroad, and above all to insure in them the continuance of the blessing of the British constitution, on which secured all civil and religious liberty. (Cheers.) He tendered his thanks in the name of the Directors of the Company, to His Honor the Administrator of the Province for his presence here this day, and also to his Lady for the very interesting part her ladyship had taken in the ceremony. These kind acts will long remain in the hearts of the people of St. Andrews. He asked, on all sides, unanimity in future proceedings, and by a strong pull—by a long pull (at which he should expect Mr. Brookfield, one of the Contractors now present, would take the lead,) and by a pull altogether, in which the Ladies would be no mean auxiliaries, that this great, this patriotic work would be successfully carried out, and amply realized, and though some of us present may not be permitted to see its entire completion, yet they would leave it as a legacy to their children, and future generations, showing the indomitable perseverance and unwearied zeal of a few persons, under circumstances the most discouraging, in the certain prospect of a railroad from this the nearest point to Quebec, teaching them, that in a good cause, with integrity of purpose, they should never despair. (The Hon. Gentleman concluded amidst tremendous cheering.)
            After Col. Hatch had concluded his remarks his Honor the administrator of the Government expressed the great pleasure which it afforded him to be present, and to have assisted at so interesting a ceremony. he entirely coincided with the observations which had fall from Col. Hatch, as to the important effect which the opening of Railways throughout the Province would create; and he stated that he experienced much gratification in noticing a singular coincidence, that his and Mrs. Murray’s visit to St. Andrews should have so opportunely occurred at this time, for it was surely worthy of remark, and might be considered a favorable omen, that Mrs. Murry is niece to Earl Fitzwilliam, the chairman of the Company in England, and who he (Col. Murray) knew, took the liveliest interest in the progress of the undertaking and the general welfare of the Province. (cheers.)
            Before retiring to the Bower which was most tastefully prepared for the occasion, Mr. Light and Mr. Brookfield both addressed the assemblage. We regret our space will not allow us to publish their speeches in full, but we cannot refrain from stating, that Ms. Light observed that he had carefully examined and made surveys through the whole extent of the Line, and had no hesitation in saying, there existed no difficulties of any importance, that the grades and curves were all particularly favorable, and ha the general facilities for construction were all that could be desired.
            Success to the Undertaking was then drank in champagne, amidst deafening cheers—The health of her Majesty was drank, and god save the Queen, was sung with a depth of tone and feeling which was perfectly electrifying.
            A general move was then made towards the Bower, where a cold collation had been prepared, and which had been got up with great taste and elegance.
            After ample justice had been done to the viands, so hospitably provided, Col Hatch rose to propose the health of his Honor and Mrs. Murray, and in doing so remarked—
That he was glad to see that day—it was one of great joy to him, and he was happy he had lived to see it. that 17 years had elapsed, since he and some of his friends now no more, had first conceived the idea of projecting a railway from St. Andrews to Quebec, and after years of unceasing perseverance amidst varying scenes of adversity and prosperous fortune, his fondest expectations were about to be realized. (cheers) he had no fears now, as far as human foresight could penetrate, there was no occasion for dark foreboding, all was cheering in the highest degree (great applause.) he had revolved the subjects over and over in his mind, wand the benefit to be derived by the province was incalculable; they, the people of SA, had set an example of energy and enterprise, which he hope would be imitated. The immense resources of the County were at present locked up for want of access to them—the wood of the country, if he might be allowed the expression, had receded, into the interior, and we must bring ourselves in close proximity with it or our people must move away to foreign lands. A railroad would place us side by side again, with the Pine and Spruce groves the wealth of the land.
            Our limits will not allow us to follow Col. Hatch through his observations; he closed his speech amidst great cheering.
            Col. Murray responded in a neat and apposite speech, stating that it gave him very great pleasure to be present on this interesting occasion—that the undertaking was a magnificent one, and fraught with great benefit to this County, and indeed to the province at large; and that its projectors and promoters were justly entitled to the thanks of the people. He eloquently expressed his acknowledgements, for the compliment paid him and Mrs. Murray by Col. Hatch, in proposing the health; and concluded by giving the health of the gallant Colonel in return,--and for which he briefly returned thanks.
            John Brookfield, Esq., in an exceedingly happy speech, proposed the health of Earl Fitzwilliam, prefacing his remarks with a well-merited eulogium on that Nobleman’s virtues, and alluded to the deep interest he had taken I the railroad—a work which he (Mr. Brookfield) and his partner were resolved to complete to Woodstock—but, he observed, he did not suppose it would stop there, it would in due time be carried through to Quebec. The toast was then drank, and followed by a round of applause, that made the welkin ring.
            J. W. Chandler, Esq., then rose, and after reviewing the rise and progress of the Company, observed that his friend Col. Hatch was one of the pioneers of this gigantic enterprise, and to whose perseverance the greatest credit was due; there had been others who had afforded able assistance in the infancy of the concern, some of whom were no longer among us, but who would have rejoiced to have seen this day. he dwelt at length upon the practical effects of the undertaking, and said that this work would lay open a fertile inland country capable of maintaining three hundred thousand inhabitants, through the midst of which the road would pass, giving them immediate access to the sea; that it would also open immense virgin forest covered with ship timber, which would thereby be brought into profitable use; that the water power waiting for employment in this county is, practically speaking, unlimited; and that, while the railroad would materially aid in the development of their valuable resources the owners of the work may confidently look for perpetually increasing dividends. He concluded by offering as a toast, the health of Mr. Thompson, the Manger of the Company, to whom he thought the happy consummation of all their ardent hope, and which they were then assembled to celebrate, must in a great measure be attributed, and with it he would couple the health of Mrs. Thompson. (cheers)
            Mr. Thompson replied in his usual happy manner, observing that as far as his humble abilities permitted, he would still exert himself in pushing forward the work—and thus if any credit were due to him, he felt more than repaid for any exertion on hi sown part, by a so happy an issue to all the delays and obstacles which had so long attended the prosecution of the work, and which he now considered would go forward without any impediment, and that he sincerely appreciated the honor which was done him and Ms. Thompson in proposed and drinking their healths in the very handsome and enthusiastic manner they had done, and thanked them most cordially.
            Several other speeches were then delivered, and the company reformed in line, and a salute of 13 guns was again fired on the departure of His Honor.
            Several distinguished strangers were present at the celebration, among whom we noticed Capt. Ford, R. A.; W. H. Drake, A. C. G.; Lieut. Kellog, U. S. A.; Mr. Sherwood, H. R. M. Consul; Rev. Mr. Donald of Saint John.
            Great credit is due to Julius Thompson, Esq., for the admirable manner in which the arrangements were carried out; his active mind and body were constantly in requisition. The people of St. Andrews will remember with feeling of pleasure the 4th June 1852, and we heartily join in wishing abundant success to the Railroad.
            The foregoing is but an imperfect sketch of the celebration and speeches, for which we crave the indulgence of our readers.


June 16/1852
SA looking up--painting and repairs apace, value of property rising, business improving--all attributable to SA/Q RR.


July 7, 1852
The progress which has been made with the work on the railroad, within the last fortnight, is a strong evidence of its being carried on with spirit. The repairs at Katy’s cove are being completed in the most substantial manner; and should the present fine weather continue it is probably the rails will be laid and the locomotive commence running about the 1st of August. The ships with the plant and men from England are hourly expected by the contractors, when large parties will be set to work on various points along the line as far as Woodstock.
[sounds like no rails have yet been laid; the line only cleared as far as the sod turning ceremony]


Aug 4, 1852
Joseph Howe broaching the idea of constructing a rail line from Halifax to Digby, with steamers connecting with St. Andrews.


Aug 18/1852
Locomotive running daily. At Indian Point workshops erected, boarding houses built along line, stores in course of erection. Only "plant" needed. Station?


March 16, 1853
Railroad now being worked a distance of 25 miles from the town. Engines have been running over the bridge at Chamcook for some months.


April 27/1853
Arrival of Laborers. On Wednesday evening last, upwards of 100 navies arrived here, via Boston, from England; and, after being well provided for, were sent up the line in Messrs. Sykes and Co.’s wagons to work on the St. Andrews and Quebec Railway. In the course of a few days another large lot of emigrants are expected, having been sent out by Messrs. Sykes and co., who are determined to push the work forward with all possible speed.


May 11/1853
260 labourers from Liverpool via Saint John. Steamer Eastern City running between Saint John and Boston weekly, touching at Eastport and Portland.


June 8/1853
New Montreal newspaper, Sun, argues for railway diverging from proposed Grand Trunk to Riviere du Loup to connect with St. Andrews line at Grand Falls, thus completing line to St. Lawrence.


June 15/1853
SA RR progressing rapidly. "A more delightful ride by rail cannot be enjoyed, than to take the morning train at 5 am, pass up the line, inhale the pure air, and return by seven o'clock."


July 20/1853
Quick travelling--a friend who resides in this place, left Montreal on Monday morning last, and arrived in St. Andrews on the afternoon of the following day! The distance from Montreal to Portland, 292 miles, was performed in 12 hours, including stoppages. He came by the first train, which runs the whole distance on the St. Lawrence and Atlantic Railroad.


July 27/1853
More labourers for railway, with families. 60 men. Envy of Saint John, getting nowhere with ENA.


Aug 10/1853
Montreal Herald--Canada in Grand Trunk will soon possess largest RR in world. St. Lawrence-Atlantic (leased for 99 years) a part of whole.


Sept 7/1853
Another engine for RR arrives.


Sept 14/1853
A large number of the inhabitants of St. Andrews and vicinity, left the town yesterday morning by steamer for Saint John , to witness the ceremony of “Digging the first Sod” of the European and North American Railway this day. Some parties went up in wagons for the same purpose. His Excellency issued a proclamation declaring the day a Public Holiday.


First turning of sod today in Saint John for ENA. Public holiday declared. Robert Stevenson to take part. Canada, NS, PEI and NFLD represented. 300 people up from Boston and two bands.


Oct 5/1853
RR almost to Rolling Dam. Unfriendly words between St. Andrews and Saint John over whose RR will be tops--SA/Q or ENA via St. Lawrence/Atlantic.


March 8/1854
10 years ago Portland had no railways. Now centre of 522 miles of it. St. Andrews Reading Room Regular recipient of Telegraph news services.


Dec 3/1856
New contracts tendered for SA/Q sections above Rolling Dam--mile 25-32, 32-40.


Jan 7/1857
SJ has completed RR to Shediac.


Sept 16/1857
SA/Canada RR has two new engines from Portland, in addition to "Pioneer."


Sept 30/1857
The Railway Excursion.
Our contemporaries generally have noticed approvingly, that the New Brunswick and Canada Railway will be opened for traffic on the 1st of October, and that an Excursion will be made on the occasion.


Oct 7/1857
New Brunswick and Canada Railway
Opening Excursion to the Barber Dam
The morning of the first day of a October was happily ushered in with the full brilliancy of a glorious sunshine, and a cloudless sky, and could not fail to impart to all those who most desired it, the assurance of a fine day, which with the exception of a passing shower at noon was fully verified.
            At an early house in the morning, comparatively early with the hour appointee for the starting of the excursion train from St. Andrews, the own was all astir, the streets became, we must admit, with pleasure, unusually thronged with people eager for the enjoyment of on such an auspicious occasion—and ? an eventful one to many, if not to all; the great mass of people increased as the time drew night for departure of the train; the scene at the Railway Station was such as was never before witnessed in the town of St. Andrews, and this we can say with truth, the grounds in connection with the station, which have been so tastefully dissected in approach roads and walks, and were the theme of passing commendation, were besieged with hundreds of people anxiously awaiting the opening of the Station doors through which admittance was given to the Platform, and thence into the cars; at last the long wished for moment arrived—the doors were opened with a hearty welcome to one and all—tickets were presented, and the platform became peopled. Upon a signal having been given by the Manager of the company, the train came puffing forth from the depot yard that was to carry the happy multitude through a portion of the forests of New Brunswick, and nearly forty miles in the direction of Woodstock, in fat to many an unknown. the train consisted of the new Engines lately imported from the Portland Locomotive works, and bore the appropriate names of the “Earl Fitzwilliam” and the “Manners-Sutton”; they were handsomely decorated with flowers, and this with the tiny hands of some of our “fair ones,” whom as a matter of course, we shall not here mention, no more than we should think of publishing a lady’s age—The Engines were also decorated with flags flying from, we were going to say, “the mast head” but at all events something very like it, then followed a train of cars, comprising a brake van, passenger car, twenty two large trucks fitted up with seats to accommodate 34 people each, and lastly another brake van, both of these vans having also been fitted up with seats. the cars were filled in a very short time, with eager occupants, and all were ready for the start, the New Brunswick, St. Leger of the day, when the whistle of the Steamer Queen was heart, as most people though in our harbor; and contrary to punctual observance the train was delayed, the Company’s officers being delirious of extending the time in order to permit those who might have come by the Steamer, to join the excursion; and we may here state for fact that the Hon. Capt. Robinson repaired with all haste to the Steamboat landing for the purpose of conducting the passengers back to the station, but when he arrived, no boat was in sight, consequently he returned, and upon his return the signal was given, and the train started with its living freight of upwards of 600 people amidst tumultuous cheers for its destination, the temporary terminus at the barber Dam.
            Every precaution had been taken for the promotion of due order, Special Constables having been sworn in to preserve the peace; each one was stationed at his post with a bade and baton of office, with a like number stationed in the environs of the opposite terminus, and we are happy to state, that no obtrusions took place throughout the day to mar the harmony of the whole proceedings. “along the line the signal ran,” for on every mile of the Line was stationed a “signalman” with the usual insignia of “all clear,” and after an excellent run of twenty miles, the train drew up as we learned for the purpose of “feeding the engine,” or in other words to get a fresh supply of water; this having been done, away again they went, with refreshed vigor, until the train arrived at the new Fredericton Road Station,--when a halt was made for the purpose of taking in the Hon. the provincial Secretary and the Hon. the Surveyor General, who had arrived from Fredericton to join in the festivities of the day; another start was made, and then a final stoppage at the Barber Dam station.
            At this point the scene was indeed rural and picturesque; a large plot of ground had been levelled in front of the station, to serve the double purpose of a Y turnout for the Engines to face again down the line, the space between each set of rails being occupied with an evergreen enclosure, and decorated in a most appropriate manner of the occasion, within which was laid table to accommodate 400 people, and under the proprietorship of Mr. E. Pheasant. This formed a most remarkably pleasing feature, hemmed in as it was by the vast woods on either side of the line, though we doubt not that, the scene within at dinner time was still more remarkably pleasing. The Officer of the Company had also provided a luncheon for their relatives and friends, the tables being laid for about 70 guests; the Hon. Capt. Robinson presided; here good digestion waited upon appetite, and health on both. After a full discussion of the various viands and choice fruits so amply provided, the Chairman rose and proposed—
            “The Queen, with 3 times 3,”
            The health of His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, of the Provinces,”
which was responded to by the Honorable, the Provincial Secretary, who assured the company that he was well aware of the intense interest which his Excellency took in the proceedings of the day, and his regret at his not being able to participate in them. The chairman next proposed, “Mrs. Manners-Sutton, and the fair Daughters of New Brunswick.” Dr. Arnold of St. John, returned thanks on behalf of the ladies, in a very happy strain. The chairman then gave “The Guests who have honored us this day with the presence, particularly the two Members of the executive Council.”
            The Honorable the Surveyor General, as one of the eldest guests, and one who had been named by the Hon. Chairman, had great pleasure in rising to return thanks. He landed in St. Andrews in 1810; it was then a flourishing town, and a place of very considerable trade. On the day when the news of the declaration arrived in 1912, there were 35 square rigged vessels I the harbor. The loss of the West India trade of which for a time it had a kind of monopoly, and the local advantages of St. Stephen, Digdeguash, and Magaguadavic gradually reduced the commerce of St. Andrews to a very low ebb, and in casting about them for a remedy, the principal inhabitants proposed the bold scheme of uniting the Town to the valley of the St. Lawrence by a Railway. No sooner said than done—a subscription was got up, and an exploratory line run through the wilderness. Sir Archibald Campbell, then Governor of the Province, ordered 10,000 pounds from the casual revenue, to pay for a survey which was afterwards made. Unfortunately for the undertaking, the negotiation on the Boundary question put a stop to the proceedings, and ultimately threw a large part of the line as surveyed into the state of Maine. Hindered but not discourage, the parties with unexampled perseverance urged their scheme upon the Legislature with such effect, that they at length obtained a promise of all the ungranted land for five miles on each side of the line, on completing it to Woodstock, also a guarantee of six percent interest for a term of years on a certain sum of money expended, the province at the same time becoming a Stockholder to the amount of 50,000 pounds, all of which has been paid. Under those circumstances the progress which they now saw had been made, and forty miles of the line would be forthwith opened for traffic. the resources of the forest were ample, and would of course comprise the only business of the Road until it should reach Woodstock, which it would now unquestionably do, and that very shortly. It would then afford a cheaper and safer and quicker inlet, and outlet to the great and increasing trade of the upper valley of the St. John than that at present carried on by the river. The city of St. John from its obvious advantages must continue to increase in trade and population, but whoever would look on the map, must see that St. Andrews with this Railroad, has also very great advantages. From the ocean it is nearer and more accessible even than St. John. Its harbour has the same important peculiarity of remaining open all the year round, and in fact the whole inner bay of Passamaquoddy was one continued harbour, completely landlocked, where all the fleets in the world could ride at anchor in perfect safety.
            He (hon. Mr. Brown) considered this as one of the most remarkable days of his life. In the heart of this dense forest where as a lumberman, he had wandered many a weary foot in days of “auld lang syne,” was there a splendid railway train and a vast number of ladies and gentlemen assembled to compose and to enjoy the interesting spectacle. It was however, melancholy to reflect, that the original projectors of this great work which now gave such promise of complete success, had one after another all passed away. How gratifying to them, had they been permitted to live and take a part in this day’s proceedings! he (hon. Mr. Brown) remembered, and was sure that the gentleman on his right (Mr. Street) would also remember, the singular but most appropriate toast of their friend Mr. Walton, who was still alive—“fire and Water,” man’s two best friends, and two worst enemies!—that they may speedily unite in propelling machinery from this towards Quebec!” here was the old gentleman’s desire, this day, at least partially accomplished. He (Mr. Brown) did not wish to be tedious, he would only remark that of all our wants in this province, we wanted more people to labour and develop its abundant resources. He had been in all parts of the Province, and travelled through al the Northern and Eastern States and was quite certain that taken on an average, our Agricultural capabilities in particular, as well as the resources of our forest, were far before theirs. He had ever recommended early marriages as the best means of increasing our population, and himself set the example, and raised a very large family; and now that the had an opportunity he would just say to the unmarried gentlemen and ladies there assembled “Go ye and do likewise.”
            The next toast from the chair was, “the Pioneers of the Railway,” all of whom were now no more. Drank in solemn silence.
            Dr. Arnold proposed the health of the gentleman in whose charge they had all been committed for the day, and to whom they all had every reason to feel greatly obliged for their pleasant excursion. He proposed the health of Mr. Thompson, the Manager of the Railway, which was drank with all the honors.
            Mr. Thompson rose to return thanks for the compliments that had been paid him-he felt proud and grateful for the appreciation that was felt for any exertions he had used to carry on the works, and which was manifested by the reception the toast had received—but he disclaimed being entitled to so full a share of honor, for, if any success had attended his efforts, he felt that he was greatly indebted for it to the able support he had received from Mr. Buck and the other officers of the Company. Mr. T. Alluded to the great benefits which would accrue to the whole province from the opening up of its wilderness lands and referred to the experiences of other countries to prove that the greater the means of intercommunication the more rapid was the advancement in wealth or prosperity. he pointed to the lands in the neighborhood of great rivers as always being the first settled and brought under subjection to man, in consequence of the transit which the river afforded, and that the railway through the forest in the middle of which they then stood might be considered as an artificial river, but would operate like a real one. Mr. T. spoke at some considerable length on the prospects of the road as a paying investment, and concluded by again cordially thanking them for drinking his health, expressing a prayer that he might carry them all as safe back to St. Andrews as he had brought them up thus far.
            Hon. Provincial Secretary next arose, and alluded to the difficulties generally encountered in making railway, and the large capital required for construction, and stated that not all the wealth of the Indies could build our Railroads, without the assistance of Engineers and Contractors, the therefore proposed the health of the Engineers and Contractors of the New Brunswick and Canada Railway.
            Mr. Buck, Engineer in chief, returned his grateful acknowledgements for he compliments that had been paid to the profession, particularly as in this instance it came from the Hon. Provincial Secretary; he, however, disclaimed against taking more than his share of the compliment which had been paid to the state of the works on this present Company was but of recent date, and much had been accomplished under his predecessors in office; and concluded by expressing a hope that within a twelvemonth from the present time, they would all again have the opportunity of meeting together under similar favorable auspices, and on the occasion of the opening of the 65th mile from St. Andrews.
            Mr. Marsh returned thanks on behalf of the Contractors; as one of whom, he felt greatly obliged for the compliment paid in drinking their health. Mr. Julius Thompson gave “the press of New Brunswick,” stating, that the press was acknowledged a powerful Engine for good or for evil, and without its aid no great undertaking had ever succeeded, and he hoped it would extend its impartial influence to the work which was now in hand, and which they had an opportunity of witnessing this day. \
            the Editor of this paper briefly acknowledged the compliment, and said hat as an humble member of the press of New Brunswick, he had always been a warm advocate for this Railway, and would ever continue to be such.
            Mr. J. W. Street proposed the health of the chairman. Drank with 3 times 3. The hon. Capt. Robinson responded in a happy and appropriate manner, and was cheered throughout.
            At this stage of the proceedings, the signal was given for the return home, and all parties again took their seats in the cars; the train left amide the cheers of the concourse who had flocked in to witness ‘the gay, the festive, scene” and after making frequent stoppages to accommodate he country residents, arrived in St. Andrews at 6 o’clock. The run up and back was accomplished each way, under two hours, including stoppages on some portions of the line averaging a speed of 35 miles an hour. The excursionists previous to separating gave three hearty cheers for the success of the Railway; and so the joyous event of the day terminated to the entire satisfaction of every one.


Oct 14/1857
The works in the immediate vicinity of the Railway depot, have already given quite a business like appearance to the eastern end of the town at Indian Point. They compose the Station buildings etc., a new Engine house 90 feet in length and 48 feet in width, to contain 4 engines, together with a turn table of 45 feet diameter—the castings for which were furnished by Messrs. Harris and Allan of St. John, upon which the engine made her first turn yesterday.
            The Station buildings, etc., were erected by Mr. N. Treadwell, the engine house by Mr. William Craig, and the turntable by Mr. Irvin Goss, three native mechanics, to whom great credit is due for the substantial and workmanlike manner in which they have apparently performed their contracts.


Now that RR open for travel and traffic, at Lawrence's "visitors would be entertained by the obliging and attentive landlord."


Oct 28/1857
Survey of last section of RR in operation.


April 21/1858
Rising property values attributed to RR.


July 6/1858
Another new railway engine. Now have 5: Pioneer, Earl Fitzwilliam, Manners-Sutton, Rose, Thistle. Expect Shamrock soon. Tenders for grading last 25 miles to Woodstock. "We have always had strong faith in this Road being the Grand Trunk line, and the more we see, the more convinced we are that there are good grounds for the opinion."


July 14/1858
An addition has been made to the railway extension which for the present terminates at Hatch's Wharf; the next above the Market Wharf. The advantages of the extension as well as the benefits resulting from the construction of the railway, are so apparent even to those old goers who were so skeptical, that it is almost unnecessary to allude to them--We may however mention that the new ship lying at Hatch’s wharf is being loaded with deals brought down by rail from the Dam--and that Mr. Cameron is loading his vessel in part, with excellent timber, cut on the Company's Lands and brought down by the Railway and which will in a few weeks be landed on London. Large quantities of hemlock bark, firewood, cedar poles and sleepers are also brought down the line, the farmers also living near the Line and on the Ridges have availed themselves of this economical and speedy mode of transport and have brought their farm produce to market in much better condition, and at less cost and loss of time, than by horse and wagon. The traffic is but in its incipient stages, and can hardly be overestimated.


Aug 11/1858
H. Harrison has completed arrangements for running a stage between Howard's settlement and Woodstock, completing the line from St. Andrews. Woodstock's inclines too great to bring the RR directly into town.


Dec 1/1858
NB and C RR opened to Howard Settlement. Account of ceremonies.


Oct 3.60
Provisional contract for completion of line to Woodstock entered into by NB and C RR with Walker and Johnson. Project stalled last year or more.


Nov 7, 1860
It is with surprise and much regret we learn, that by letters received from England yesterday, the services of Mr. Thompson, the Manager, the Mr. Buck, the chief Engineer of the railroad company, will be dispensed with by the board of directors, and that the two offices are to be combined into one, in the person of Mr. Osburn, on the pleas of economy. we feel sure that the whole community will join with us in expressing very sincere regret at the loss of these gentlemen, who have, during a period of near ten years, proved themselves not only faithful and zealous servants to their employers, but have gained universal respect and esteem both in the public and private capacities.


May 29, 1861
The Railway
Amidst the turmoil of an Election, and the exciting reports from the neighboring Republic of the civil, war which is at present distracting, and injuring trade of that great country, it is pleasing to turn to a great public work such as the New Brunswick and Canada Railway, which is rapidly opening up and developing the resources of this port of the province, as well as being a safe and rapid means of transit to and from the upper Country, in addition to which it will become at no distant day the great highway connecting the Upper and Lower provinces. We are happy to announce that there is every prospect of the work on the line being resumed in a short time. The English shareholders have advanced a large sum, and the debts of the Company are paid off. Mr. Osburn, the company’s manager, has devoted his whole energies to put the work on a firm basis, by having the liabilities paid off, keeping the trains running, economizing the funds, and forwarding the interests of the Company, and also arranging for an early completion of the work to within a few miles of Woodstock this season.


June 5/1861
Excursion by RR to Woodstock via Canterbury to see Prince Alfred who is to be in Woodstock.
Trip to Boston down to almost 13 hours.


Aug 7/1861
Through Route from Boston to Houlton--passengers and freight may now pass direct from Houlton and Woodstock to Portland and Boston via arrangement with International Steamship Co. Leave Boston morning arrive Woodstock next evening. Saint John River trip would take three days "of a tedious and sometimes unpleasant journey." Steamer Queen Capt. McAllister, waits at wharf for down trains from Canterbury 10:30 am WF. Cars run directly to Steamboat wharf. Steamboat wharf not as good as could be, especially at low water (boats not afloat). Gove's wharf at entrance of harbour should be extended, or new wharf built at Stinson Landing where deep water.
            New RR manager Henry Osburn.
            Ad for International Steamship Company's tri-weekly line. For Portland, Boston and Saint John. Steamers NB and Eastern City leave Saint John MWF morning 8 am, Eastport 1 pm. Leave Boston same days at 7:30 am. Connect for passengers and freight from NY, all stations on Grand Trunk RR. Queen connects for passengers and freight at Eastport, St. Andrews and Saint John and Calais.
            William Whitlock St. Andrews Agent.


Aug 14/1861
Bangor Whig and Courier advocates rail connection with Maine to Houlton and NB and C RR. Line to Woodstock not yet complete; last section not being worked on. Editor hopes NB and C will still become Grand Trunk to Canada.


June 9/1862
Grand Opening, on 10th, of RR line to Woodstock and Houlton. Boat racing, public dinner. Cheap excursion. Account July 16. Volunteer Rifle Companies of St. Andrews and St. Stephen present.


June 29/1862
Many editorials on NB and C RR. The Civil War has caused Britain to need to fortify Canada, but it has not taken an active interest in using this RR. Rather, is considering another.


July 16, 1862
Opening of the Line to the Woodstock Road—Volunteer Review—Regatta, Dinner, Etc.
The morning of the 1oth was ushered in with a glorious sunshine, giving fir promise of a fine day and genial temperature, and dispelling all doubts and fears as to the probably state of the weather on such an occasion, and those who had expressed themselves in a prophetic and not very encouraging manner with regard to any coming train on account of the wind being in a certain quarter, were most satisfactorily silence. We could not help being reminded of the chorus in a celebrated glee:
            Up route ye now ye merry, merry men
            For it is now our opening day.
as the townspeople were all astir and unusually fidgety at an early hour making hasty preparations in the external decorations of the principal stores and buildings, and in suspending line of flags from house tops across the main street; the vessels in the harbour also came out in their true colors, the most noticeable being the American Vessel “Eastern Star” Captain Ackley, which flaunted a beautiful streamer, of almost indefinite length, and a host of signal flags; we can assure the captain that this compliment and his own courtesy is fully appreciated by the community. Before the arrival of any new comers the town presented a lively and stimulating appearance, and the savage breast was soothed by the melodious strains of a barrel organ under the conductorship of an itinerant Italian or some other kind of foreign Irishman, who was accompanied by a precocious young monkey properly trained in the art and practice of professional begging.
            The Country people came rolling in from all quarters, and with them a goodly supply of quarters of lambs for sale in a short time all the available stables near were besieged with horses and wagons, and our streets were fast thronging with pedestrians. About 10 o’clock a whistle from the steamer Queen gave notice of her approach, and a general rush was made to the wharves to see the Calais and St. Stephen Visitors come ashore. the St. Andrews Volunteers now mustered, formed Company and marched to the Steamboat landing with Lieut. Col. Boyd who was mounted during the day, to receive the St. Stephen and Milltown Companies who were attended by their banks; the Queen having come to at the wharf, disgorged herself of the crowd of passengers that swarmed her decks. The Volunteers were the last to disembark, and having formed in line the companies presented arms, the bands playing the national anthem; they next marched off in fours to a lively air, through some of the principal streets to the great delight and amusement of the old and the young.
            The excursionists from Magaguadavic were now eagerly looked for; they were seen crossing the bay in a schooner in tow of the Bradbury steam tug. The captain of the Queen very kindly steamed his boat out to meet them and by way of hastening their arrival, instead of throwing them a line, went alongside and took them on deck and returned to the wharf. We take this opportunity of according to Captain McAllister our hearty recognition of his services as a Volunteer on this occasion; Captain Wetmore and his company were received in the usual manner with military honors; the bands again struck up and all went off in marching order. The next expected arrivals were the visitors from Woodstock and Houlton by Railway. The Superintendent Mr. Owen Jones had taken the first down train through with Tobin’s express in the previous evening in four hours running, and as the bills set forth that the excursion train would leave the upper terminal seven o’clock the time of its arrival could be closely ascertained; during the interim and the anxious waiting moments, the Regatta Committee of Management were making active preparations for the forthcoming rowing matches; a boats crew had arrived from Campobello, the Indian squaws, their governor and chief, had also arrived from Pleasant Point, with their canoes, and the pilot boat Tormentor, Capt. Cline, with her gig and crew had come up from Little river, while on the previous Monday a Saint John boat had been forwarded by steamer to enter for the race. The committee issued programmes of the various matches and the prizes to be awarded, and all gave promise of a good day’s sport.
            At 11: 13 the whistle of the Engine informed us of the arrival of the excursion train, and the vast concourse of people then in the streets trod their way to the Station; the cars were filled, and we presume that a great number of the visitors on this occasion had made their appearance at our seaboard for the first time, amongst the arrivals we noticed the provincial Secretary, the Chief Commissioner of the Board of Works and Mr. Lindsay M. P. P. ex-attorney general Fisher was also in town from another direction and was also Mr. Grimmer M. P. P. one of the county members. We observed that the Houlton people did not muster as strong as we expected, and more particularly also, the somewhat questionable absence of the Editors of the Woodstock press, we cannot account for this but peradventure they will. Our “little devil,” on hearing the fact, says “they oughter,” nor were we favored with the august presence of the recipient of the latest telegrams to Calais, the Proprietor of the St. Croix Herald, but we can better bear with this when we recollect that he once disappointed (at least it was so said) a Lieut. Governor at the dinner table. During the reception of the Woodstock Company military and civil, or perhaps to be more civil, read vice versa, the Regatta commenced with a three mile rowing match between the Campobello boat “Bluenose” pulled by the Parker crew, and the Saint John boat “Atalanta” manned by Cline’s crew; opinion, and we think the betting was in favor of the former, as she was five feet longer and of a better build; to the astonishment however of nearly everybody, the pilots, after a well contested race of twelve minutes duration came off the victors by a few lengths. Excitement caused by this match was intense.
            The next match on the list was a canoe race, and as soon as the Volunteers and the accompanying crowd had reached the wharves, where every available place was soon occupied, such a? of widenwake people standing upon a pile of sleepers, and other people up to their elbows among hackmatac knees, not to mention anything about the contact of hoops and futtocks, oh dear! the start was given and away they paddled against a strong headwind over a two mile course; they indeed paddled with a vengeance, and the run home was of the most vigorous and excitable character the race being won by half a length only
            The visiting Volunteers were now invited to luncheon, and marched off to recruit the inner man; the next race fame off soon after between the Wetmore “Magaguadavic boat and the Tormentor’s gig, the former winning the race in good style. At this state of the proceedings the Town bell rang out the 1 o’clock dinner hour; that touch of nature which makes the whole world “kin” a touch that not only reaches the heart occasionally but likewise the stomach, moved the vast assemblage of people to one purpose and to one occupation. We can only express our hope that they found sufficient accommodation and were provided with a good dinner, at all events with a hearty meal; we are aware of our deficiency in public accommodation to meet occasions of this kind, but do not feel bound by any other admissions to criminate ourselves in this respect. Our Railroad was not built in a day, and sufficient for the day will be the Hotel thereof.
            the Public dinner was announced to take place at two o’clock but it was fully half an hour later before the guests were seated; it was given in the large centre store of Mr. Charles Gove, who very kindly offered the use of it to the company officers-the decoration was most tastefully carried out by the St. Andrews Volunteers, with ever green festoons and flags; there were in all eight tables capable of accommodating over three hundred people the dinner was of a sumptuous character and was provided by our townsman Mr. John Bradford upon whom it reflects much credit.
            [list of toasts here and speeches here[
After the dinner, which occupied but a very short time for a public one, the Volunteers formed into Companies and marched to the review ground where they marched past Lieut. Col. Boyd in show and quick time, then came to a front and presented arms. Lieut. Col. Boyd addressed them previous to dismissal, but we were not within hearing distance. We cannot take leave of the review, without a passing mark of congratulation to our friend the Lieut. Col. it is a long time back since the good old days when he was in command of the Militia and wore his uniform and we will venture to say that all his friends who were present at the volunteer review felt gratified to see their old and faithful county member one more on the saddle, not it is true, in the full vigor of life at the age of seventy but in the fullness of his heart of the cause of our Volunteers.
            It was now approaching the hour for the departure of the train from Sa, and our Woodstock and Houlton friends pressed forward to the Station—the cars were soon filled—the St. Stephens band played “auld lang syne” and as the train moved off at 5:15 pm three lusty cheers were given by the hundred who had assembled to give them a parting honor, we afterwards learned that they arrived at Woodstock at 9:30 pm—surely this is good travelling.
            A 6 o’clock the Calais and St. Stephen party took their departure in the Queen amidst a great ovation, and at a later hour the Magaguadavic Schooner and tug got under weigh on their return; as many be readily imagined our town had now the appearance of being strained of a large quantity of the milk of human kindness; and we may further add of the cream of fashion; however, a great number of the excursionists remained behind with the intention of prolonging the visit. As the shades of evening were closing upon us the sports of the day were resumed and we witnessed three excellent foot races by Indian and a wheelbarrow race, the men being blindfolded; this was a side-splitting affair and had not the street in which the race took place, been well fenced in, it is almost impossible to say where the blind with their barrows would have turned up—as it was they turned over several times at which everybody was cruel enough to laugh their loudest.
            Unfortunately for the better effect of our illuminations which followed at a later hour the moon could not be influenced to “keep dark.” Still, the effect was very pretty, especially the store of Mr. J. S. Magee which was decorated with variegated oil lamps, and Chinese lanterns of rich devices—rockets, serpents, blue balls, etc. were flying about in all directions and so the spirit of the day was upheld until at last “tired nature” wearied; but yet rejoicing lay down and slept.
            it is our pleasure to record the general feeling of very great satisfaction and even astonishment that pervaded the whole assemblage throughout the day our very ears tingled with the frequent and reiterated expressions of unmingled delight—not only with the days’ celebration, the speed made on the railroad,, but with the position of our town and the town itself. We heard many good wishes for its prosperity, and we hope that our merchants will now be enabled to open a good trade with our friends in the interior.


July 23/1862
Excursion Week. St. Andrews to Woodstock and Woodstock to St. Andrews, united by the iron bands of the New Brunswick and Canada Railway. The celebration of this union was kept up with great spirit during the past week. Our respected friends of Carleton County, who have patiently waited for many years for a breath of pure sea air—and a bath in its strengthening waters enjoyed the benefit of both last week. On Thursday evening the streets were filled with visitors from the upper St. John, and from their frequent expressions of gratification we feel satisfied they were pleased with their visit. They admired our streets, drives and beautiful scenery, and spoke in the highest terms of the Railway, the Management, the rapid travelling, the courtesy and attention of the employees, and above all the feeling of perfect safety while on the cars—not a single accident occurred from the opening, up to the present time, just one fortnight. It affords us pleasure also the learn that new business arrangements have been entered into A fair share of the up river trade will now flow into SA; and the Aroostook people will have all their supplies brought over the Railway. Good may now be shipped on Monday morning at Boston and arrive at Woodstock and Houlton on Tuesday evening, at les coast than by any other route. Our harbour will also present a more lively appearance than it has done for man years, as several vessels are being loaded with supplies at the westward for the upper country. We are informed that the Woodstock Iron Company, will, during he present season, get out several thousand tons of iron and send it by the railway to this port for shipment to great Britain, we have heard of other new trades springing up which will give employment to our Railway.
            Upwards of three hundred persons from this County and adjoining districts visited Woodstock on Wednesday last, the St. Andrews Volunteers, Capt. Whitlock with several others having taken the train the day previous. In consequence of the rain at Woodstock on Wednesday morning the parade of the St. Andrews and Woodstock Volunteers did not take place until the afternoon, when they were inspected by Lieut. Col. Boyd. The excursionists speak in the highest terms of the hospitalities and attention of the Woodstock people. Our Volunteers were much admired-and they deserve to be, for a better drilled and nobler set of fellows, we are not enrolled in the Province. The Western Companies as he Charlotte Volunteers are called, are soldiers in the technical sense of the term.


July 30/1862
The Railway--several tourist and pleasure seekers, are availing themselves of the safe and rapid mode of travel by the Railway from Woodstock to St. Andrews. As a change and for diversity of scenery, rapid conveyance and cheap travelling, they select this route. (Great fishing route.)


April 15/1863
Large Train--one of largest trains ever to arrive in town: 31 cars loaded with tamarack ship-frames, knees, futtocks, shingles and sleepers, cattle. Passenger car well-filled "and in this respect we take great pleasure in recording the great increase of passenger travel."


June 1/1864
SS contemplating a branch railway.


June 22/1864
Railway traffic continues to increase. Low freight rates by H. Osburn.


July 6/1864
H. Osburn has arranged to run trains in connection with Saint John steamer. "We are happy to notice so many of our Carleton friends have taken advantage of the cheap excursion trips in visit our town, and enjoy ones of the finest sea views in NB." Excursion trips at artificially low rates.


Aug 17/1864
Railway Excursion and Picnic.
One of the most pleasant of those social gatherings termed “Picnics” took place on Thursday last. Mr. Osburn, Manager of the Railway, with considerations and good feelings, having under his direction a large number of men, who toil from early morn till old Sol departs behind his curtain, the horizon—offered the men on the railway a holiday and excursion up the Line to Dumbarton, with a limited number of tickets for their families and friends. The generous offer was gratefully accepted; and on Thursday morning at 9:15 an engine with three passenger cars attached, left the Station with their men, their families, and friends—together with several invited guests, numbering in all upwards of two hundred
            The day was pleasant and warm. At various points along the line, men were at work ballasting; the trestle bridge at “Fry Meadow” which was burnt a few weeks ago, has been rebuilt in a thorough manner, indeed, it is not a bridge, but a solid embankment. the scenery and views at many points were charming, carrying in hill and dale, and alternating in rich foliage of the forest with fields of waving grain—placid lakes and purling streams.
             At each Station accessions were made to number of excursionists, until the arrival of the train at 11:30 At Dumbarton Station, which was tastefully festooned with flower and evergreens, and from the flagstaff on the building, the glorious old flag of England floated in the breeze.
            The large party having debarked from the cars, rested for a short time at the station. Many strolled to the woods in search of quiet little arbors where they could enjoy a luncheon, from their well stored basket. Several remained a the station, and in the long room enjoyed themselves “tripping the light fantastic toe,” until the dinner bell summoned them to a bountiful repast generously provided by order of the Manager, and the selection of which did credit to Mr. J. Trenholm (station master) and his wife, who spared no efforts to please and satisfy the visitors. Some disciples of Izaac Walton, betook themselves to the river and stream with rods and lines, the day was too bright however, for fishing, and most of them returned without any fish. “Mine host” of Bradford’s Hotel, in true sportsman style, forded the river, in many places and as a reward of expert angling, brought with him a basket of excellent trout. Mr. Bradford however is an expert hand with fly and bait, and knows where to fish.
            Dinner being over, the excursionists engaged in a variety of amusement—picking blueberries, swinging, etc. Some of the ladies who had their bows with them (aye and beaux too) shot at a target for the Archery prizes, but owing to a strong wind blowing at the time, the shooting was not remarkable for accuracy—it is probable however that Cupid’s arrows hit the mark, and that the “silken knot which binds two willing hearts” will be the “prize.”
            A few choice spirits assembled in the baggage car and partook a dejeune, after which several loyal and patriotic toast were drunk, and neat little speeches made, of which of course we took no notes,--but we may state that the toast “the Manager, Officers and Success of the Railway” was drank with all the honors, and a happy and apposite reply was made, concluding with “Prosperity to the shipping, commercial and manufacturing interests of Charlotte.”
             At 3 pm the train from Woodstock Station arrived, with a number of cars loaded with boards, ship timber, sleepers, etc., and started again in a few minutes with its heavy freight. As the hour of departure drew night, the excursionists assembled at the Station, and several partook of tea and coffee, after which dancing was again resumed.
            At 7 o’clock, all were comfortably seated in the cars, after a few sounds of the whistle, and the conductor’s cal of “all aboard” the train started for St. Andrews. During the trip homewards, an extempore choir sang several songs with good effect; and after a pleasant ride of an hour and a half, the train brought up at the Railway Station, the choir singing “God Save the queen.”
            Before closing our brief sketch of the trip we heartily join the excursionists in tendering their acknowledgements to the Manager for his kindness in giving he excursion—to Mr. Greathead, and other officials, for their courtesy, attention, and efforts to render the excursion what it really was—both pleasant and agreeable.
            It is to be hoped that the excursion to Woodstock by the Railway, which is talked of, will take place soon, and that the cars will be well filled.


NB and C Railway
3 trains per day in summer
M/W/F 9:00 am for Woodstock
T/R/Sat from Woodstock for St. Andrews 3:00 am
Express train for St. Andrews every Monday at 3:00 am for boat for Boston; and leave St. Andrews every
Friday after Boat from Boston
European and NA Schedule Saint John -Shediac-Sussex


Aug 24/1864
“One of the many benefits arising from the Railway is the opening up and settlement of the tract of country through which it passes. Along the line from Chamcook to
Woodstock Station, new buildings are springing up, in addition to those previously noticed.”


Aug 24/1864
Traffic and travel on the railway steadily increasing. Express train to connect with
Boston and Saint John steamers “a great accommodation.”


Aug 31/1864
“A large number of Excursionists came down from Richmond and its vicinity on Saturday last by the Railway. The weather was not so favourable as could be desired, in consequence of a light fog which had set in during the previous night; the atmosphere was warm. The visitors perambulated the streets, and several who had never seen salt water went to the beach and enjoyed the sea air. At 5 o’clock they assembled at the Station, and shortly after the train started on its return. No accident occurred and we understand the visitors were delighted with their trip to St. Andrews.”


Sept 21/1864
“During the present season, it is satisfactory to notice, that many tourists have passed over the Line to Richmond, and that the passenger and freight traffic have increased. The punctuality of the trains, the facilities afforded for transportation, the moderate tariff and the accommodations for those doing business on the Railway have no doubt contributed to the increase in business. . . . We trust that the time is approaching, when the pleasing intelligence of work being commenced on the Section towards the Canadian boundary will be announced; that it will be, there is no question. Notwithstanding the frequent backflaws, and opposition which the work has had to contend against, the design of its originators has never been abandoned.’


Sept 28/1864
NB and C earned 542.00 more for this month in ‘64 than in ‘63. From 3,000 to 3,500


Jan 14/1865
If NB is not to remain isolated, it needs railways--Western Extension, Eastern
Extension, Intercolonial, Steamship connection with Liverpool. Highways. Costs estimated over 3 million for Western Extension. “It is useless to say we don’t want Railways.  People will not come to live in a country without Railways, nor will our people remain in it. If we want to retain our own native population, to say nothing of enticing emigrants, we must not only build railways but must enlarge greatly our internal improvements.” (Federation may help--as it offers to build our railways.)


June 28/1865
People of Saint John have at length succeeded in effecting arrangements for building Western Extension. The Maine Company are to make the line, and receive from the Saint John Company $200,000 in cash, the Government subsidy of $10,000 per mile, and when the
road is finished to have a long lease of it, for a sum equal to the interest of the $200,000. According to their arrangement, Saint John will have a railway connection to the States, but the Americans will reap all the advantages of building it, and running the trains, and it is probably that the city of Saint John may be only a way station, as the Americans look forward to having a direct communication with Halifax which will be the terminus.


Sept 27/1865
Looks as though the stock for building the Western Extension to border from Bangor will be raised.


Nov 1/1865
Construction of railway from Halifax to Annapolis. Americans experimenting with using petroleum for steam fuel.


Nov 8/1865
Brig of 291 tons launched at Pennfield.
SS branch railway has been under construction and discussion regularly for at least a year now in this paper.


July 11/1866
NB&C Railway up over same month in ‘65 by 430.00. Osburn still manager.


July 4/1866
Urges completion of NB&C Railway--160 miles, which would connect NB to the rest of
Canada, making transshipment there an economic plus. Also favours Intercolonial.
Generally pro-railway, 160 miles from NB&C Railway to Riviere du Loup.


Aug 1/1866
“By all means build Western Extension, we desire a thorough union, and no place in
This province will derive a greater benefit than the commercial emporium.”--SJ


June 26/1867
1st Standard of July new holiday.
The proposed section of the IC connecting Woodstock to Riviere du Loup is known colloquially as the Frontier Line. This line plus NB&C Railway and Western Extension to Saint John would be an alternative to the IC. Other alternatives are along the Saint John River--the Central Route, favoured by Halifax “from interested motives,” and the North Shore route, which two-thirds oppose. July 17/1867


July 24/1867
NB&C Railway continues to show profit--up almost 7,000 over last six months over previous year.


June 10/1868
Cars run over a section of the European and North American Railway near Bangor.


July 1/1868
We intend to copy from the “Woodstock Acadian”--”An Account of the St. Andrews and Quebec
Railway from its First Inception in 1835” compiled by our townsman W. M. Buck, C. E.


July 8/1868
First part of St. Andrews and Quebec story


Aug 19/1868
Excursion to Woodstock--From published bills we notice that there is to be an Excursion to Woodstock by rail over the new branch to that town on Tuesday next 25th inst. The train will leave St. Andrews 6 o’clock a.m., and return at 5 o’clock p.m. As the people of Woodstock have paid us more than one visit by railway, in common courtesy the compliment should be returned, and keeping this in view, it is to be hoped that the inhabitants of the Frontier Town will turn out in round numbers, and visit the pleasant town of Woodstock, view the splendid farms and crops in its vicinity, and return in the evening refreshed and invigorated by the change of air.”


Aug 26/1868
600 excursionists from Woodstock by train; Belle Brown with more, to see Bazaar and Regatta.


July 7/1869
Western Extension Excursionists go to end of completed line, “the first excursionists on a line of rail destined to become the grand highway of traffic between this province and the outer world.”


July 7/1869
The Railway Tax
March 1 Henry Osburn stated seventeen miles of track between St. Andrews and St. Stephen required new rails and $10,000 to acquire them; but even then track conditions were such that he couldn’t guarantee to continue service.


July 14/1869
Public meeting in Russell’s hall. Vote by a three-quarters majority in favor of raising taxation


Nov 17, 1869
Frontier Railway. A movement is afoot to fill the railway gap between Woodstock and River du Loup. The distance is only 180 miles through a rich agricultural and manufacturing district. A meeting of prominent public men is to be held at Fredericton shortly to discuss the matter and decide upon some course of action for the early commencement of the work. So says the Carleton Sentinel.
for the $10,000 for new rails. Bondholders express desire to do all in their power to advance the interest of the town’s railway.


Dec 1, 1869
Railway to River du Loup
This project—a continuation of the NB and C Railway, is being freely canvassed and is received with favor by the press and public. It is the revival of a line projected some years ago, and for which a company was at the time formed in London, but which afterwards fell through, from the numerous discouragements which the NB and C met with during its construction. We have in our possession the prospectus which was issued about ten years ago, and will endeavor to publish it in our next issue, and we hail with pleasure the revival of the scheme by Mr. H. G. C. Ketchum, C. E., whose prospectus has appeared in some of our exchanges. Once get that line under contract, and we will son have a “Frontier Intercolonial” which will be in operation and connecting with the lines to Woodstock, Fredericton, St. Stephen, St. John and St. Andrews. Its importance cannot be overestimated; St. John then, with its many advantages will be the grand terminus and shipping port for the upper Provinces during the fall and winter.


Dec 8/1869
Account of opening of Western Extension. R. Robinson, a director, and present; also
A. Kennedy, B. R. Stevenson, George Street.


Trains Stopped
We sincerely regret that Mr. Osburn, Manager of the NB and C Railway has issued a notice which appears in another column that the trains will stop running to St. Andrews for this winter after the 31st December. The reason assigned is—“in consequence of the failure of business and bad state of the track.” This will interfere with the proposed connection of the Western Extension and Fredericton Company who have advertised connections with St. Andrews and very materially affect the interests of this town. Can no means be devised to keep the trains running to SA; are we so completely helpless that we can do nothing to avert so untoward a consequence? Will no action be taken or efforts used to secure the running of the trains? Had it not been for the exertions of St. Andrews people and their indomitable perseverance and luck, Charlotte County would today be without a main line or branches.


Dec 13/1869
Courier feels a conflict of interest in Osburn’s being a contractor for the Houlton branch.


Dec 22/1869
Big meeting in St. Andrews regarding proposed closure of track. Reproduced verbatim.
Editor implies St. Stephen influence at work to detriment of SA, and that the St. Stephen branch would remain open while the St. Andrews branch would be closed.
The public meeting on Friday last, for the consideration of Railway affairs, was open of the most enthusiastic and harmonious ever held in this place. Those present spoke and acted as one man; hey felt that it is a grave wrong about to be inflicted upon them, that an incalculable injury would be done to the Bondholders and the inhabitants of the town and country, by the closing of the main line from the Junction to the terminus at St. Andrews.
            Under such exciting circumstances it is surprising those present at that large meting, were so calm and discriminating; their very looks denoted a fixed determination founded on a sense of justice to maintain their rights and protect their interests by legal means at whatever cost, and thereby prevent what they feel would be a great injury, and detrimental to the interests of St. Andrews, and indeed the upper country also. Whoever heard of a trunk line 88 miles in length, having several miles leading to its ocean terminus closed, to foster a branch of 19 miles to a river port closed by ice, for some week? And on what other road are the trains of a branch permitted to run over the main line? When these questions are answered there are others in reserve.
            The people of St. Andrews only ask fair play, that they will have; they have borne with much annoyance and considerable loss, but this lat net is “the straw which broke the camel’s back,” the power dressed in brief authority, may learn that the monied interest of any one section, will not be permitted to trample upon the rights of the people in other sections.
            With reference to the “falling of trade” this community will be prepared at the proper time to show, that in a great measure it has arisen from unfair and unjust influences, and persons outside of the town, are ready to endorse the views so entertained. As tot the “bad state of the track,” we have yet to learn, that any accident or mishap has occurred on this end, for the past few month. In the opinion of many it is just as good as many other portions of the trunk line considering that it has not had its proportional share of maintenance and repair, it being the first constructed.


Threat to close line from junction to St. Andrews. Supposed influence of outside parties.


Dec 29/1869
Passengers at City Camp not informed branch to St. Andrews open.


Jan 5/1870
More on railroad scandal.


Jan 12/1870
Henry Osburn asks Standard not to publish railway timetables henceforth and not to supply any more newspapers. Editor reacts.


G.E. King 1870-71
Premier of New Brunswick


Jan 19/1870
Statements have been industriously circulated by opponents of SA, that “St. Stephen capitalists own all the Railway bonds.” This is about as correct as another assertion that they own all the lands. Let us examine: the Lands owned by the English Bondholders in Charlotte County amounting to 7000 acres were sold at Sheriff’s sale in May 1867, and were bought in for St. Stephen capitalists but up to this day have not been paid for; the deeds still remain in the Sheriff’s office, and will be handed over only when the purchase money is paid! This statement is not made under cover of correspondence, and we challenge contradiction. It is currently reported that these lands have been operated on for the last two years, and large quantities of lumber carried off. Is not this a most outrageous act, and one which merits unqualified condemnation, if not legal correction. Were the English Bondholders made aware of this fact by their New Brunswick agent. If not, they know by this time.
            The bold assertion openly made at St. Stephen last week, “that the people of St. Andrews cannot succeed nor accomplish anything in the course they have taken to complete the running of the trains as they know St. Stephen owns the line”—is a piece of sheer humbug. It requires more than the boast and bluff of inimical and interested opponents to convince St. Andrews people that they cannot succeed, or that the Line is owned by Capitalists in St. Stephen. That some of the Bonds are held here cannot be denied; and that Bondholders in England have sold all their right to the Railway, at a sacrifice, will require better authority than the ipse dixit of the diplomats who went home to misrepresent the real value of the railway. The fact of a line costing 800,000 pounds being bought for 60,000 is too large a mouthful for people to swallow, particularly when it can be shown that the Line has paid working expenses and something more.


The NB&C Railway schedule shows that only the St. Andrews City Station section has been curtailed: “The skeptical will now be convinced that there is a determination to close the St. Andrews end of the line. Although the trains still run twice a week, the uncertainty of the line being kept open, has prevented merchants here filling orders for Houlton, if the articles ordered are perishable.”


Public meeting held to push for completion of NB&C Railway to Riviere du Loup from Houlton.


Jan 26/1870
Proofs can and will be adduced to show the incorrectness of such statements, published by interested persons to cloak their unhallowed designs. “Acting under instructions” may serve as an excuse for the time to conceal the real design; but the questions arise—were these “instructions” (if given) based upon correct information from a reliable source? Were proprietors interests consulted and promoted, and was even handed justice extended to the business men of the Town, and others whose preferences were in favor of transacting their shipping business at SA? These questions have been answered in the negative, by persons said to be well informed; and cases have been cited to show that positive injustice has been practised. It is also stated that for months the plant has been removed quietly to SS, but in such a manner as not to awaken suspicion of the ultimate object. All the locomotives with the exception of a small one have also been sent up the line, and should a heavy fall of snow occur, the trains could not run. Are not these facts evidences of the intention to close this end of the railway, months before public notice was given to that effect. The people generally do not believe that the assigned reason was the real one. Why was not this end of the Line which had paid its way, repaired if it was required; why lay down new rails and repair one portion of the line for the benefit of a certain locality to the disadvantage of others. Such positive unfairness is apparent to the most casual observer. Honor and justice are confined to the narrow limits of some men’s pockets—their sole object appear to be to benefit themselves and make money at all hazards.
            The course adopted with reference to the stoppage of the trains (why by the way are still running) has been disastrous to trade and travel here. Cargoes intended for this port and passengers, have gone to Saint John, for transmission by rail to the upper country; and the policy has not made the promoters richer, but injured their neighbours.
            It was a doubtful proceeding, to pull down and remove a strongly constructed large building, centrally situated, which could be sold to advantage if it was not wanted for railway purposes. This piece of vandalism led to the some remonstrance on Monday morning last, and had it not been that wise counsel prevailed, it is probably a very unpleasant occurrence would have taken place. The most peaceable and orderly are not always able to control themselves under provoking circumstance. Such a proceeding would not have been tolerated in any other part of the County. How long, O how long will the people’s tempers be tried.


Feb 2/1870
The railway, or rather that portion of the main line between the junction at the St. Stephen branch and the terminus at St. Andrews has been closed for the winter. . . . Is it not surprising then, that after the amount of money expended in its construction—their influence with the govt to take stock—the large expenditure of capital in this erection of buildings and wharves, among the latter a steamboat landing expressly to the Railway, and doing business over the line-- that they are resolved to maintain their rights by legal means?
            Notice of discontinuance by Osburn.


Feb 9/1870
Trains to be discontinued for six weeks.


March 2/1870
Railroad Management for the Benefit of the People!
How is it? Here we have a number of our coasting schooners in the harbor waiting employment, while there are several cargoes of railroad sleepers hauled out along the line, of which tow or three cargoes at least should have been shipped by this time, and realized from. There is also a large quantity of pig iron to be delivered at St. Andrews. Why are not the cars running to St. Andrews and this freight brought down, as in former seasons, when the winters were much more severe than the past has been? The severity of the past winter, advanced as an excuse, was to say the least, a mere pretext. The track we learn is nearly or quite clear of snow and ice. The only answer we can honestly give, from current report, is that There was a determinate intention to divert from this port to St. Stephen . . .the petition of the people has been received by the Legislature, and an investigation will be entered into by the Railway committee, which will, it is generally believed, bring out the facts, that will confirm the people in the opinion, that there has been an effort made to divert the trade of St. Andrews from its legitimate channel.


March 16/1870
The Railway investigation before the Legislative Committee, commenced yesterday, the proceedings and result will be looked forward to with great interest by very many in this County. Some of the witnesses left here early on Monday morning last by Stage for SS, from whence they would take the cars for Fredericton. While waiting for the departure of the train, they were kindly received by St. Stephen people, who expressed a hearty sympathy for them, and wished success to them in the efforts to obtain their rights. For be it understood, that outside of that little coterie termed the “Land Ring,” and “Calais Bridge Co.,” the people of that locality are liberal and independent and accord to the inhabitants of the Shiretown all the privileges they possess and would, if requested, aid them in protecting their interests . . . . They have felt the potent influence of money, and its iron rule, but are free men, and do not fear to act or express their opinions openly, upon public question . . . It remains for them now to decide whether the new Bridge is to be built, which will make Calais the terminus of their railroad, and forever sweep away the cherished hope of having the terminus at St. Stephen.


Nov 16, 1870
The River du Loup Railway exploration is being carried on. The engineer recently from England, with Messrs. Pickard, Temple, Inches, Gibson, Thompson and others have started over the proposed route to Quebec and a report of its feasibility and benefits from its construction will shortly be made. This line is bound to be built. [Boss Gibson here?]


Dec 21/1870
We notice that a new extension is in course of construction from the Railway near the old Steamboat wharf below Messrs. Odell and Turner’s property to Robinson’s Wharf, formerly known as Aymar’s. Mr. Robinson is also having his store, recently occupied as the Telegraph Office and Aymar’s Store, fitted up for a large wholesale and retail mercantile establishment.


Dec 28/1870
Review of year, esp. NB&C Railway problem. See photocopy.
Never perhaps did a year open with gloomier prospects ahead for us, than that which is drawing to a close; never were gloomy anticipations more agreeably disappointed.
            In December last, notice was given by the manager of the NB&C Railway, that the running of the trains over this end of the Line would be discontinued after December 31 Standard of last year. That announcement raised such a howl of indignation throughout the whole Eastern section of the County, that both the Manager and his prompters deemed it judicious to yield to it, and the trains were after a short interval run as usual. The long continued series of attempts, covert and open, of a half a dozen men in St. Stephen to utterly annihilate our track reached its climax in the announcement referred to. Owing to the public spirit of half a dozen men in the community, this grand final effort of theirs was defeated. To that plucky half dozen too much credit cannot be given, for we believe their efforts turned the tide in our favor, at the most critical point in the history of the Town. The great development of communication with the interior will render any similar attempt impossible, in future; henceforth we will have the whole of the upper Saint John River counties as our allies in the “Battle of the Towns.”


June 7/1871
We learn that the public spirited and indefatigable directors and Engineer of this international line [Western Extension] purpose having a formal opening from Saint John to Bangor early in October--the 11th, has been named as the day which is to unite NB with the States in the iron bonds of railroad matrimony. . . . The undertaking is regarded as a great commercial enterprise, and it is hoped will realize the fondest hopes of its promoters.


Sept 6/1871
The opening of the Western Extension from Saint John to Bangor, which is to take place on Oct 18, will be an important event in the history of this province. It will then be joyfully connected in the iron banns of railway matrimony with the United States and the network of railways over the western continent. It is said that the President of the United States, Gen. Grant, and also General Sherman, Meade, and other distinguished Americans will be present, as well as Dominion high officials. It is to be regretted that a constitutional omission, prevents the President from leaving U. S. territory during his term of office; he cannot come further east than the line at St. Croix [later named Vanceboro], but will there meet with a hearty reception from Dominion hearts.


Sept 18/1871
Dr. Tupper has purchased a small property in St. Andrews. (According to Willa Walker, it was in 1872 that Tupper purchased Highland Hill)


Sept 20/1871
Description from “Carleton Sentinel” of economic advantages of Western Extension. See photocopy.
In a very few weeks at farthest, passengers may travel from Saint John to Bangor by Railway, and from thence to all parts of the United States, Canada, and to the far off Pacific coast. The opening, will no doubt be a grand affair, and worthy of the occasion. The highest officials in the Dominion and the States are to be present,--the President, Ge. Grant, and Lord Lisgar, Governor General, will preside at the collation, which we learn is to be spread on the Bridge over the St. Croix which is to be covered over for the purpose, leaving room on each side of the ponderous table for the guests. The President sitting at the head on the United States side, and Lord Lisgar at the foot on the Dominion side, each supported by Generals and Cabinet Ministers. We learn that arrangements have been made on a liberal scale to make the occasion an enthusiastic one, long to be remembered as the peaceful union by iron bands of two great countries.
            It is not necessary now to refer to the large minds which first conceived the idea of connecting the Province with the United States by Railway, it remained for the energetic E. R. Burpee to push on and carry to a successful issue, the grand undertaking, not only on this side of the Line but in the States. While noticing the construction of Railways in this Province, of which the St. Andrews line was the pioneer and the difficulties and discouragement which beset the undertaking, the Carleton Sentinel thus refers to our line:--”The St. Andrews road has become a monument to the marvellous endurance and faith of its promoters--it has linked the St. Croix to the richest agricultural Counties in Maine and NB, and effected an alliance between the waters of St. Andrews Bay and the River Saint John. It has done more, traversing a tract of country, for the greater part having as little pretensions to promise or to hope as one can imagine, it has made that once desolate district a valley where have been developed sources of continuous and vast traffic for itself, the river, and of wealth as a return to those whose industry and enterprise have made the desert thus to rejoice.”


Oct 25/1871
Account of opening of E&NA. See photocopy. Chairman notes line connects Boston with Halifax, and is now shortest line between London and San Francisco.
The chairman spoke as follows: “Gentlemen, On this boundary line between the two great nations, we cordially welcome the President of the United States and the Governor General of the Dominion of Canada and their peoples at the opening ceremonies of the European and North American Railway, which traverses from Bangor, Maine, to Saint John, NB--which is to connect by rail Halifax with Boston and New York, and which must forever to be shortest connecting link between London and San Francisco. In the comparatively near future, we look for a mighty stream of ocean travel between Europe and Asia across this continent, reaching the pacific, to the line of railway now finishing, and b other lines projected, some of which, it is now certain, will be completed in a few years, and all of which will find the shortest route to Europe on the railway you have been passing over today.”


Nov 15/1871
River du Loup Railway
We learn that the River du Loup Railway or perhaps it would be better expressed by terming it a line of Railway from Fredericton to the Canadian boundary, is now a fixed fact. The shares have been placed at $10,000 each, and were taken by the following responsible gentlemen: Alexander Gibson, Alexander Jardine, John Boyd, Isaac Burpee, A. F. Randolph, E. R. Burpee, Alexander Thompson, Thomas Temple, W. W. Turnbull. J. S. Beirs De Vebet, and C. H. Fairweather.
            The Government accepted the proposition made by these gentlemen, and entered into a contract with them for building of the road, which is to be commenced without day. The construction of the road is under the direction of three gentlemen. E. R. Burpee being chairmen to the contractors. The line will from St. Mary’s, opposite Fredericton, to Edmunston in Victoria county a distance of 160 miles. [perhaps the photo of Gibson in the Provincial Archives with the Exhibition building in the background marks the beginning of this railroad?]


Nov 29, 1871
To the Editor of the Standard:
Sir:--This time two winters ago, your paper was full of communications and letters on the supposed attempt of St. Stephen and Calais to destroy this place and stop our railway, and at that time we looked upon a certain set in St. Stephen as a lot of clever, smart businessmen, not perhaps over scrupulous as to the damage they inflicted, so long as they probed and increased the prosperity of their own town. Well Mr. Editor, can you tell me how it is, such a set of shrewd business men are all asleep now, and allowing the people of Fredericton to steal all their business and cut them off from the whole trade and trade of the upper St. John?
            What else is this grand Riviere du Loup Railway which is to be commenced at once. Is it not to divert from the NB and Canada Railway the entire trade of the country between Woodstock and Grand Falls, for which the N. B. and C. Railroad have had charters, and to secure which the Aid Bill of 1870 was passed?
            If the business men of St. Stephen and this place are asleep, surely the Hon. B. R. Stevenson is awake enough to protect our interests. Just let the River du Loup scheme be carried out by Mr. Burpee and his friends and the NB and C Railway becomes a mere local line, with no position of importance; for the only connection we shall get will be by a Branch under the control the main line, instead of being on the main line, as stated in the subsidy Bill.
            Cannot you try and awaken some of our members and people to the present danger.
            --Saint Andrews


Oct 23, 1872
Riviere du Loup Railway
Steels rails for the Riviere du Loup Railway are being discharged from the brigs “Fanny” and “Adrian” at the Railway Wharf, Carleton. A splendid first-class car, equal, if not superior to anything of the kind ever manufactured or used in this Province, has been almost completed for the Riviere du Loup Road by Mr. James Hunter, in his shop near the Round House. This car will be put on the road when the first section is opened form St. Mary’s to Nackawick, about the middle of December. This section is 36 miles long. The platform cars for the road are being built at Fredericton.


Dec 11/1872
Boston and Maine Railroad to soon complete extension from Berwick to Portland. Cars will soon be equipped with Miller platform and Westinghouse air-brakes.


Dec 10/1873
River du Loup Railway Company violating their Contract with the Government. (Boss Gibson’s railway to Edmunston criticized for deviation in line according to terms of agreement. Longish article)


Dec 2/1874
Portland - Montreal Railroad to open in Sept/1875. “Passengers will then reach the principal White Mountain Hotels without staging, and will accomplish the round trip from Saratoga and through the mountains by rail.”


Feb 17/1875
Piece on proposed Megantic


 Railway and beneficial effect for St. Andrews. See photocopy.
This railroad which as been in some measure ignored by a portion of the Press in this Province, is now attracting their attention. There cannot be a doubt as to its being the most direct line connecting Montreal with the sea in British territory, and the claims of St. Andrews as a future ocean terminus, are also being acknowledged, we are happy to notice by the Telegraph, which up to the present, in all its able articles on Railways, had not alluded to this formidable competitor to the long and out of the way Intercolonial. People now look to rapid communication, and cost of freight; and the locality possessing the greatest facilities, and at all seasons open to Ocean Steamers will be preferred. St. Andrews and Saint John have both, the distance being in favor of the former. The Quebec Government have granted further aid to the St. Francis and Lake Megantic Railway, of $1,500 per mile for 80 miles, and our United States neighbors are pushing forward their portion of the proposed line. They want an open winter port in Canada, and they know now that it can be had at St. Andrews.


Montreal Gazette
Intercolonial Railway
From Riviere du Loup to Halifax, Saint John, and all places in the Lower Provinces. At Riviere du Loup, direct connection with Grand Trunk Railway.
On and after July 3, 76, express trains, with Pullman Palace cars, will run between Quebec and Halifax, and Saint John, making the run from Quebec to Saint John in 23 1/182 hours, Halifax in 27 1/182 hours, without transshipment.


Montreal Gazette
July 18/1876
Grand Trunk Railway
Excursion to Lower Provinces via Grand Trunk and Intercolonial Railways. Via regular trains M/W/F Aug 7, 8 and 9. Three weeks duration. Return fares to Saint John, Halifax. 15.00 from Montreal; 12.00 from Quebec, 20.00 from Toronto.


Sept 6/1876
Western Extension in the hands of English bondholders, due to non-payment of interest.


Sept 5, 1878
Jottings on the Street, No. 12
The Railway Machine Works.
It would swell our jotting description to inconvenience to enter into a minute detail of the etceteras in connection with those works; while a mere passing remark would savour of culpable indifference.
            The main building where the big wheels and the little wheels are industriously spinning around in easy and speedy revolutions high over your upward gaze; carried on in their whirling velocity by strong leather belts impelled by steam power, to perform their whirr of work, is about 100 feet wide, and 250 feet long.
            The Engine, Earl No. 1, stands on its track in the building at present; and from Mr. Thomas Armstrong, the Master Mechanic of the works, we learn that, this engine has been cut down to suit the “narrow gauge” of the road.
            This difficult and important work can only be fully understood by those who have practical experience with Railway Engine building.
            Mr. Armstrong informed the writer that previously, all such work had to be sent to Portland, Maine, for alteration but the work was attempted here, and successfully accomplished.
            The “Earl” has been some 20 miles out over the road on a trial trip, and ran as smoothly as Harmon, the St. Stephen racer; and, were the “Earl” to jump at all, the probability is that, the noble Earl would beat the St. Croix runner at jumping!
            There are ten men in constant employment, keeping Engines in repair, and other railway operations. There is a certain amount of neatness and systematic order apparent inside, and outside. Scores of wheels on their “broad gauge” axles are standing on “tracks” in single file, almost with military precision, as if waiting for the work of command—“Forward! Double Quick!”
            Leaving the Machine Shop and Works, and returning up townwards, the Railway Office and Store rooms are seen on the left; with the Depot on the right. Neat and convenient waiting rooms are here; the “Ticket Office” and all such kind of things generally looked for at the terminus of a Railway.
            Henry Osburn, Esq., the Manager, and young Claude Lamb, the clerk, are “up to the mark” each in his respective sphere; and, the aspect of things at the present time, sparkles with bright hopes for the future.
            The darkest days for SA, it is to be hoped, are fast passing away, like the late eclipse from the sun; to be succeeded by the shining of “better times,” and business prosperity increasing under the wise administration of a new Parliament and viceroy Lorne.


Sept 19/1878
The Megantic Railroad
No.1 (subsequent columns in next few issues)
Now that the great election fight has been fought, and the minds of the people will, after a brief breathing spell, settle down on business affairs closely connected with the individual interests of each, it may not be inopportune to take up the subject of the Megantic Railroad, or as it is officially termed “The lake Megantic Railroad.” . . . The Lake Megantic Road through Montreal and S/Sherbrooke is nearly completed to the Western line of Maine, near Lake Megantic, a distance of 180 miles. Details.


May 28/1879
The NB&C Railway cannot build the branch between McAdam and Vanceboro this season, as permission has to be obtained from the Dominion and U.S. governments.


June 4/1879
NB&C Railway to complete the New Hotel and supply daily trains half the year. See photocopy.
On Monday last, the NB&C Railway Directors met the St. Andrews Railway committee in the Sheriff’s office, to enter into an arrangement with reference to the running of daily trains, and other matters connected with the line. . . . After much consultation, lasting all day, we learn that an agreement was drawn up, which, when ratified at a public meeting of the inhabitants of this Town, will be signed by the Directors. The following is we are informed a summary of its provisions:
            Trains to run daily six months each year, from April 1 to October 1. The present season from first of July.
            The new hotel to be finished for occupancy in twelve months.
            The Railway Company to pay all costs of the suit. This is but an outline of the principal provisions of the agreement, and has met the approval of the Committee as the best terms which could be obtained. The meeting we learn was harmonious, and it is to be hoped a better understanding will exist henceforward. The St. Andrews Committee have executed the trust committed to them in a very satisfactory and able manner. (Sounds like the completion of the hotel was a condition of avoiding the courts over attempting to cut train service in SA)
            The Duke of Argyle sailed for Canada the 24th of May.


June 5/1879
Description of St. Andrews and intimations of a promising summer tourist trade in connection with Tilley and the incoming Megantic railway. See photocopy and below:


(After a description of St. Andrews and environs), editor John G. Lorimer writes: “What a charming location for summer residences; and a summer Hotel. For such, it is held, it may be, in reservation for the incoming MEGANTIC RAILWAY. St. Andrews itself, is beautiful in itself. It may be sneered at as an old fashioned town; but, every summer, as the season rolls up to us, it is fresh and new in its beauty.
            The fact that, Hon. Sir Samuel L. Tilley, purchased and re-modelled a handsome brick mansion here, and that it is the chosen residence during the summer season for himself and family, is of itself sufficient recommendation of its healthful and lovely inducements.
            That the Gov. General’s Private Secretary, Major DeWinton is also coming here to reside the summer months is another evidence, and these are only the vanguards of a great host of visitors who will find their way into SA, as their happy summer home. The only wonder is, that SA, so admirably situated as it is for the enjoyment of summer visitors, should have had so long to regret a paucity of strangers during the warm months of summer; but, the signs of the times are now more cheering—and the dawn of a brighter day for the Old Shiretown is breaking over this lovely peninsular town of NB. The golden streaks in advance of the rising sun are up in the horizon; and the flashing sun-beams of prosperity will soon melt the ice of discontent from the land.”


June 11/1879
NB&C Railway commences work on branch to Vanceboro. Argyll arrives June 3 in Portland (or Boston) and proceeds to Montreal.


July 17/1879
The Branch Railroad between McAdam and Vanceboro is being constructed with considerable rapidity, and will be probably open to traffic early in the coming fall.  While, to outsiders this piece of road looks to be entirely unnecessary, if the parties interested in it and in the now established road would consider their differences reasonably, it may on its completion very greatly affect adversely the business both for the St. John and Maine, and the E. and N. A. Roads, while tending to benefit in the same degree the N. B and C. Road. By the way this N. B. and C. road, while was a sort of standing joke, for large feeling railroad men, and which even now is, on account of the utilitarian rather than ornamental character of its equipments slightly regarded by many, is yearly becoming a more important feature among our railroad, it has developed a very large milling an lumber business along its line; has become the chief artery of trade communication with the u-river Counties on both sides of the line, and is, probably, under its very prudent management, making more money than any other road in the lower Provinces at all events. It may be stated in this connection that the work of relaying the track north from McAdam Junction has been in progress for some days past, and probably the whole 12,000 tons of new steel rails will have been placed before this is published.—Carleton Sentinel


Dec 10/1879
Amount collected from rate payers for defraying legal expenses for carrying suit against NB&C Railway compelling them to run daily trains, returned, as “an amenable arrangement was effected by the Railway Directors with the Committee, by which proceedings were stayed.”


July 14/1880
SA to be ocean terminus for Canadian Railways. See photocopy.
It affords us much pleasure to record for the benefit of SA, whose interests we have so long labored to promote--unrewarded--that its Port is to be adopted as at least one of the Ocean Terminus’ for the great network of Canadian Railways and possibly the first, its being the nearest. The commercial success of the country demands an outlet at the most available and suitable locality, with an open deep sea harbor at all seasons, and in as direct a line as possible. Within a few days some great and important changes have taken place in the proprietary of some railways, it is currently reported and credited that the Grand Trunk has gobbled up the New Brunswick Railway, (and perhaps other lines). That the NB railway is to be run up to connect with the Grand Trunk near Quebec, and last but not least, that St. Andrews is to be the ocean terminus. This movement may be a stroke of policy on the part of the G. T. R. Company to supplant the Megantic Railway company, whom it is averred have the same object in view--both companies have their Engineer’s report on its adaptability. We have on several occasions and at some length, shown the advantages of St. Andrews harbor as an ocean terminus for railways, and perhaps may some day receive an acknowledgment of our services to promote the interests of the place, in the shape of a “leather medal.” We have the satisfaction, however, of knowing that we have performed our duty as a journalist, and claim the right to express it. A short time will solve the question of this Port being made a terminus.


Dec 15/1881
Disastrous Fire
Destruction of the Railway Machine Shop with its Contents
Monday evening about a quarter past eight o’clock the cry of fire resounded through our streets, almost simultaneously with the cry the heavens were lit up with the lurid glare, clearly indicating where the greedy flames were working havoc and ruin. The railway machine shop is in flames resounded from a hundred throats, a grand rush was made for the fire engine station and in less time than it takes us to write the statement the fire apparatus were being hauled down the street at a lively pace in the direction of the point of danger. On arrival at the scene of the conflagration the building was found enveloped in flames, so complete a grip had they that it was useless to attempt to check their progress, men were forced to stand helplessly by and witness the destruction of this valuable property. It was a grand but awful sight, the tongues of flame shot from beam to rafter, and in their hellish glee soon reduced the building to a heap of smouldering ruins amid which, with the flames wrapped round them like a golden winding sheet, stood four locomotives and tenders, one of them with steam escaping; only requiring the hand of the driver upon the throttle and lever to enable her to escape, but the hand of man could not reach her through the overwhelming flames. The air was filled with sparks and flying embers that presented the appearance of a golden shower, many of them were carried in the direction of the Manager’s residence which stands about four hundred feet east of the machine shop, they lit in and set fire to trees, the grass in the fields adjoining took fire and burnt as briskly as though it were a dry summer night. Number One fire engine was stationed alongside Manager Osburn’s house and from it a stream was occasionally played, which extinguished the threatening sparks that poured in a continuous shower upon the roof. Fortunately, for the safety of that own the wind was blowing west south west, and the only building endangered, was the residence of the Manager. The Argyll Hotel loomed up grandly, the windows presenting the appearance of sheets of burnished gold. About ten o’clock a drenching rain storm set in, which removed any cause for alarm of the fire spreading in any direction. It is supposed the fire caught in or about the stationary engine room which was situated on the west side of the building, but how, is now and must ever remain an unsolved problem. The engine cleaner, Mr. Thomas Richardson, was all through the works about half an hour before the fire was discovered. When the first discoverers of the fire reached the building, it seemed to be all ablaze inside. The only thing saved was the tool chest of Mr. Wm. McLeod, carpenter, which a couple of lads succeeded in dragging out.
            In addition to the buildings which covered about three quarters of an acres of ground, There was destroyed all the valuable machinery in it, consisting of 5 lathes, 2 planers, 2 drilling machines, 2 bold lathes, 1 hydraulic press, 1 stationary engine, 1 new punch and shears, 1 wood planer and circular saw, in addition to which the tools belonging to the men, amounting in value to about 300. the Machinery was all first-class of its kind.
            Also, five locomotives, the “Earl Fitzwilliam,” “Shamrock,” “Houlton” and St. Stephen,” all standing in the shop and the “Rose,” which was dismantled, preparatory to rebuilding a new boiler for her was amongst the articles destroyed by the fire. In addition to the above was the old hand fire engine Faugh-a-gallagh, which many of the men of the present day, when they were boys, manned and worked at fires. Some years ago the Firewards gave her to the Railway Company with the understanding that she should be kept in working order, and manned by a company of railroad employees for the protection of the railway buildings; and for use in the town should her services be required, but owing to the press of work at the machine shop, the needed repairs were not completed, and the poor old engine, relic of a by gone day and fashion of engines, perished by the element she had in many a hard fought fight helped to subdue.
            So rapid was the progress of the flames that Mr. Thomas Armstrong, Mechanical foreman, although on the ground almost at the first was unable to get into his office, situated in a wing attached to the eastern side of the workshop, which with all the books, paper and other property therein was destroyed.
            The property destroyed is roughly estimated at $75,000, which was only covered by insurance to the extent of eleven thousand six hundred dollars, so that the Railway Company are heavy losers.
            An erection of a temporary character will be put up immediately as a shelter for locomotives. Arrangements have been made with Mr. Andrew Lamb for the use of the blacksmith shop at the foundry, together with the stationary engine and the wareroom, adjoining which will be fitted up as a repair shop. Two of the damaged locomotives will be sent to e Portland Locomotive Works to be refitted and repaired. The destruction of the N. B. and Canada Railway Co.’s machine shop, is the greatest calamity that has occurred in St. Andrews in recent times.


Jan 12/1882
Opening of Grand Southern Railway.


Jan 26/1882
Argument for St. Andrews as winter port, via Megantic Railway.


May 25/1882
Megantic Railway: International section connects Sherbrooke and Vanceboro.


Sept 7/1882
Railway men meet in St. Stephen to transfer NB and C Railway to NB Railway. “It is supposed that extensive improvements will immediately be made on the St. Andrews and St. Stephen branches and the daily train to St. Andrews continued all the year instead of only the summer months as at present.—Courier


Oct 5, 1882
It is now evident that the owners of the N. B. and C. Railroad propose to utilize the road to the full extent, by diverting freight from Gibson and other points on the Saint John River. The freight trade from Gibson up the N. B. Railway was never better than this fall, but the down trade is already falling off heavily. The Fredericton Capitol says that about three quarters of the bark, shingles, etc., which formerly were brought down to Gibson to be shipped aboard schooners, is now taken around via Woodstock and the N. B. and Canada R. R. The Gibson freight this fall is not near so good as in former years, the principal part of it going by way of Woodstock and other roads. The policy of the syndicate is further revealed by the scheme to put a fast steamer on the route between St. Andrews and Eastport, St. Stephen and St. Andrews will be greatly benefited by the recent railroad consolidation.—Calais Times.


St. Croix Courier
May 3/1883
It is said that E. R. Burpee, manager of the N. B. Railway, and F. W. Cram, of the E. and N. A. R., are arranging for a steamer to run between Campobello, Eastport and St. Andrews during the summer months, in connection with the N. B. Railway.


Oct 25, 1883
Alexander Gibson has shipped this year from St. John 97,000,000 feet of deals in 115 vessels. Last year he shipped 110,000,000 in 136 vessels. Mr. Gibson’s cash expenditure from January 1st to Oct. 1st is said to have amounted to $1,500,000, this includes the expenditure on the Cotton Mill he is building at Nashwaak.


May 22/1884
Short Line figures:
--from Mtl to Saint John by Grand Trunk and Intercolonial 746 miles
--by International 440 (via proposed extension through Maine)
--to Halifax 717 by International
--845 by Grand Trunk and Intercolonial
--to St. Andrews by International 397--306 miles saved via Intercolonial to St. John and 128 saved to Halifax


The argument for St. Andrews as a winter port:
--458 miles from Montreal to St. John via Mattawamkeag and McAdam
--312 miles from Mtl to Mattawamkeag
--62 miles from Mattawamkeag to McAdam
--42 miles from McAdam to SA
--416 miles from Mtl to SA, a savings of 42 miles


June 19/1884
CPR now building in Rockies. Van Horne hopes for connection to coast by 1885.


April 30/1885
W. F. Cram, Eastern freight agent for Maine Central has accepted position as Gen. Man. of NB Railway.


May 7/1885
Megantic has been decided shortest possible route, and CPR has promised a terminal point at Saint John


Nov 12/1885
Completion of the Canadian Pacific
Winnipeg, Man. Nov 8. The last spike of the CPR was driven near Farwell, BC, at 9:22 on Saturday morning by the Hon. Donald Smith. General Manager Van Horne was present; and the party went through to the Pacific Coast, thus traversing for the first time the whole line from ocean to ocean.


Nov 19/1885
Short Line will make the trip from Montreal to St. John in 15 hours—a night and a morning. “The temporary exchange of population, as between the Upper and Maritime Provinces, to be brought about by this Short Line, we predict, will be quite remarkable, while the fresh stimulus to be given to exchange of products must have a most favourable effect upon the trade of the Dominion.” Montreal Herald.
            Short Line to extend to SA, Saint John and Halifax via Sherbrooke from Montreal. Summary from Editor’s viewpoint.


Jan 7/1886
The Short Line contract signed:--Mr. MacIntyre, as President of the International Railway Company, has signed in the presence of Sir Charles Tupper, High Commissioner for Canada, a contract for the construction of the Short Line of Railway to connect Montreal with SA, and Saint John , NB and with Halifax, NS.—London England Canadian Gazette, Dec. 17


Feb 4/1886
Maine agrees to let International Railway build line across state.


Aug 11/1887
John A. MacDonald expected soon as guest of Tilley’s. First visit. Reception at Court House. Plug for St. Andrews as winter port.


*(get whole speech) Sir John’s speech at Court House: CPR “the greatest work of modern times.” “Already we see the benefits of its construction, for we see the riches of Asia pouring into Canada, and by it the great east is connected with the great west. . . . This great work is of special concern to St. Andrews. I have been told that in bye-gone times St. Andrews was quite a thriving place with its West India trade, and was a seaport of no mean pretensions.    There is no reason why it should not resume the important position it held in former days. When the Short Line is finished, if aided by the enterprise of its citizens, there is no reason why St. Andrews should not compete with the neighboring village of Saint John for the trade of the West Indies. Negotiations are now going on to secure the opening of the trade with the Spanish West Indies with the lands of Cuba and Porto Rico, where will be found a good market and ready demand for one of your great staples—fish. I am unable to visit all the principal places in NB. At Dalhousie I spent a very pleasant fortnight, and I noticed that to that place there is already a rush of visitors from Western Canada. There is no reason why St. Andrews should be a great summer resort, where people may come and be refreshed by the cooling breezes of the Bay of Fundy, and the healthful and salubrious atmosphere permeating your pretty town.”


Aug 25/1887
On Sir John’s visit: “The Short Line, which before long will be completed, and which will lessen so greatly the distance between the upper provinces and the sea, is almost certain to benefit our seaports, and it requires but a few moments study of the map to see in what a favourable position St. Andrews stands as an outlet to the ocean. Sir John’s visit here is also likely to raise the place in the estimation of our wealthier countrymen in the large cities of the Dominion, who have hitherto sought the refreshing breezes along the coast of Maine, during the summer months, and who from the good advertisement which has been derived from Sir John’s visit, when the Short Line is completed will be likely to come and tarry at the ‘summer resorts’ in their own country.”


Sept 22/1887
Train with 9 passenger cars and 600 excursionists from Caribou and Upper Aroostook are in town for the day.


Dec 1/1887
The Short Line
Is St. Andrews going to stand quietly by, make no effort to secure a share at least of the benefits that are sure to follow the opening of the Short Line railroad? Is the policy of waiting for something to turn up, to be continued indefinitely. We hope not. The gods help those who first help themselves.
            Mr. Van Horne, manager of the CPR railways recently said:
That the new short line to Maine would be opened on the 19th July next. At present it is only being made to join the Maine Central Railroad, this will give direct communication with Saint John , NB. As regards Halifax business the act provides for the formation of a line from Harvey via Fredericton to Moncton, but very little has been done as yet, the company having been obliged to devote its energies and resources to the formation of a line from Montreal to Mattawamkeag.
“What is your opinion as to the suitability of Saint John for a winter port?”
All along the coast line there are very fine winter ports. We never express a preference; we give them all a chance and it is for them to take advantage of it. If they won’t help themselves we can’t help them.
            It will not do for the people of St. Andrews to stand idly by while other people are working. We must cease dwelling upon the undoubted facilities our port possesses as a winter outlet for all the trade the Canada Pacific or other railways can send to it. We should take steps to put in tangle form all the advantages we possess, and place it before the shippers of Canada. We think a meeting of the businessmen of the town should be held, at which the whole situation could be discussed and definite conclusions arrived at. A deputation might be appointed to proceed to Montreal and Ottawa to interview the CPR management and also the Government, and as one member of he deputation, we would suggest the Collector of Customs at his port, who more than any other in the town, has made the whole railways question a study and who is thoroughly posted in reference to the underdeveloped facilities of the port. Who will take the firs step to secure such a desirable result?


SA should develop its port facilities, so as to attract business from the CPR via Short Line. Van Horne says: “All along the coast line there are very fine winter ports. We never express a preference; we give them all a chance and it is for them to take advantage of it. If they won’t help themselves we can’t help them.” Short Line to open